Capco Partner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Partner Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Review of CAPCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at CAPCO has been a great experience. Having worked elsewhere in the consulting arena, I can say with confidence that CAPCO really does have a unique and great culture. The people are open and collaborative. The mindset of the company is not weighed done by the heirarchy of larger organisations. The motivations of the business and people are very much about doing the right thing for clients, and as a result the client logos and type of work really stand out.

    Cons

    There are no real cons to working at CAPCO. It is certainly different to the larger consulting players and thus people need to be able to embrace and enjoy that difference.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-12-08

    Capco Response

    December 11, 2017HR

    Thank you for your great review, and we're delighted to have you on-board. It's great to hear that having worked in larger consulting firms, you appreciate what Capco has to offer to employees, and value the opportunities afforded by working in a smaller consulting organization. Thanks for your contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  2. "A entry level consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner in London, England

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interactive community, dynamic, hard working

    Cons

    A bit to "hipster". Struggle to find man heavy weight IQ

    Capco2020-01-14
  3. "London CAPCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Backed by Private Equity Smartest entrepreneurs

    Cons

    Limited brand recognition Investment in staff still catching up the rest

    Capco2019-09-23
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Recruitment Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Business Partner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great senior management team (Digital & Tech Department) who are incredibly bought in to the recruitment team and genuinely care about finding the right candidates for the business. Hiring managers are happy to set time aside to teach and educate you on the specific areas of which you are recruiting - rare in many companies. Lots of opportunities to learn about the industry and teams that you are recruiting in through lunch and learns, brown bag sessions etc. Good social perks with the wider business.

    Cons

    The recruitment team itself is heavily KPI focused and run almost identically to a recruitment agency (most who join the team want to get out of this type of environment). Expectations set to work late after work to run recruitment evenings (8/9PM) with no time back. (In interview process told once a month however was often 5 times per month) No working from home is considered unless a formal request is put forward. Little to no progression in role.

    Capco2018-12-18

    Capco Response

    December 19, 2018HR

    Thank you for your feedback. As a recruitment function, we are always looking for ways to enhance the team environment. As part of this, we recently reviewed our recruitment evenings, and now only run these on an ad-hoc basis if we have a particular need. As a result of changing the process, we haven’t run any since the summer. We work closely with the business to ensure that, as a function, we are delivering on the firm’s requirements and therefore it makes sense for the team to work predominantly from the office. With regards to KPIs, again we have taken feedback onboard and the management team works with the wider team to try to maintain a healthy work life balance in a fast paced environment. If anyone in the team has any suggestions or feedback to share to further improve the team then they are encouraged to do so through one of our internal channels.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Recruitment Business Partner - London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Business Partner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    - Good company where you have the opportunity to have a lot of face time with senior leadership - Some great individuals across the business as well as the recruitment team, the business do really care about recruitment and see it as an important partner in the growth of the company

    Cons

    - Management style: Whilst there are some great individuals across the recruitment team it's led extremely poorly. Poor culture (led from the top) with a lack of support from management. The team has extremely high turnover with a lot of recruiters only staying with the team for around 6 months. There's only a handful of the team who have actually been there for a considerable amount of time. You're often called out on very petty things such as working away from your desk or arriving 5 minutes late to the office (this point is quite frustrating as you're expected to work late on interview evenings most weeks). - Very granular KPI focus, similar to working in a recruitment agency (without the commission!) How many CVs are you sending, how many LinkedIn messages do you send.... Overall recommend recruiters avoid joining whilst current management structure is in place. The cons far outweigh the pros. Disappointing as the company is great and deserves a better led, happier recruitment team.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-06-27

    Capco Response

    June 28, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate employees taking the time to share their feedback, so that we can improve the experience of our people. One of the challenges of rapid growth in the firm is that it can put short-term pressure on the recruitment team and, as a result, place a greater focus on KPIs at the expense of other indicators of performance and impact our usual culture of empowerment. That said, turnover in the team does not appear to be an issue and most of the team members have been working at Capco for around a year. Nevertheless, we will share your feedback with the individual and with their coach and we will help them to identify ways in which these issues can be addressed. I am confident that this will be a positive experience based on the open approach to performance improvement that we support in the firm. We will work to identify actions that result in a broader management focus in the future and an improved experience for members of the team. Thanks again for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Recruitment business partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Consultancy side of the business very collaborative forward thinking and dynamic you have very senior stakeholders grounded and approachable, Flat structure Nice offices Good events Consultancy side care about the people, promote within Capco as a consultancy have some interesting projects and working with some inspirational leaders who are passionate about there work.

