Capco Management Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Management Consultant Reviews

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
8 Ratings
  1. "People driven, progressive consultancy firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A genuine people focussed business, that offers the opportunity for consultants to grow their careers in challenging client roles. All levels of management within Capco are accessible, and everyone is encouraged to share ideas and participate in community activities (although there is no obligation to do this). The Scotland office has a bit of a start up feel to it (without the associated risk( and the next couple of promise to be exciting ones.

    Cons

    Moving to Capco without previous consultancy experience can take time to adjust, and it's not for everyone.

    Capco2019-12-19
  2. "If you want to work in consulting, Capco is about as good as it gets."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big enough to take on the Big 4 and win but small enough to be nimble and responsive. Innovative and obsessively client-focused. Strong drive not to have staff working away from home unless it is mutually beneficial. Great support systems for staff with a genuine interest in the whole person.

    Cons

    None that wouldn't apply to any other consultancy - e.g. the need to balance client delivery with Capco development work

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-12-18
  3. "Varied and forward thinking consultancy offering excellent development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of work Progression opportunities Employee engagement

    Cons

    Working to improve consultant mobility

    Capco2019-12-18
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Friendly and supportive colleagues - Interesting projects (not always) - Fair level of freedom to choose the project - Good work life balance (depending on the project)

    Cons

    - Lack of charismatic leaders, instead having numerous managers with unprofessional behaviours such as favouritism - Imbalance of experience among employees within the same level e.g. you find associates (graduates) who have got promoted to consultant level after a year and at the same time you find consultants with 7-10 years of experience. Therefore, you can see unqualified "managers" managing overqualified ones. This has led to many leaving the company. - High turnover of employees ( 20 out of 24 employees of my cohort left the company in less than 2 years) due to numerous reasons - Company has clearly started preparing books to be sold and the recent changes in the promotion process and forced rating is a clear sign. Politics plays a huge role in career progress in Capco and even the managers do not follow the framework they promote. The feedbacks are quite general with no clear example of development point and it is simply a tick the box activity - Company claim they welcome upward feedback but they have the habit to justify their actions and sugarcoat whatever is happening around. Finally Capco was a good company but it's not anymore so I only recommend it to graduates for the first 2 years of their career

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-20

    Capco Response

    September 25, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders, evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher grade level. ‘Roundtable’ meetings to compare performance of individuals against their peers, along with independent reviews of promotion cases by a different manager, ensure that decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression than our competitors. This year, our promotion rates are the same as last year. A key part of our learning and development offering is training for managers, with specific courses on management, leadership and coaching. We also run 2-day ‘milestone schools’ for everyone promoted to the next level, which are designed to help individuals be as successful as possible at their new level. There’s always room for improvement of course, and we’re currently reviewing our L&D offering as part of our planning for 2020, to ensure it offers the best possible opportunities for people at all levels in Capco. We strongly encourage all employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner, Coach or another member of the leadership team if they require additional support or guidance around their career development.

    Continue reading
  5. "Management Consultant - UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good client base Global presence

    Cons

    Very political Promotions are based on whether someone who is important supports you, otherwise doesn’t matter how good you are or how hard you work. This will be overlooked. HR deny promotions based on a spreadsheet of numbers and do not look at individuals (unless you have friends in right positions) Competency framework is just a facade and mean nothing, purely a friendship/relationship game. Decisions and communications about progressions are also prolonged by a minimum of three months to maximise the daily rate achieved from consultants before forcing an exit.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-16

    Capco Response

    September 17, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders and evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher-grade level. Decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression versus our competitors. Any promotion decisions we make are done only after careful consideration and thorough review. We strongly encourage all employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner, Coach or another member of the leadership team if they require additional support. We value our employees and their hard work, and are very much committed to their success within Capco.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Will feed you what you want to hear and never deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quick turnaround on project placement (woth little choice if a client requests you mind). Large organisation, well known.

