Canadian Tire Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Canadian Tire Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1240 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Wetmore
246 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like most retail, its minimum wage(in 43 reviews)

  • "The full-time salaries are a joke(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Retail Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

      Pros

      Working at Canadian Tire was an enjoyable experience as a teenager. It's a good job for first timers.

      Cons

      As with all retail, you deal with the best and worst of today's society. Some days it seems everyone is in a good mood and vice versa.

      Advice to Management

      The management at the Canadian Tire I worked at were great. They communicated constantly, and maintained an open-door policy.

      Canadian Tire2016-02-10
    • "Exciting work but always an overhanging shadow of staff cuts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Canadian Tire

      Pros

      I joined the company at the exciting time when the company had recently signed some major sports partnerships which meant the whole company was galvanised around these partnerships and the upcoming winter Olympics.

      Cons

      It seemed that the wider team was routinely culled, employees were 'let go' on a regular basis (very 2-3 months) it seemed the main motive for this was to keep the rest of the team on their toes.

      Canadian Tire2017-11-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

      Pros

      Flexible working and experienced colleagues

      Cons

      Management is deterring career advancement

      Advice to Management

      Stop micro-management

      Canadian Tire2015-04-14
    • "Nice company to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier in London, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay rate, nice environment

      Cons

      I couldn't find any downside actually

      Canadian Tire2019-06-27
    • "ceat la vie"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      great opportunities & culture

      Cons

      Salary are not good enough, lack of vacation days

      Canadian Tire2019-06-22
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Online Orders Specialist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Sufficient and ongoing training, great work environment, friendly and engaged team

      Cons

      Can be very physically demanding and low employee morale can occur

      Canadian Tire2019-06-22
    • "Financial Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Current Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON

      I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great work life balance, good work culture, great people

      Cons

      monotonous work, benefits package not very competitive

      Canadian Tire2019-06-21
    • "Good Expierence"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in London, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Flexible hours - Discounts - Great staff

      Cons

      - No opportunity for quick growth

      Canadian Tire2019-06-18
    • "Good Place to Work at, Poor Ownership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service in East York, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Canadian Tire part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly people, busy and often fulfilling job duties, a lot to learn, good training system

        Cons

        Because Canadian Tire is franchised it's hard to get contact to owner, in my situation the owner was unreasonable and didn't care about his employees. I was lucky to have a great supervisor.

        Advice to Management

        Pay attention to your employees and their needs.

        Canadian Tire2019-06-17
      • "Canadian Tire seasonal"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate Part Time, Seasonal in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Canadian Tire part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Paid breaks, discounts and sun tans

        Cons

        Difficult management and customers, inconsiderate colleagues, hot working conditions, lack of benefits

        Advice to Management

        Increase your employee discounts

        Canadian Tire2019-06-14
      Found 1240 reviews