    Cons

    No structure with in recruitment, growing at such a fast pace but no clear defined targets. Forceful management, volatile environment from management, managed by fear Negative things picked on and favouritism. Linked in and job board targets not in alignment or relevant to overall stats. Long hours and recruitment evenings that are expected however no flexibility from there side, will expect you to stay until late however you can not be late. Secret meetings often followed by desk or kitchen whispering from management. Recruitment turn over is so high not just amongst the recruiters also with the the recruitment coordinators due to lack of training and support. Be your self at work is encouraged in capco aside the recruitment team.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-07-05

    Capco Response

    July 13, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback – we are pleased to read the many positives you list about the firm (including the collaborative, dynamic and caring culture, inspirational leaders and opportunities for progression). Whilst the rapid growth of the firm placed some short-term pressure on the recruitment team, we are pleased that we have managed to retain a high quality teamt (with all our recruiters working for Capco for around a year or more) The team has clear targets in place and these were developed with input from resourcing, operations and recruitment to ensure that they are appropriate and fair. While the nature of recruitment can mean conducting some interviews outside of core working hours (to meet the needs of our candidates) the team rotates responsibility for these sessions to ensure a sensible balance. As a firm, we continuously review feedback, so that we can improve the experience for candidates and for our people. We also actively seek feedback and suggestions from employees. We are also planning to hold sessions to allow the recruitment team to share any ideas for improvement and air any concerns in a confidential setting. As a former employee, if you would like to share additional feedback, please reach out to a member of the HR leadership team or Richard Gartside our HR lead who will be pleased to hear from you.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Best place I have worked in 20+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’m a Partner at Capco and I've been with the firm for six and a half years. I did originally write this review including my name, but Glassdoor refused to publish it with my name included. Prior to Capco, I had never stayed anywhere for longer than two years and 10 months. I am often asked why that is. Let me try to answer. First, I have been fortunate enough to work for and with some tremendous people. When I say ‘tremendous’ I mean people who are talented, people I can learn from, people I trust, people I respect, people I can have a beer with and people I often see more as friends than colleagues. I honestly believe we employ some of the most talented people in the financial services industry, and I am constantly surprised and impressed with what our teams achieve for our clients. Second, we operate a true meritocracy, at least as much as is ever possible when people are measuring people doing something as subjective as management consulting. Since I joined Capco as a Managing Principal in 2011 the only thing that has ever limited my progress has been my own work ethic and ability. I’ve been fortunate enough to work with some great people and teams who have supported me in my career development and in 2012 I achieved my first objective of joining the Partner team at Capco. We continue to do performance management and promotions every 6 months. We don’t have a time-in-grade mentality, but we do look for sustainable performance at the next level. From what I have seen in over 20 years around the city, we offer some of the best career progression opportunities you will find anywhere, together with all the support and guidance you will need to make the most of those. Third, from the leadership team downwards, we put a lot of emphasis on integrity. For me, this is my most important value and it manifests itself in many ways in how we work. On the people side, we work very hard to find roles which our people want to do. If people are doing things they’re excited about, they will be happier and they will do better work. Very simple. It is not always perfect, though, but we spend more time on this than any firm I’ve ever worked for. On the client side, we emphasise doing the right thing for the client at all times. “More consultants” is not always the answer to every client problem and it is hugely important to me that I work for a firm where I know I can say that, when it is the right answer for the client. You might be surprised by just how much trust you can build when you set-aside your self-interest and focus on the client. Within the management team we work as a team, and ask our leaders at all levels to make decisions based on what is best for the client, the people and Capco, but not for them as individuals. Fourth, of course, is the quality of our clients and our work. Over the past six years our brand has grown in-line with our client reputation, and we are now working with most of the tier 1 banks across the market in the UK. During this period we have built a strong reputation for everything from strategy & operating model through to reg & change delivery, technology transformation and all things Digital. In the last few years the size, importance and criticality of the programmes with which our clients have trusted us has increased markedly. Across our clients, we are continuing to win work from our much larger competitors – you know who they are – and we are proving to our clients that we really are, and should be, the ‘firm of choice’ for consultancy in the FS market. Crucially, this enables us to offer our people the most interesting and challenging work available in FS consulting today, and that is surely what the best people are looking for in an employer. Last, but not least, is ‘the culture’. Culture is always hard to define, but it is important. In fact, our clients often remark on how our culture – our people, and how they behave and approach their work – differentiates us from other firms. Of course, a big part of our culture is the meritocracy and integrity I’ve mentioned above. But, it is more than that. It is also: the ‘different’, more relaxed atmosphere in our Shoreditch office; the number of social clubs and events we support and run; the non-hierarchical approach (no Partner offices at Capco, well, just one) to our teams; the level of support we offer each other; the level of team-working across client accounts; the ability to make an impact and have your ideas heard; the way our people ‘drop the badge at the door’ and make themselves part of the client team; and, the way we can throw a party, which we do at least twice a year in the Summer and around Xmas. So, those are some of the main reasons I am still here after more than 6 years. I still can’t think of a better place to do management consulting.