    Cons

    HR will feed you all sorts to keep you on minimal pay. Bonus and yearly raises V poor. Minimal increases. Delivery with Clients is always second to politics, e.g when considering internal promotions. Heavy focus on social outings (as with most consultancy’s)

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-06-07

    Capco Response

    June 11, 2018HR

    We would like to respond to the points you raise in your review: 1. Your comments on salary and bonus are incorrect and at odds with many of the reviews on this forum. Our bonuses in March typically delivered 10-15% - for our highest performers, some received payments of 20% plus for exceptional performance. Our promotion increases are also generous and we regularly benchmark our compensation in the market, including against the Big 4, to ensure that we remain competitive. 2. Capco is a meritocracy. Our performance management process promotes a holistic view of performance. All rating and promotion decisions are based on feedback from key stakeholders and hard business measures, and validated in roundtable discussions where challenge and debate are encouraged. 3. The firm hosts a variety of employee events including town halls, industry-specific events, summer parties and CSR events. All events held outside working hours are optional and many employees joining Capco enjoy the variety of events on offer which help them to develop their knowledge, build their network and have fun with their colleagues. We are disappointed to hear that you feel this way as a current employee and would strongly encourage you to speak with your coach, manager, HR or a member of the leadership team to discuss your specific concerns.

    Continue reading
  7. "Highly impressed so far. Best career move I have made, where I can see myself progressing through the grades."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong brand in the market. Very professional, from the interviews through to the day-to-day. Welcoming and inclusive culture. Very social. High profile accounts to develop your skills with friendly and supportive colleagues.

    Cons

    Danger of expanding too quickly which could reduce the excellent culture. Some accounts may have varying levels of leadership which could alter the experience of developing employees.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-09-17

    Capco Response

    September 27, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you feel this was such a great career move for you! It's also great to hear that you are enjoying many of the exciting things Capco has to offer from working on high profile accounts to our unique culture, and the social side. In our recent global employee survey, our culture was rated very highly, and this is something which the leadership team is committed to fostering as we grow the firm. You will have heard this reiterated at our recent London Town Hall by the CEO. Welcome to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of smart folk but not really a strong identifiable corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Consultant (Business Management) in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Capco

    Pros

    Smart people who have deep technical expertise in their subject domain area. Strong content training material. Reasonably good knowledge sharing culture. The focus is on technical skills (rather than consulting ones)

    Cons

    There is not much sense of the collective. You will just roll on from one (stressful) project to another. The variation of capability within grade will make you cast a sceptical look toward those more senior (by title) in the firm. Can appear to be a revolving door of partners at times.

    Continue reading
    Capco2015-03-19
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Capco is a great example of a small low quality outfit poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's hard to find positives in relation to my experience with Capo. During my time at the firm they hired a lot of people, many of these left after being deployed into roles that in many cases were just resource augmentation, a bit like a expensive contracting agency. In reality the main pro is that as this is a small firm they don't hold a large pool of people and thus you will be deployed onto a project quickly, unfortunately the roles are often a poor fit as they are driven by client demand rather than your skills and capabilities

    Cons

    The main con that I would highlight is the poor quality of management and leadership at Capco. Most of the leadership team are completely disconnected from the work force, they are very unable to understand the needs of their people and this is demonstrated by the number of people who join the firm and then leave within 12 months. I have worked in a number of industry and consulting jobs and I have never seen such a large turnover of staff, and I believe this is related to the very poor quality of both leadership and development. Training is of very poor quality , largely focused on induction / initial training and this fails to provide any form of ongoing development In summary you would really be better off as a contractor!

    Continue reading
    Capco2013-07-03
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Hard work, limited reward. Poor reputation with clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant (Business Management) in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be on a project, with a small number of big projects your sure to find yourself in a role pretty quick. Everyone gets some basic training. Lots of social activities etc, some of them better than others but lots to choose from

    Cons

    Very poor culture within the company. Lots of ex accenture people. Lots of who you know not what you know type behaviour. Very limited training opportunities. Very limited range of roles, lots of junior people doing very simple activities which fails to develop their ability to add value and do much more than basic project admin.

    Continue reading
    Capco2013-06-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews