Camelot Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Camelot Group Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Camelot Group CEO Nigel Railton (no image)
Nigel Railton
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's great to see how your work can change lives, both for our winners and for good causes(in 14 reviews)

  • "I feel I have a good work life balance and love being part of the Camelot team(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "About 10 minutes from Watford station though there is a shuttle bus(in 10 reviews)

  • "Some of the senior management don't have a clue(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RBE in Glasgow, Scotland
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, support, outlook, autonomy

    Cons

    Advancement, scope, shareholders, There are no more cons

    Camelot Group2019-12-20
  2. "Good people. Bad pay and shift times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telephone Customer Service Representative in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, and good canteen

    Cons

    Pay and weekend shift work

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A good job but limited opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The role itself is pretty straightforward in principle. I have to visit on average 10-11 retailers per day and sell in whatever campaigns we are currently focused on. The retailers are generally okay to deal with as the National Lottery means a lot to their business and you're not actually trying to get them to commit to buying/taking physical stock from you. The role is 2/3 merchandising and 1/3 story telling. The job pays well, you get a suitable car to do the job in and the benefits are overall good. My work/life balance is good and there is a degree of flexibility with the role which is good

    Cons

    Too much is expected of us, in a 30 minute call we are sometimes trying to deliver 5/6/7 different messages whilst making sure that we are ticking a thousand boxes in our digital tool as well as making sure we're following our sales steps program. Opportunities to progress for field based employees outside of the Watford HQ are very limited despite the fact that Camelot has a ton of different departments, we're pretty much all scrapping for our managers roles or the occasional role in national accounts. The way this company rates it's people regarding pay rises and bonuses is farcical. Every conversation I've had over the past 18 months is basically telling me that I need to 'influence' a certain group of managers. It doesn't matter if I contribute elsewhere on a project or if I get good feedback, if the small group of people that review my yearly performance don't know who I am then I won't get the 10% bonus that the job advertises. Working hard and doing a good job is secondary to sucking up to the right people.

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-09-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A highly politicized, cliquey environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salaries Occasional training courses Prestigious employer

    Cons

    Terrible location on outskirts of industrial estate in Watford Several influential interest groups who only hire and foster their own kind Some 'management' makes decisions based on what is good for their CV and not the benefit of the cause Promotion opportunities are scarce; outsiders (friends) are parachuted in

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-07-11
  5. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, yes can be challenging but also very rewarding. Everyone can make a real difference.

    Cons

    The relevantly short licence period.

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-06-24

    Camelot Group Response

    July 2, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all feedback and we’re dedicated to making Camelot a great place to work. We’re really pleased that you having a positive experience of working at Camelot and that you're enjoying both our big commitment to our people and the little touches. Thanks again for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Policy Specialist in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for Camelot previously, I left for personal reasons and have returned a while back. Camelot has given me the opportunity to grow within the Company and use my skills and experience in a variety of roles. The people I work with are passionate about the success of the Company and everyone works hard to deliver to the business strategy. Camelot is also a really fun place to work with vibrant offices, great parties, celebrations and competitions. I feel I have a good work life balance and love being part of the Camelot team.

    Cons

    I can't think of any. I wouldn't have returned if I didn't love where I worked!

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-05-14

    Camelot Group Response

    June 3, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all feedback and we’re dedicated to making Camelot a great place to work. We’re really pleased that you have a positive experience of working at Camelot and that you enjoy your time here. Thanks again for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "No morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money was ok, car was ok, with telematics.

    Cons

    Field team managers are a disgrace, children at best, we did a workshop to teach us sales and they brought condoms, a sanitary towel and depository medication. They thought they were funny, but it really wasn't. Embarrassing to say the least. Use fixed term contracts to suit the needs of their agenda. after 12 months they may renew a further fixed term or your out, no stability.

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-06-18

    Camelot Group Response

    July 4, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value honest feedback and we’re dedicated to making Camelot a great place to work. We’re sorry to read you had a negative experience of working at Camelot. We hold ourselves to high professional standards so it's disappointing to hear this wasn't your experience. We have a desire to continuously improve, we do take all feedback on board and have escalated this internally. The Retail Sales team have different work loads at any one time, so we need to be flexible with the way we resource from time to time which is the reason for fixed term contracts sometimes. Thanks again for sharing your insight, we wish you all the best for the future!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Shocking - don’t go there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ‘office Worker’ in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Camelot Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m the type of individual to turn a frown upside down and always try and find the goodness where I can. But I can honestly say this is the worst place I have ever worked. No pros at all. If I started listing I would be here all day!

    Cons

    Camelot ‘advertise’ their ‘core values’ but I genuinely don’t think managers within my area took the time to read them, let alone understand them. If they did promote and practice these within their respective departments then maybe Camelot would have a chance!

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-05-29

    Camelot Group Response

    June 3, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value honest feedback and we’re dedicated to making Camelot a great place to work. We’re sorry to read you had a negative experience of working at Camelot. We have a desire to continuously improve and we do take all feedback on board. Thanks for sharing your insight and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Camelot Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay rates were decent and overtime available

    Cons

    I worked within a large team and it seems camelot like to make it look very inclusive and caring however at any lower level you were made to feel less every day. General feeling of concern for livelihood felt from all staff as losing your job was a common theme for no reason

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-05-21

    Camelot Group Response

    June 3, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value honest feedback and we’re dedicated to making Camelot a great place to work. We’re sorry to read you had a negative experience of working at Camelot. We have a desire to continuously improve and we do take all feedback on board. Thanks for sharing your insight and we wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Fun workplace, no job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Camelot Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to lottery games/ procedures Nice team and support from colleagues Company car

    Cons

    Job security isn’t confirmed as you can be made redundant at any minute Your job (exact same job) will be advertised months later and you will be told you don’t have enough experience

    Continue reading
    Camelot Group2019-04-20

    Camelot Group Response

    May 3, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value honest feedback and we strive to make Camelot a great place to work. We’re sorry to read some of your comments, we have a desire to continuously improve and we do take all feedback on board. We hope you know how to raise any specific queries or concerns with your manager or HR internally to get the support you need.

    Continue reading
Found 87 reviews