    Cons

    Capco is still to some extent a 'challenger brand' in the FS consulting market. This means that we have to work that bit harder, sometimes, to win against our much larger, longer-in-the-tooth competitors. Sometimes that is frustrating but, for me, it is a huge and rewarding part of the challenge. I have always enjoyed being the under-dog, winning when people say I can't and doing things which people say weren't possible. If you like to win against ‘the big guys’, then Capco is the place for you. If you prefer the warmer, cosier world of a 'big brand' then perhaps it isn't the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-08-18

    Capco Response

    August 22, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review. It's really great to hear that after your 6+ years with the firm, you are still excited about Capco and the quality of experience and career we strive to give our people. As well as an exciting description of the culture that we believe makes us unique, your focus on accelerated development, integrity, merit and the quality of our people goes a long way to demonstrate how our leaders, like you, live and promote that culture across the firm. Your passion for Capco comes across very strongly and I am sure that others will be encouraged to give us a closer look based on your story and observations. In particular, those that relish a challenge and are looking for an exciting and rewarding career. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  8. "Time flies when you are having fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I find it hard to believe that the 3 year anniversary of joining Capco is approaching so quickly. The time has flown by responding to a range of exciting opportunities. Things I have valued the most have included: - A deep seated entrepreneurial spirit that values innovation - Real depth of Financial Services Knowledge with a very effective mix of people recruited from the industry coupled with career consultants - A sense of pace and energy - Light appropriate governance - Firm wide leadership is accessible and present

    Cons

    Capco is growing at a pace and this requires ongoing adaptation of capabilities, internal processes etc. There is little time to pause for breath and certainly no BAU

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-08-01

    Capco Response

    August 9, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoy working at Capco and your review really highlights many of the things which make Capco such a great place to work. As a Partner, you mention the open access to leadership and this is something which really sets Capco apart. Our structure is flat and non-hierarchical, with many Partners using hot-desks alongside consultants at all levels. This is a key aspect of the Capco culture and enables employees to learn from senior colleagues and openly share their ideas, feedback and any concerns. This way of working also helps to foster a collaborative and family feel across the firm. Thanks for your continued contribution to making Capco so great!

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing culture, join if you really want to challenge yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Capco now since the end of last year and it has been a fantastic experience and a huge learning curve. I was very happy in my last role with the only negative being that I was bored, so I saw the opportunity at Capco as a way to develop myself and it has certainly delivered. What is instantly visible is how high-performing your colleagues are, it has given me a real competitiveness and I've had to push myself way harder that I've had to in previous jobs to get to that level. It is also incredibly varied, I don't think I would have the same responsibilities in an equivalent role elsewhere. Through all this I genuinely believe I have learnt more in the past 6 months than in the past 4 years, it's certainly not for the faint-hearted but if you really want to grow then it is a fantastically addictive environment. You can see as well that Capco is going from strength to strength commercially and I think there is a really exciting buzz around the office, it's great to be part of a good success story. Although the work is challenging it doesn't strike a bad work life balance, particularly for a consultancy firm. In fact I think it is the culture and the people that really make Capco and allows everyone to perform at such a high level. It is definitely not an overly-corporate environment, something which I would not excel in. The offices are cool and laid back, very open-plan and I really felt from day one that I was having an impact and could go up to a Partner and get chatting. People don't really have hangups here about rank and there is a lot of positive reinforcement, such as Partners coming up to you just to say what a great job you're doing. I haven't witnessed this in any other firm and it goes a long way. The firm has a real family feel and you get the sense you are part of a community rather than a cog in the works. Overall the best thing I can say is that for the first time in my career I no longer have the Sunday night feeling of dread. Would 100% recommend Capco to anyone that wants to grow their skillset fast and to have a tangible impact on the direction of the firm.

    Cons

    Honestly I haven't been able to find many. There is definitely a steep learning curve when you join but with the longer onboarding program and regular 101 training sessions I don't think this is insurmountable for most.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-07-17

    Capco Response

    December 14, 2017HR

    What a fantastic review! Thanks for taking the time to share your Capco experience. From your review it's very clear how much you enjoy working at the firm, your role and the opportunities to learn and grow. Thanks for your continued contribution to the Capco team, and best of luck in your career at Capco.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Up the Imagination and Drive!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Aspirational, genuinely wants to be at the heart of innovation and all things emergent in FS - Very flat structure, lets you get on with it...mercifully very little micro-management - Potential value represented by breadth of the wider organisation i.e. FIS, Sungard (almost!), Clear2Pay

    Cons

    - cult of personality - say all is 'open' and 'trust'...completely the reverse - people think they are a lot better than they really are - race for complexity...when so much low hanging fruit right in front of us! - have not worked out how to genuinely attract, nurture, grow and retain stellar talent - management structures not fit for purpose

    Continue reading
    Capco2015-08-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews