Canonical Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 of over 219 reviews

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Canonical CEO Mark Shuttleworth (no image)
Mark Shuttleworth
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, in your timezone, no extra hours (unless very rare situations)(in 40 reviews)

  • "Interesting projects, mostly open source(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The project that we were passionately working on (Ubuntu for Phones) was cancelled, and the company steered towards more money-making business(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management unrealistic and inept(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    671

    214 Comments

    Tech

    81.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Canonical~230560
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture

      May 20, 2021 - Human Resources Administrator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture here and good colleagues

      Cons

      Sometimes requires a lot of hard work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No company is perfect, but I have hugely enjoyed my time at Canonical and continue to do so.

      Aug 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a real mixed bag of reviews surrounding this company, some with very valid points, and some that you have to take with a pinch of salt. I can only speak from my experience as an (openly) LBGTQ+ member of the company who joined 3.5+ years ago in a junior position. Canonical has afforded me a tremendous opportunity to advance my career far past what I would have been able to at another organisation. There is a palpable sense of opportunity for those with the tenacity to make things happen for themselves. Nothing in life is handed to you on a silver platter, very often if you want something, you have to make that known and put the work in for it - this is true of career progression at Canonical, at least in my case. I can also recognise that being in the right place at the right time is hugely important with regards to career progression (at any company!), and acknowledge my privilege in this regard. No company of 700+ employees is going to have 700+ golden eggs. To believe so would be incredibly naïve. From my personal experience, I have had a great time with many passionate, intelligent, skilled colleagues across multiple departments within the organisation. Have I had difficult conversations with some of my colleagues over nearly 4 years? Yes, of course. Life isn't perfect, people have bad days, ultimately we are all human. Across such a disparity of ages, cultures, religions, backgrounds, beliefs & experiences there is going to be a divergence of opinion and the manner in which some conduct themselves. Have I had fun/engaging/delightful/entertaining/insightful conversations with my colleagues over nearly 4 years? Unequivocally. I can only speak from my personal experience, but on the whole, I am having and continue to have a great time at this company and am excited to see where it leads. Yes there are frustrations that occur, but recalcitrance is not the answer. I also believe that a few difficult individuals in a particular team or two do not represent the entire company's culture or belief-system. What is important is the majority, of which I can speak very highly of at Canonical.

      Cons

      There is absolutely a representation issue in upper-management. I cannot overlook the fact that the majority of leadership are in fact white males. That being said, context is important and in the Tech/IT industry, this has historically been the case, we are not the unicorn in this scenario. There are currently several concurrent initiatives in-place aimed at tackling and solving this problem. Are they working? Only time will tell, check back with me in 2 years (Rome wasn't built in a day). For the sake of the company, I hope so. I would love to see a greater diversity within senior-management, and if that means creating new positions, then let's do it! I think the interview process could be more succinct, I am not convinced we need so many steps - just my opinion. I think the recruitment industry have a lot to answer for in this industry with regards to proliferating this notion that any company you join, you will be guaranteed a promotion in 1 year. Personally, I have enjoyed a rich and varied career of progressions. The same might not be said for everyone within the same timeframe. Usually there is a business case for that, and sometimes it can be the oversight of management. There are many people who joined in a junior position who did get the promotion they were looking for though, it just took longer that 12 months from after joining. That being said, I am not aware of any company that has been able to guarantee promotions for every single employee ever. I am not looking to undermine the experience of those who have had a difficult time here. Some individuals may have very well experienced scenarios that made them uncomfortable and I cannot refute that. I can only talk from my own personal experience.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Avoid. Toxic environment at the top.

      Aug 27, 2021 - Developer Advocate in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Salary was good * People at or below Director level are generally excellent * Possible to move around the company to different roles * When travelling, generally get to stay in decent accommodation

      Cons

      * Culture of fear around CEO means employees don't speak out for fear of reprisals * Oppressive CTO who cannot accept feedback, and is never wrong * CEO surrounded by yes-men who are only used for verbal sparring contents * Product strategy is non-existent * Products are only worked on until ~60% complete, then new shiny is promoted, existing projects all left to whither * Years of stupid mistakes means the previously well-loved brands are burned * High staff turnover means no continuity other than a small set of loyal long-timers.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Alright company even better people

      Jul 1, 2021 - Customer Success Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people. I loved 80% of them. Very clever and deserve to be recognised more for their time and contribution. Good opportunities if you ask (or fight for)

      Cons

      They could improve on synergy across teams They lack diversity in senior management

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Simply not a good company to work at

      Jul 7, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Salary - as a sales executive, you can get a base of £34000 - Travel - pre COVID

      Cons

      - Management is terrible, half of them don’t know what they’re doing - Unrealistic targets - Personal development is nonexistent - Promotions are not real you just get them by pushing, with no real difference in responsibility - Women and LGBTQIA+ constantly get put down - Very toxic culture, with constant criticism behind your back - The CEO is stubborn and delusional - when I joined in 2017 we were going to IPO in 2 years. Fast forward to 2021 and still haven’t heard anything about an IPO.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Company with potential but only if leadership changes

      May 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work with some smart people (although despite stringent recruitment process, there are many questionable hires too) - Good travel opportunities (pre-Covid) - depending on your role and if you like travel - Made many good, global friends - partly thanks to travel and the difficult culture that can help unite people - For some in engineering, it’s a dream job working on Ubuntu and/or for a visionary CEO – but those dreams likely to get tarnished

      Cons

      - CEO has never really worked for anyone but himself and is totally out of touch with talent attraction, retention, employee motivations etc in today’s world – very dated view of the workplace. - New recruitment process (check out interview reviews) is beyond ridiculous and highlights the above. Likely to mainly attract Ubuntu fanboys and desperate candidates for the most part… - Once you get hired, nothing is done to make employees feel valued or recognised – not getting berated/demoted/pushed out means you must be doing something right. When travel stopped due to Covid, realised the only ‘perk’ of working there was your monthly salary… - No sensible employee believes in the IPO (at least any time soon, as promised) - Arguably CEO is conflicted about what the business is – a commercial entity (Canonical) or a community project (Ubuntu) – he’s too scared to upset the latter by overly pushing the former. Evidenced in the continuation of the dual branding nightmare (Canonical v Ubuntu) - Diversity is as poor as people say. If you’re non-technical and/or in a minority group (inc. women), it’s incredibly hard to get the respect deserved by some leadership. It will be very hard to bring women into the leadership team due to boys club culture and being seen as a token hire. - CEO is a control freak and creates genuine fear around the business. Totally stifles creativity, sharing of opinions, prevents getting the best out of people and ultimately leads to high churn either directly or indirectly. Everything revolves around him. Everything. - Never have I worked anywhere where people would rather limit career progression or be demoted to stay a reasonable distance from the CEO. - There are more…and I guarantee the reviews on GD are accurate and not just left by bitter ex-employees.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Support Software Engineer

      May 22, 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance coworkers are great

      Cons

      too much stress outdated use of systems/processes not very good management (3-4 different managers in 1.5 year) benefits meh practically non existent 401k plan

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Interesting, different, rewarding, challenging

      Apr 20, 2021 - Sales Director in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well Paid, plenty of autonomy, Mark Shuttleworth

      Cons

      Beaurocratic , all major decisions are made by Mark Shuttleworth

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid at all costs

      May 4, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice offices in central London

      Cons

      Narcissistic owner. The worst culture of any company I have worked for.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Engineering org is great, all other teams not so great.

      Mar 25, 2021 - Product Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive compensation package. Truly global reach of what you work on.

      Cons

      No women in leadership roles. Literally 1 BAME individual in a leadership role during 2020. Actual statistic: 95%+ of employees are male. 60+ hour work weeks are expected. No equity for most people. Revenue not growing - had a bad year despite being a cloud company during Pandemic. IPO not likely in next 5-ish years (no CFO, no big4 auditor, no valuation as not raised PE or VC recently) People get yelled at, a lot. In public. A lot of office gossip. A lot of politics and games.

      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 205 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Canonical Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Canonical? Share Your Experiences

    or