Capco Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Associate Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
23 Ratings
  1. "A "grad scheme" with a bit of a difference..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Associate Talent Programme (ATP) is not a "grad scheme" as such - it's not just open to graduates but offers an entry-level consulting job. This is what I found so interesting at the start, I joined not just with other graduates but people with all different backgrounds and experience! The short, sharp training that I began with offers me a good level of knowledge in the basics of consulting along with a comprehensive set of role plays which gave some life to the theory. The opportunities for quick career progression - it's a graduate scheme without the rigid confines of set milestones every year or two! Capco's culture - despite growing bigger and bigger, Capco had an entrepreneurial spirit about it and still has a "small firm" feel about it. Social events - there are several events every quarter which let's you network and meet people from all over the firm. Accessible Senior Management - over the year I've been here, I've met and spoke to many of the senior partners and leaders in the firm who are all extremely approachable and accessible at all the different events! Support network within the firm - the coaching system gives you access to leaders in the firm who support you with your career and general advice. Capco have a broad range of high-profile clients to work for, so I've ended up working with some of the largest Banks in the UK across different areas within Finance which has been really interesting. Capco has 28 offices around the world allowing opportunities for Global networking and job opportunities.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits offered aren't as broad as larger corporate firms (however this is somewhat made up for in the competitive graduate salary)

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-08-14

    Capco Response

    August 16, 2018HR

    Thanks for your great review and we're delighted to hear that you are enjoying your time as an Associate at Capco. As you mention our Associate Talent Program brings together talented individuals from a variety of backgrounds who are immersed in our structured training program and provided with career development opportunities from the start through ongoing learning, coaching and working on projects with senior leaders and clients. Our meritocratic culture and approach to career development means that employees at all levels are in control of their career and can progress quickly through the firm based on their performance without artificial barriers. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great people and potential for growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My headline summarises it all.

    Cons

    Not found yet but that is because I have not been in long enough.

    Capco2020-02-10
  3. "London CAPCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Backed by Private Equity Smartest entrepreneurs

    Cons

    Limited brand recognition Investment in staff still catching up the rest

    Capco2019-09-23
  4. "Good training, good people, good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given lots of exposure to clients from an early stage, and lots of support, whatever the role. Very sociable with a consistent stream of events, both big and small.

    Cons

    Work can be fairly menial at times. Can be hard to fit in training around client work.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  5. "Diverse and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is varied and challenging. Often thrown in at the deep end which challenges you to learn and pick things up quickly. Most days vary and require you to take in many responsibilities. Our colleagues are diverse, which Capco is truly passionate about. This makes it a great environment to work in. It is what you make it, you are given so many opportunities, it is about how you take those.

    Cons

    Cannot pick the projects you work on.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  6. "Overall good place to work, but often not the healthiest work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training offered, good people on the ground, strong brand. Good clients.

    Cons

    Very lean back office. A lot of expectation to contribute to Capco on top of client work, which does impact work-life balance. Remuneration at Associate level is low relative to work required.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-09-16

    Capco Response

    September 18, 2018HR

    Thank you for your feedback, in particular on the quality of training and development available in Capco. Capco does run a lean back office as we are keen to develop a successful organization that will create opportunity for development and rewarding careers for our people. Winning in key markets and growing quicker than the competition means we are able to share our success with our people and create an exciting and rewarding career offering in the firm. Like any professional services firm that is dedicated to the provision of a quality service to our clients, however, there will be some occasions when you are asked to go an ‘extra mile’ in the delivery of a project or formulation of a solution. Our feedback on work balance generally, however, is very positive and we believe we are able to offer more flexibility and a better work/life balance than our competitors (both in terms of how we work and the formal Flexible Work Arrangements we make available). Instilling a positive approach to flexibility in our leaders is a strong component of how we aim to attract and retain the best talent in the firm and we will often adopt solutions and work patterns at the specific request of a particular individual. Finally, the comment on pay is a surprise. Compensation is generally the most positive area of our feedback on Glassdoor and Capco takes great pride in benchmarking our pay rates effectively so we can be confident in offering market-leading pay and benefits to our people. If you have any evidence that we are not competitive at a particular level then please make your HR contact aware and we will certainly look at it. We are keen to see people properly rewarded in Capco and able to share in our success as we grow the firm.

