Cancer Research UK Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cancer Research UK Manager Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Cancer Research UK CEO Michelle Mitchell (no image)
Michelle Mitchell
6 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Like-minded colleagues that really care about the cause Trusted to do my job Great personal development

    Cons

    Slow decision making from management at times

    Cancer Research UK2020-01-02
  2. "High expectations for low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Support Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Causes to work for

    Cons

    High expectations for low pay

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-11-06
  3. "Ops team project manager and marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable salary for role performed.

    Cons

    Layers of processes that seemed unnecessary, struggled to feel useful as felt my role could have been eliminated and the whole process would still be the same.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-10-06
  4. "Great Charity to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, can be challenging but fulfilling at the same time.

    Cons

    Fund raising events one after another. Not spaced out through the year properly.

    Cancer Research UK2019-09-02
  5. "Hard work and passionate people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insight & Reporting Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very passionate people to work with. Large organisation with many opportunities for development

    Cons

    Culture of hierarchy slows down processes. Little autonomy

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-06
  6. "From experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Charity, generous discount, full ownership of your store

    Cons

    Reliant on volunteers, outdated paperwork systems, minimal consistency.

    Cancer Research UK2019-07-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shop Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams of volunteers Nice work not at all boring ever Every day is different You easily fall in love with the job itself

    Cons

    Cruk give shops no support They just want want want Every time expecting targets to be reached and endless fund raising They don't quite understand what it's like working in the shops Very poor pay with very high expectations

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-07-09
  8. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Beverley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK

    Pros

    Satisfaction rewarding helping truth love

    Cons

    Not being able to comfort

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-06-21
  9. "Dreadful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    going home after a day of activity

    Cons

    Made to be an idiot. Whatever I did was wrong. Even accused of things I had suppose to have said or done to my team members. These were untrue.

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-07-24

    Cancer Research UK Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thank you very much for raising your concerns. Here at CRUK, we take allegations such as these extremely seriously, and would invite and encourage you to contact our Supporter Services team on 0300 123 1022 so that we can conduct an appropriate investigation for you. Many thanks.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Upper management need to listen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sunday Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK part-time

    Pros

    Lovely and hardworking and loyal team of volunteers

    Cons

    Demand to reach targets despite adverse weather and donations quality..Cancer research are all about making money and hitting targets..they don't care about staff.I was forced to work the day my mother had a stroke and was hit and miss if she survived that day..Also i was made redundant because min wage went up...Yes you read ir correctly.."Wasn't justified to keep staff because min wage went up"..Same job post ..Same shop re advertised the same job two years later...so Hmmmm..me thinks something more than meets the eye here...I worked for them for 3 years ...Also for a charity that makes around £300 million pounds a year ..mainly form donations via shops with little overheads..They really should treat their paid staff better . I lost family members to cancer and started as a volunteer ..more recently lost my husband in May 2019 to stomach cancer ..not once did this charity offer any help or support Would i work for them again...Certainly not Would I recommend ..No When the CEO is paid as much as we are per hour then maybe I would volunteer again.. UNTIL THEN I avoid this money grabbing self centred charity

    Continue reading
    Cancer Research UK2019-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews