Capco Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Consultant Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
237 Ratings
  1. "People driven, progressive consultancy firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A genuine people focussed business, that offers the opportunity for consultants to grow their careers in challenging client roles. All levels of management within Capco are accessible, and everyone is encouraged to share ideas and participate in community activities (although there is no obligation to do this). The Scotland office has a bit of a start up feel to it (without the associated risk( and the next couple of promise to be exciting ones.

    Cons

    Moving to Capco without previous consultancy experience can take time to adjust, and it's not for everyone.

    Capco2019-12-19
  2. "FUN CONSULTANCY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good engagement from senior staff

    Cons

    Some lone wolf roles more suitable to contracting

    Capco2020-02-21
  3. "Good range of projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good range of projects. Complex and interesting work

    Cons

    Promotion prospects vary between client accounts. Notably easier to get promoted whilst working on certain accounts

    Capco2020-02-15

    Capco Response

    February 17, 2020HR

    Thanks for the positive comments about the quality of work at Capco. The firm is proactive in monitoring and embedding fair procedures, including for promotion. All promotions are subject to a robust business case by the relevant manager, and review and challenge by a number of stakeholders at performance review roundtables. This ensures that only those promotions that are deemed fair, consistent and justified by a range of people, are approved. The firm also provides procedures for staff to challenge promotion decisions. It is a testament to our process that these are very rarely used.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great people and potential for growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My headline summarises it all.

    Cons

    Not found yet but that is because I have not been in long enough.

    Capco2020-02-10
  5. "Great for junior consultants starting their career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good progressing when starting in grad scheme

    Cons

    Difficult progression when joining as external hire

    Capco2020-01-27
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with great values and very client oriented.

    Cons

    Very stressful at times because of social gatherings and meetings. If you have a young family, it might be bit stressful to make after work commitments.

    Capco2020-01-20
  7. "Non diverse culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Good client names for CV

    Cons

    Not diverse and inclusive Roles are not consulting roles, often pick up any work High attrition Who you know not what you know

    Capco2020-01-10

    Capco Response

    January 15, 2020HR

    Most people join Capco because we are different (the opportunities for progression, our inclusive culture and the diversity of our people). We hire people from many different backgrounds and industries, and much of the feedback on this forum is a testament to how refreshing people find working at Capco compared to other larger consulting firms. We pride ourselves on enabling rapid progression, based on our employees’ high performance, to more senior levels. All our people receive performance reviews every 6 months, and those discussions include a focus on employee development and promotion readiness. Roundtables ensure that everyone receives a fair assessment from a range of stakeholders without any unfair bias. In contrast to other firms, we also ensure that performance reviews focus on a holistic view of duties in role, as well as contribution to our diversity agenda, CSR activities or skills development. Our broader commitment to diversity and inclusion, ‘BeYourselfAtWork,’ is deeply rooted in all aspects of our culture, and we empower our people to lead the agenda. We believe this contributes to a unique, inclusive, open and tolerant work environment for our people.

    Continue reading
  8. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Hiring process is good, work with great colleagues

    Cons

    Lack of quality in projects.

    Capco2020-01-08
  9. "Very Political and Cliquey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good socials - Some good people

    Cons

    - Promotion criteria is vague and can feel like moving goal posts - Can be a good place for experienced consultants from larger firms but challenging for those new to consulting

    Continue reading
    Capco2020-01-02

    Capco Response

    January 6, 2020HR

    Thank you for your feedback. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders, evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher grade level. %E2%80%98Roundtable%E2%80%99 meetings to compare performance of individuals against their peers, along with independent reviews of promotion cases by a different manager, ensure that decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression than our competitors. Any promotion decisions we make are done only after careful consideration and thorough review. We strongly encourage you to reach out to you HR Business Partner or Coach if you would like to understand how our performance system works. We value our employees and their hard work, and are very much committed to their success within Capco.

    Continue reading
  10. "If you want to work in consulting, Capco is about as good as it gets."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big enough to take on the Big 4 and win but small enough to be nimble and responsive. Innovative and obsessively client-focused. Strong drive not to have staff working away from home unless it is mutually beneficial. Great support systems for staff with a genuine interest in the whole person.

    Cons

    None that wouldn't apply to any other consultancy - e.g. the need to balance client delivery with Capco development work

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-12-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 552 reviews