Canadian Tire Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Canadian Tire Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Tire CEO Stephen Wetmore (no image)
Stephen Wetmore
282 Ratings
Pros
  • "No bonus, instead you get profit sharing in April(in 103 reviews)

  • "Great Work life balance, and many different programs to improve yourself(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Like any retail job it is minimum wage(in 47 reviews)

  • "The full-time salaries are a joke(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Retail Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    Working at Canadian Tire was an enjoyable experience as a teenager. It's a good job for first timers.

    Cons

    As with all retail, you deal with the best and worst of today's society. Some days it seems everyone is in a good mood and vice versa.

    Advice to Management

    The management at the Canadian Tire I worked at were great. They communicated constantly, and maintained an open-door policy.

    Canadian Tire2016-02-10
  2. "Exciting work but always an overhanging shadow of staff cuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire

    Pros

    I joined the company at the exciting time when the company had recently signed some major sports partnerships which meant the whole company was galvanised around these partnerships and the upcoming winter Olympics.

    Cons

    It seemed that the wider team was routinely culled, employees were 'let go' on a regular basis (very 2-3 months) it seemed the main motive for this was to keep the rest of the team on their toes.

    Canadian Tire2017-11-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working and experienced colleagues

    Cons

    Management is deterring career advancement

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro-management

    Canadian Tire2015-04-14
  4. "nice work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great learning environment and friendly staff

    Cons

    nothing, a great place to start your career

    Canadian Tire2019-11-12
  5. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Culture with Great People.

    Cons

    Pay is relatively low for the work and hours put in.

    Canadian Tire2019-11-09
  6. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time

    Pros

    Chill job, no stress, meh

    Cons

    Kinda boring, very boring, very

    Canadian Tire2019-11-08
  7. "Good experience save for Head Office Involvement - Hillside/Shelborne Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good group of guys to work with every day - manager know his stuff - fair pay and lots of people to learn from

    Cons

    Auto department is a second thought to the main store. Never included in celebration lunches we arent far, shoot us a pizza or donuts and show us you notice we are part of the team . Only learnt there was a employee relations guy when I gave notice because he wanted to do an exit interview.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize you have another store, I'm not the only previous or current employee who notices that we are openly ignored.

    Canadian Tire2019-11-07
  8. "Great company with a phenomenal culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Strategy Analyst in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and team, Director and management were always easygoing and understanding of business issues

    Cons

    Tough to find, although bonus targets made it hard to implement a test and learn environment

    Canadian Tire2019-11-06
  9. "Store dependant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Chilliwack, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible, profit sharing and variety

    Cons

    Environment depends on management, some stores are good but some can be very negative.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like humans and not just a tool to get the job done.

    Canadian Tire2019-11-05
  10. "Canadian tire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fun place to work wonderful people and flexible hours

    Cons

    Repetitive work but not much else

    Canadian Tire2019-11-04
Found 1375 reviews