Canadian Tire Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Canadian Tire Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Tire CEO Stephen Wetmore (no image)
Stephen Wetmore
326 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's amazing how terrible people can treat a minimum wage worker(in 52 reviews)

  • "The full-time salaries are a joke(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Retail Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    Working at Canadian Tire was an enjoyable experience as a teenager. It's a good job for first timers.

    Cons

    As with all retail, you deal with the best and worst of today's society. Some days it seems everyone is in a good mood and vice versa.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Tire2016-02-10
  2. "Exciting work but always an overhanging shadow of staff cuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire

    Pros

    I joined the company at the exciting time when the company had recently signed some major sports partnerships which meant the whole company was galvanised around these partnerships and the upcoming winter Olympics.

    Cons

    It seemed that the wider team was routinely culled, employees were 'let go' on a regular basis (very 2-3 months) it seemed the main motive for this was to keep the rest of the team on their toes.

    Canadian Tire2017-11-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working and experienced colleagues

    Cons

    Management is deterring career advancement

    Continue reading
    Canadian Tire2015-04-14
  4. "Inclusive and friendly workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible timings, supportive colleagues and easy learning curve.

    Cons

    The minimum wage, workforce reduction for cost cutting overloads existing workers and reduces efficiencies.

    Canadian Tire2020-02-16
  5. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time

    Pros

    Nice coworker friend place location

    Cons

    Busy environment Rude customers Bad hours

    Canadian Tire2020-02-11
  6. "Excellent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Evolving, Room to Grow, Promotions from within

    Cons

    Not as competitive in pay

    Canadian Tire2020-02-10
  7. "Not bad not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Canadian Tire full-time

    Pros

    Was easy work, management was cool

    Cons

    Monotonous, not the worst can't complain

    Canadian Tire2020-02-07
  8. "Great Experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Bradford, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canadian Tire part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Good hours. Lots of things to do.

    Cons

    During holidays it does seem to get more stressful but that is just the norm for retail.

    Canadian Tire2020-02-07
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canadian Tire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the culture and people that I worked with.

    Cons

    Not a lot of promotions and salary was low.

    Continue reading
    Canadian Tire2020-02-06
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Canadian Tire part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Managers are respectful

    Cons

    Customers can be very rude Sometimes hard to get shifts off

    Canadian Tire2020-02-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1469 reviews