    Continue reading
  7. "Associate Consultant - ATP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Culture - You are expected to engage with the all Capco employees on community initiatives - Perks and Salary - Exceed industry standard - Training - You are trained to meet industry expectations as well as for your own personal development - Projects - Exciting projects, particularly for people who want to try different things

    Cons

    None so far although I'm only here a couple of weeks so will post again with an update! - Side note this is not a job for the lazy! It seems like you will only progress if you work hard longevity doesn't play a factor. For some people this might be a con so I put this here.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-07-12

    Capco Response

    July 18, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you are enjoying working at Capco.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Alright - well suited to a certain kind of person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some fun teams to work on - Great office in Shoreditch - Work life balance - Good parties - Genuinely good people

    Cons

    - Lack of ambition amongst employees - Lack of firm prestige (the Asda of consultants) - Hiring far too many people (and of a lower standard) - Hideously long projects - Likely to end up being a workhorse

    Capco2017-01-06

    Capco Response

    January 25, 2017EA

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. Over the last few months we have undertaken to critically assess and redefine our recruitment process. We want to ensure that we are bringing in top talent that is fitting to our focused Market Offerings. We are also consistently working on ensuring we listen to our employees' career desires, and ensuring people can receive the support they need to correctly align their career path, with their Coach, HC, and business partners.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco

    Pros

    Good roles are out there Growing and getting better Good people to work with and learn from

    Cons

    Some bad roles you need to avoid

    Capco2016-11-12

    Capco Response

    November 17, 2016Consultant

    Thank you for sharing your comment. Most importantly thank you for your hard work, and continued contributions. Continue to own your career and leverage your Coach and Business Partner for sound advice and direction as you help us grow.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (30)

    "Deceitful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In a lighter vein, the free drinks that all consulting employers ply their young employees with - I preferred to think of alcoholic beverages as painkillers during my time at Capco. On the professional front, I guess the brand value that Capco ONCE UPON A TIME used to enjoy, and has gradually poured down the drain was the good bit when I was there. It was vital to get out of the firm before the brand value eroded though, and I'm glad I succeeded.

    Cons

    This one is going to be a long one, but I am typing slowly and thinking each one through: 1) Capco is very high on form and weak on substance. This leads over time to a culture where the bar steadily drops and one thinks "Why am I bothering with getting better at my work? Let me learn to either talk BS confidently, or even better, get pally with one of the big shots in the firm". 2) Alas, the management of the firm, especially a couple of the newer partners do not have the foresight to discourage this kind of behaviour and the resultant signalling is - you might as well join in the sycophantic fray, as long as you are here. Case study 1: A girl who spent 3 years at Capco as Consultant drastically changed her strategy while we worked together at a Tier 1 bank in Canary Wharf. Flirted with the principal consultant, made vague but intelligent sounding contributions in weekly meetings. Voila - promotion to Senior Consultant in 6 months. 3) Capco actively encourages training - but conducts most of it in-house, presumably to avoid paying high priced training firms. Fair enough so far - but most of the training sessions are delivered by other consultants in the firm. With the key focus being to notch these up and stake claim for promotion, the focus really isn't on imparting usable skills. Case Study 2: A senior trainer on one of the modules told me that he actually billed his client for the day even though he was in the Capco office training. 4) Capco doesn't care 2 hoots about your interests especially if you have spent time on the bench. Personal Case Study: I once spent 3 weeks on bench while waiting for a role that spoke to my skills in Capital Markets. I am an ex finance professional who at this point had been working for 9 years. As "bench work" I was asked to go man their retail banking stall in a client branch - when I protested saying that there were better ways I could add valye, I was called by he who shall be unnamed, saying that since I was an Associate, and was on the bench, I should comply or get off the bench. Yeah, as you've probably guessed, I really needed the job at that point. 5) Capco is cliquey - The saddest part about this is that the young people who join Capco get moulded for life in this vein. To some extent, this is not unique to Capco, but the brazenness with which this flourishes was enough to make most people shake their head. This culture begins with HR - I've discussed with many of my friends from Capco (the kind of good friendships that can only be forged through common misery, and this was my biggest saving grace during this dark period of my life) how dealing with HR was probably the most unpleasant experience we had to endure. 6) At a fundamental level, I developed a healthy mistrust of the authority figures at Capco, barring a few decent blokes, who found themselves in the midst of the nuthouse. The firm has a very ambitious program called Be Yourself at Work - as part of this they profess to be alongside you supporting you. This support, sadly, extends to the good times in the bar, or celebrating a big win. I had the misfortune of discovering this during trying personal times after which I returned to work to find out I had been awarded a 2/5 rating for work that had been widely appreciated by some of the biggest stakeholders on the client site Anyway, all in all, I look back on my time there as some kind of penance or hard wake up call that I had to go through. I don't harbour ill-will, but I certainly

    Continue reading
    Capco2016-03-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews