Capco Principal Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Principal Consultant

Capco Principal Consultant Reviews

Updated 9 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
82%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
34 Ratings
  1. "Be Yourself, Create Change, Deliver Real Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong team first ethos Genuinely friendly and diverse culture Projects and assignments which allow you to grow Entrepreneurial spirit

    Cons

    As with all Consulting is more than a 9am-5pm job, however the rewards are great

    Capco2019-08-14
  2. "Good networking opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects. Great social events

    Cons

    Clicky. Unstructured. Lots of rework

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-28
  3. "Great culture, reasonable benefits, primarily resource augmentation deliverables"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Bedford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally takes being a people business very seriously and understands its assets, what they want / need and how to fulfil them. Certainly they stand out from the consultancy crowd as a good place to work and much effort is placed into this facet of daily life at Capco

    Cons

    “Proper” consultancy gigs are few and far between.... most gigs are resource augmentation and rarely take account of skill set rather ability to get the job done, The meritocracy rhetoric and approach to promotion is evident at lower grades but at senior levels your face has to be a) seen often in the office and be known and b) must fit politically else you stagnate. Client deliverables and hard work don’t bring promotion as should be expected. I feel like I’m standing still now and, having been pigeon-holed in a role earning good fees with a client that values me but recognition of that doesn’t exist outside of the immediate team While the efforts around D&I are excellent and to be applauded, focussing heavily on women, LGBGT, BAML and neuro diverdity,, D&I also requires that the remainder of the community aren’t alienated as a result but it feels like the massive efforts with other communities are doing just that, almost by accident And finally, on the more mundane, the internal IT and mobile working infrastructure, while improving, is relatively poor for a firm that touts it’s digital credentials and Technology skill sets.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-11
  4. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco

    Pros

    Opportunity and open to new ideas

    Cons

    Some challenging clients and work life balance

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-12-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Respect talent and treat your employee as assets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Retained start-up like environment despite being a mid-size consulting firm. Lots of creative work opportunities

    Cons

    no proper desk equipment - working off laptops old boys culture amongst senior managers from an ex-big 5 firm. you need to come from this firm to be taken seriously

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-11-15

    Capco Response

    November 20, 2018HR

    Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed a number of aspects of working at Capco. The leadership team is focused on fostering the start-up culture that you reference as the firm grows, however if any employee has any concerns about the culture they are strongly encouraged to raise this through one of our internal channels including their HR representative or our Global HR Director, David Heffernan. Any suggestions for improving the office environment and requests for equipment can be made via the Facilities or IT team.

    Continue reading
  6. "People focused company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working for Capco for 3 years and so far have had a great experience. The senior management team create a culture that is inclusive and supportive, and have maintained this even though the company is going through a huge growth spurt. Training is excellent and readily available. There is an active coaching community and the recognition process is fair and transparent. Projects I have worked on have been rewarding and value add to the clients.

    Cons

    As the company grows the existing performance management process is taking up a huge amount of resources and time to complete, and therefore needs to to be reviewed for streamlining where possible. I can already see improvements in this area however. Internal services such as technical support need to grow inline with the growth of the business in order to continue to adequately support.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-08-06

    Capco Response

    August 7, 2018HR

    Thank you for your comments and it's great to hear your enthusiasm for Capco in your review. We agree that Capco is a very special place to work and offers lots of opportunities to develop a rewarding career. As you mention, the rapid growth of the firm coupled with the transition to independence has placed some short-term pressure on some of our internal functions including IT, but there is a continued focus on improving these evidenced by the introduction of new technology and a global service desk. A significant amount of time is invested in the performance management process to ensure that this is a robust and fair process, however your feedback is noted and will be shared with the team to see where it can be streamlined further. If you have any particular suggestions that you would like to share, please reach out to your local HR representative to discuss. Thanks for your continued contribution to the firm!

    Continue reading
  7. "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Growing and innovative environment with a lot of career opportunities.

    Cons

    Majority of the project are long term, which for consultant looking for a fast passed environment might not be the best option.

    Capco2017-12-07

    Capco Response

    December 11, 2017HR

    Thanks for your review, and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your 3+ years at Capco so far. Anyone looking for a career in financial services consulting with an innovative firm, and lots of opportunities for career development and progression should consider applying. Thanks for your continued contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  8. "Innovative and growing consultancy focused on Financial Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Capco culture that is low on red tape and high on creativity Some of the smartest people I have worked with in my 10+ years of working in investment banking Great office in Shoreditch providing an environment for creative thinking and innovation Clients include the biggest players in financial services Rapid growth leading to new opportunities emerging daily Constant flow of new talented employees joining providing lots of energy

    Cons

    Like any consultancy you have to manage and find the balance between your client work and internal work, which may be a challenge for some. Getting the work/life balance right can be a challenge initially.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-10-28

    Capco Response

    November 1, 2017HR

    Thanks for your great feedback! Your review really sums up many of the great things about Capco, and we fully agree. The new performance management framework we have put in place should also help employees to find the right balance between client/internal work, and to make more informed decisions about what internal work to pursue. Thanks for your continued contribution to the Capco team!

    Continue reading
  9. "Cliquey!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, colleagues with really deep FS/IT knowlegde

    Cons

    Cliquey, unstable culture, success predicated on 'who you know', a few prima donnas

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-03-21

    Capco Response

    April 4, 2017HR

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. As you mention, Capco's talented workforce offers deep expertise in financial services, which sets the firm apart in the market. For those looking to specialise in FS consulting, there really is no better place to hone and develop these skills working alongside professionals with strong consulting skills and SME knowledge. In addition, as a firm we are committed to rewarding and recognising our people and we regularly undertake benchmarking exercises to ensure that we remain competitive in the market. With regards to your comments on a cliquey, unstable culture, Capco strives to have an inclusive and progressive culture with our people at the heart of everything we do. This is supported by minimal hierarchy and bureaucracy, open access to leadership, our #BeYourselfAtWork Movement and opportunity for employees to get involved in actively shaping the firm. In response to your advice to management, there are a couple of initiatives underway to increase transparency and support our culture including a greater focus on our internal communications and new development programmes to support those promoted or new to managing people.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meritocratic environment, good salary and benefits, career progression for those with the right attitude. There isn't an "up or out" policy, which means that there are many experienced professionals to learn from.

    Cons

    A degree of favouritism / clique, but less so as the company has grown. Rapid growth targets led to the hiring of less talented consultants.

    Continue reading
    Capco2016-08-29

    Capco Response

    August 29, 2016Consultant

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. As we continue to grow we are refining our performance management model and adding structure that is fitting to global industry standards . Additionally, we are always striving to bring in top tier talent based on client needs. Please feel free to share your thoughts on areas of improvement with your regional Human Capital Lead, Amy Clark (amy.clark@capco.com) as we continue to refine our efforts.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 103 reviews