Capco Associate Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Associate Consultant Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
12 Ratings
  1. "A "grad scheme" with a bit of a difference..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Associate Talent Programme (ATP) is not a "grad scheme" as such - it's not just open to graduates but offers an entry-level consulting job. This is what I found so interesting at the start, I joined not just with other graduates but people with all different backgrounds and experience! The short, sharp training that I began with offers me a good level of knowledge in the basics of consulting along with a comprehensive set of role plays which gave some life to the theory. The opportunities for quick career progression - it's a graduate scheme without the rigid confines of set milestones every year or two! Capco's culture - despite growing bigger and bigger, Capco had an entrepreneurial spirit about it and still has a "small firm" feel about it. Social events - there are several events every quarter which let's you network and meet people from all over the firm. Accessible Senior Management - over the year I've been here, I've met and spoke to many of the senior partners and leaders in the firm who are all extremely approachable and accessible at all the different events! Support network within the firm - the coaching system gives you access to leaders in the firm who support you with your career and general advice. Capco have a broad range of high-profile clients to work for, so I've ended up working with some of the largest Banks in the UK across different areas within Finance which has been really interesting. Capco has 28 offices around the world allowing opportunities for Global networking and job opportunities.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits offered aren't as broad as larger corporate firms (however this is somewhat made up for in the competitive graduate salary)

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-08-14

    Capco Response

    August 16, 2018HR

    Thanks for your great review and we're delighted to hear that you are enjoying your time as an Associate at Capco. As you mention our Associate Talent Program brings together talented individuals from a variety of backgrounds who are immersed in our structured training program and provided with career development opportunities from the start through ongoing learning, coaching and working on projects with senior leaders and clients. Our meritocratic culture and approach to career development means that employees at all levels are in control of their career and can progress quickly through the firm based on their performance without artificial barriers. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great people and potential for growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My headline summarises it all.

    Cons

    Not found yet but that is because I have not been in long enough.

    Capco2020-02-10
  3. "Good training, good people, good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given lots of exposure to clients from an early stage, and lots of support, whatever the role. Very sociable with a consistent stream of events, both big and small.

    Cons

    Work can be fairly menial at times. Can be hard to fit in training around client work.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  4. "Diverse and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is varied and challenging. Often thrown in at the deep end which challenges you to learn and pick things up quickly. Most days vary and require you to take in many responsibilities. Our colleagues are diverse, which Capco is truly passionate about. This makes it a great environment to work in. It is what you make it, you are given so many opportunities, it is about how you take those.

    Cons

    Cannot pick the projects you work on.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  5. "Associate Consultant - ATP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Culture - You are expected to engage with the all Capco employees on community initiatives - Perks and Salary - Exceed industry standard - Training - You are trained to meet industry expectations as well as for your own personal development - Projects - Exciting projects, particularly for people who want to try different things

    Cons

    None so far although I'm only here a couple of weeks so will post again with an update! - Side note this is not a job for the lazy! It seems like you will only progress if you work hard longevity doesn't play a factor. For some people this might be a con so I put this here.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-07-12

    Capco Response

    July 18, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you are enjoying working at Capco.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco

    Pros

    Good roles are out there Growing and getting better Good people to work with and learn from

    Cons

    Some bad roles you need to avoid

    Capco2016-11-12

    Capco Response

    November 17, 2016Consultant

    Thank you for sharing your comment. Most importantly thank you for your hard work, and continued contributions. Continue to own your career and leverage your Coach and Business Partner for sound advice and direction as you help us grow.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (30)

    "Deceitful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In a lighter vein, the free drinks that all consulting employers ply their young employees with - I preferred to think of alcoholic beverages as painkillers during my time at Capco. On the professional front, I guess the brand value that Capco ONCE UPON A TIME used to enjoy, and has gradually poured down the drain was the good bit when I was there. It was vital to get out of the firm before the brand value eroded though, and I'm glad I succeeded.

    Cons

    This one is going to be a long one, but I am typing slowly and thinking each one through: 1) Capco is very high on form and weak on substance. This leads over time to a culture where the bar steadily drops and one thinks "Why am I bothering with getting better at my work? Let me learn to either talk BS confidently, or even better, get pally with one of the big shots in the firm". 2) Alas, the management of the firm, especially a couple of the newer partners do not have the foresight to discourage this kind of behaviour and the resultant signalling is - you might as well join in the sycophantic fray, as long as you are here. Case study 1: A girl who spent 3 years at Capco as Consultant drastically changed her strategy while we worked together at a Tier 1 bank in Canary Wharf. Flirted with the principal consultant, made vague but intelligent sounding contributions in weekly meetings. Voila - promotion to Senior Consultant in 6 months. 3) Capco actively encourages training - but conducts most of it in-house, presumably to avoid paying high priced training firms. Fair enough so far - but most of the training sessions are delivered by other consultants in the firm. With the key focus being to notch these up and stake claim for promotion, the focus really isn't on imparting usable skills. Case Study 2: A senior trainer on one of the modules told me that he actually billed his client for the day even though he was in the Capco office training. 4) Capco doesn't care 2 hoots about your interests especially if you have spent time on the bench. Personal Case Study: I once spent 3 weeks on bench while waiting for a role that spoke to my skills in Capital Markets. I am an ex finance professional who at this point had been working for 9 years. As "bench work" I was asked to go man their retail banking stall in a client branch - when I protested saying that there were better ways I could add valye, I was called by he who shall be unnamed, saying that since I was an Associate, and was on the bench, I should comply or get off the bench. Yeah, as you've probably guessed, I really needed the job at that point. 5) Capco is cliquey - The saddest part about this is that the young people who join Capco get moulded for life in this vein. To some extent, this is not unique to Capco, but the brazenness with which this flourishes was enough to make most people shake their head. This culture begins with HR - I've discussed with many of my friends from Capco (the kind of good friendships that can only be forged through common misery, and this was my biggest saving grace during this dark period of my life) how dealing with HR was probably the most unpleasant experience we had to endure. 6) At a fundamental level, I developed a healthy mistrust of the authority figures at Capco, barring a few decent blokes, who found themselves in the midst of the nuthouse. The firm has a very ambitious program called Be Yourself at Work - as part of this they profess to be alongside you supporting you. This support, sadly, extends to the good times in the bar, or celebrating a big win. I had the misfortune of discovering this during trying personal times after which I returned to work to find out I had been awarded a 2/5 rating for work that had been widely appreciated by some of the biggest stakeholders on the client site Anyway, all in all, I look back on my time there as some kind of penance or hard wake up call that I had to go through. I don't harbour ill-will, but I certainly

    Continue reading
    Capco2016-03-14
  8. "Exciting and growing company, great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Capco pride themselves on being different from other larger consultancies. There is a great atmosphere among the staff, many socials and everyone is approachable within the company regardless of level. Roles are meaningful and contain responsibility from the start. Promotions are merit based and occur when the individual is ready, not when they've fulfilled a set amount of time at the company.

    Cons

    A lot of emphasis on you to drive you own career, help and formal networks exist but the approach won't fit people who prefer a very structured career development plan (no set amount of time for each level). Explosive growth has left some of the company's processes behind.

    Continue reading
    Capco2014-04-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative culture, great people and a place where you can grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting Projects - Competent employees - Open and meritocratic culture - Lots of opportunity to get involved in projects outside your day job - Good salary

    Cons

    - Sometimes have to work out of town - Can be hard to get back to the office if you are working on client site 5 days a week

    Continue reading
    Capco2013-06-14
  10. "A fantastic company to work for with great people, great clients and great projects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very meritocratic, contribution to the company is strongly encouraged and access to some very exciting projects and very experience people.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is tough to maintain at the moment but this will improve with more experience.

    Capco2013-04-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 38 reviews