Capco Managing Principal Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Managing Principal Reviews

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
14 Ratings
  1. "A company that recognises and rewards hard work, and provides growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People orientatated - Transparent and fairly flat management structure, making you feel involved - Good opportunities within the Financial Services market - Opportunity to diversify your skillset and capabilities across a number of Financial Services Domains - Provides good salaries to workforce

    Cons

    Not applicable for my time within the firm, it has been largely positive

    Capco2019-10-23
  2. "Innovation. Important clients. Independent career control. Leaders in Data and developing Data talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting innovation. Range of clients – but FS focused. ADP Associate Data Programme and other associate programmes give good people great skills.

    Cons

    So much going on. Need to pick battles and prioritise.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-11
  3. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - High quality and knowledgeable colleagues - Increasing interesting projects as financial services changes - Great culture and environment to learn and improve - Great mix of hard work and sociable environment - Growing very fast and therefore there is urgency and excitement - Very flat structure

    Cons

    There could be some work to improve processes which are needed as Capco grows

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-09-29

    Capco Response

    October 2, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review and we are pleased to read that you are enjoying your first year at Capco. As a senior leader in our firm it's great to read your positive comments on your colleagues, our culture and the opportunity to work on interesting projects. There is a continued focus on improving internal processes as the firm grows to meet the needs of our people and the business and employees are encouraged to share any suggestions for improvements with a member of the leadership team. Thanks for your contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  4. "Long time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast growing brand among financial services clients Focused on new consulting - digital and next gen tech, rather than "standard" project delivery Compensation is fair based on levels and competitors Meritocracy with a very robust and fair performance management process Ability to shape the firm and access senior management at every level - unlike other consultancy firms

    Cons

    Relatively constrained cost base for discretionary spend (e.g. back office investment)

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-06-19

    Capco Response

    June 28, 2018HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read your comments, which sum up many of the great things about Capco including competitive compensation, a transparent approach to performance management and innovative and interesting work. To your point, the firm's rapid growth has placed pressure on some of our support functions and internal processes - investment has already been made in a number of areas to address this and it's important that we continue to evaluate this to ensure that the right infrastructure is in place as we continue to grow the firm. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "You get back what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Capco UK has grown massively over the last 5 years. During this time the CEO has changed, but there is a core group of Partners who have been part of maintaining consistency and culture in the organisation. This has a positive impact as ‘from the top’ there are role models who have flexed and adapted to what the organisation needs. If you are prepared to work hard then you will get the recognition for it. This may involve periods of working long hours or doing a lot of ‘extra curricular’ work such as interviewing, coaching, business development and practice development - but this is valued and is how the UK business has managed to grow so massively. Despite what some other reviews say, there is a focus on giving consultants the choice on which project they get assigned to - however Capco is also a business, so there may be times where it feels like you are assigned without any consultation - here I would say it’s up to the consultant to understand where they are being proposed and speak up early on what they are looking for rather than sit on the bench with diva demands.

    Cons

    For some people there is a lack of transparency on how their work (on client side or extra curricular) fully contributes to promotion / compensation - I think that part of this is also due to quality of some coaches who aren’t giving enough support to their proteges and preparing them realistically for life as a Capco consultant, and part of it is down to comms around the performance management framework differing with perception of end of year outcomes. There is still a feeling that some accounts are better/worse than others. It would be useful if delivery leads with senior coaches could come together to dispel some of these myths and support focussing on the role and potential for career growth, not just the account assignment. At some of the junior levels there is a feeling of entitlement with the new entry level consultants. Keep them grounded by managing them firmly from the outset and not allowing them to feel too ‘special’ when they join. There’s no harm in learning the hard way sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-04-18

    Capco Response

    April 24, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments give us real insight into how we can improve the experience for our people. Your comments on project assignment are very helpful - Capco always strives to assign people to the roles which align most closely with their skills, experience and career ambitions. On occasions, for the reasons you state, this is not possible but there are lots of channels open for employees to set out what they are looking for (via Resourcing, coaches, managers and HR as well as internal networks). Where someone is placed on an assignment which they feel is not the best fit, they are encouraged to speak openly with their project manager and coach to identify development opportunities. Where possible, we will also look to move individuals to another project. Regarding your comments on transparency on performance management, a lot of work has gone into this area over the past year. Capco has recently concluded a 12 month pilot of our new approach, designed to increase transparency in the process. The feedback from the pilot will be communicated to all employees shortly. We will use the pilot to further improve understanding of the process generally, including any perception that, in career terms, some accounts are better than others. We will also show how the opportunities available to all our people can be used to support progression and career development in a way that is both open and honest and reflects the way we work in Capco. Thank you for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Full of opportunity for the most highly motivated and capable individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I joined 7 years ago from Accenture. The main drivers were the quality of people - amazingly talented and committed colleagues, and the opportunity to build capabilities in a fast growing firm that had a real buzz about it. That fast paced growth and that buzz is still there 7 years later. I’ve been part of a growth story from <100 to nearly 1000 in London, and I’m driving part of that growth through leading recruitment for the technology business. Empowerment is apparent - if you see something you want to fix or to build, just raise your hand and the management support is there, as long as you have a business case. Opportunity is there for the taking, and the limiting factors are only your willingness to grab the chance, and the limits of your own personal bandwidth. Access to senior leadership is available without making appointments - our leaders sit out on the floor at clients and back at base along with everyone else, not tucked away in glass boxes or ivory towers. It’s no good having leaders without access to their knowledge and their support. Fair and rigorous performance management process, which takes a huge amount of management effort, but is massively important to everyone involved to reward and develop our employees to the best of their ability and to serve our clients - showing Capco on a good day, every day. It’s the best career move I’ve made.

    Cons

    Like all consulting companies, the experience can depend largely on your client, and your management team, but remember you can influence that. No consulting job is a walk in the park - you might have to do long hours from time to time, or to travel away from home, but you will build great skills and really important networks of support for the future. Just make sure you go in with your eyes open. Consulting can be more of a lifestyle choice than just a job, but the rewards and satisfaction are certainly there if you put your heart and soul into it.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-02-10

    Capco Response

    February 13, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review. It's really great to hear that after your 7+ years with the firm, you are still excited about Capco and the quality of experience and career we strive to give our people. Your descriptions of opportunity, empowerment and access to senior leadership at Capco really paint a picture of our culture and life at our firm. As a leader in our firm, it’s encouraging to hear your enthusiasm, and read about how you live and promote the culture across the firm. Your passion for Capco comes across very strongly and I am sure that others will be encouraged to give us a closer look based on your personal story and observations. In particular, those that relish a challenge and are looking for an exciting and rewarding career. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Capco for over five years. It is a great place to grow your career. The management will invest time in you and help you develop. I work with some fantastic people and enjoy the team ethos and entrepreneurial spirit that runs through the company. You will be backed 100% in everything you do.

    Cons

    As alluded to in other reviews, the infrastructure is very lean. IT and operational support are not what they would be at a larger organisation.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-11-11

    Capco Response

    November 21, 2017HR

    Thanks for your review, and it's great to hear your enthusiasm for Capco shine through after 5+ years! As a senior leader in our firm, it's great to hear you talk about how management really invest in the development of our people. While the infrastructure is lean, Capco's recent transition to independence means that the firm is now fully in control of this, and there is a lot of work currently underway to enhance our systems and processes. Thanks for your continued contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  8. "Modern, disruptive, Cool, Employee Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Modern, disruptive, Cool, Employee Friendly

    Cons

    The laptops cannot access pen drive encrypted data. That may not very helpful for someone who can joined from other places and wants to bring in some proud work.

    Capco2017-10-04

    Capco Response

    October 19, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review - we really like your description of the firm! We fully agree that Capco strives to be forward-thinking and a leader, both in terms of the work we do with our clients, and also the offerings to our employees. As a firm, we need to have rules in place from an IT security, risk and compliance perspective. As we undergo our transition to an independent firm, we are trying to limit the amount of bureaucracy, and working hard to enable our employees as much freedom as possible to work in ways which suit them. However, this will always need to be within the parameters set, as with any organization. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  9. "Managing Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent career opportunities combined with interesting work with highly talented people. I joined from a much larger consultancy ~3 years ago. In comparison, Capco provided me with a much higher degree of autonomy, challenged me in ways that I haven't been challenged before, given me opportunities to shape my career in a way that I can succeed (rather than a set of pre-defined boxes) and allowed me to focus on the industry I enjoy the most. I've found that Capco hasn't forgotten about the 'little things' that make somewhere a great place to work. There is very little red tape, there is lots of recognition of good work, there is budget to train, to celebrate and to coach, and most importantly, there is a feedback culture that actually works. I enjoy working for Capco because we are different, we punch well above our weight and I feel like we genuinely look after our people.

    Cons

    We are leaner than some of the larger consultancies, which means we don't have some of the 'overnight' teams on tap to support with client deliverables. I personally love the absence of process and procedure for everything, but I've seen some people a little lost without it.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-08-29

    Capco Response

    August 30, 2017HR

    Thanks for your review and it's fantastic to hear your passion and enthusiasm for Capco! Your review really captures the essence of our firm - having come from a larger consultancy, the comparisons you draw, and benefits you highlight, really sum up what differentiates Capco and makes this company such a great place to work. The firm is very focused on providing a platform for talented individuals to shape their own career path and there are vast opportunities to enable our people to progress, learn and develop. From your review, it's clear that you fully embrace the Capco culture, and as a senior leader in our firm, it's great to hear your support for this. Consulting is a people business and Capco fully recognizes the importance of looking after our people. This comes in all forms from coaching families and regular recognition awards to employee off-site events and an excellent training curriculum. As the firm continues to grow, the leadership team remains committed to listening to our people through a variety of channels, including the upcoming 'Shape Capco' sessions, in order to continue to foster Capco's unique culture. Thanks for your continued contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  10. "Flat structure and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture. There is a great bunch of people in the Edinburgh Office who I learn from every day. Fun events like rock climbing, half marathons for charity, Edinburgh Festival fireworks from the office, summer party, team bowling, etc. There are great opportunities to get involved in things like - Be Yourself At Work, thought leadership, recruitment, business development, helping to shape the company vision, doing great work for clients, etc. You manage your career. Good pay and benefits as well.

    Cons

    Not a cons for me but Consultancy isn't for everyone. If you like variety, challenge and taking ownership of your career then it is.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-08-25

    Capco Response

    August 30, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoy working at the firm. As you point out, the team in Edinburgh really know how to have fun and there are lots of social activities for employees to get involved in all around the Capco world. There is a real opportunity to take control of and shape your own career at Capco along with a network of support. As a leader in our firm, it's great to hear that you are so passionate about all the opportunities that Capco offers. Thanks for your continued contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 35 reviews