Capco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
459 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Resource Augmentation/Body Shopping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people Great events Salary is above the market average

    Cons

    Ultimately Capco's model is resource augmentation, they place you mainly in existing teams within the client, and you are ultimately at their mercy, projects are long term based on the account model

    Capco2019-11-27

    Capco Response

    November 28, 2019HR

    Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoy working with our people!As a firm, we are committed to providing excellent service to our clients and a positive experience for our employees. While we understand that sometimes employees may find themselves in a role which is not their first choice, we pride ourselves in providing significant and varied opportunities for our people to grow their careers. We strongly encourage all employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner, Coach or another member of the leadership team to seek alternative roles, where applicable. Be assured that any staffing decisions we make are done only after careful consideration and thorough review, and note that such practices are also common within the consulting industry.

    Continue reading
  2. "Nice people. Nice office. Nice perks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked in a cool team. Really nice office

    Cons

    Work was fairly uninspiring and felt a bit like the higher ups were using us.

    Capco2019-11-06
  3. "There’s nothing like “strategy and target operating model” consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, fun town halls

    Cons

    Boring, long term projects, no strategy

    Capco2019-11-19
  4. "Capco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Consistent hours, 2 annual promotion cycle, CSR, competitive pay

    Cons

    Projects can be stale

    Capco2019-11-02
  5. "A company that recognises and rewards hard work, and provides growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People orientatated - Transparent and fairly flat management structure, making you feel involved - Good opportunities within the Financial Services market - Opportunity to diversify your skillset and capabilities across a number of Financial Services Domains - Provides good salaries to workforce

    Cons

    Not applicable for my time within the firm, it has been largely positive

    Capco2019-10-23
  6. "Focussed more on resource augmentation rather that actual consultancy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people. Good location Work locations generally in the city or Canary Wharf

    Cons

    Roundtables process is not transparent and does not reward people on merit. Not as well paid as other consultancies. Has not got the structure or the quality of people like other consultancies

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-11-05

    Capco Response

    November 7, 2019HR

    It’s good to see your positive comments about the friendly culture at Capco. Your comments regarding pay come as something of a surprise though. We benchmark our salaries and bonuses against our competitors using independent surveys. This benchmarking demonstrates that our pay is market competitive. We also pride ourselves on a meritocratic approach to reward. For instance, bonus awards are based on how people perform on the different elements of our performance framework. The framework also makes it clear how much weight is attached to the different elements. We’ve been working to provide more clarity around our promotion process as we recognise that we could make it a bit clearer – we’ll be continuing to focus on this in the forthcoming promotion cycle. What won’t change is our commitment to promote on merit. Many employees choose to work at and remain with Capco due to the opportunities we offer for fast career progression based on outstanding performance. We offer promotion opportunities twice per year, and our ‘no time in grade’ policy removes the need to spend a set amount of time at a specific level before being considered for promotion.

    Continue reading
  7. "Modern Forward Thinking Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since joining Capco I have found it to be a very progressive and hard working environment where there are plenty of opportunities to develop core and specialist skill-sets. Innovative thinking is rewarded and ideas are listened to from all levels of the organisation. There are also plenty of industry and social events to attend each week which are great for building up your professional (and social!) networks.

    Cons

    Like most things in life you get out what you put in so be prepared to network both client side and internally to establish good relationships with colleagues

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-10-09
  8. "Fantastic culture and progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great client base across Financial Services, with a significant number of additions in 2019. This is exciting for current and new employees - Interesting work and a strong ability to shape the direction of your role - There is twice yearly promotion period which enables fast progression for those Consultants delivering in their role and supporting business growth - Strong emphasis on Community which allows you to develop skills as a consultant outside your client work. This includes getting involved in training delivery, supporting the account management teams or coaching more junior consultants. Also enables great networking opportunities across the business

    Cons

    - There needs to be more of a balance between short and longer term engagements - A more structured process for experienced hires (CO/SC) to embed them within a domain team, i.e. Cap Markets, Banking and Payments, based on their prior experience.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-10-09
  9. "Not as good as it should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The office in Old Street is nice, reasonable salary.

    Cons

    Overcomplicated system security created enormous admin overhead; poor mentorship; limited advancement opportunities depending on the role; need to have no family responsibilities in order to make full use of internal networking (lots of evening socials).

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-10-18

    Capco Response

    October 22, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. Many employees choose to work at and remain with Capco due to the opportunities that we offer for fast career progression based on outstanding performance. We offer promotion opportunities twice per year, and our ‘no time in grade’ policy removes the need to spend a set amount of time at a specific title level before employees are considered for promotion. In addition, we offer robust internal learning and development and mentorship programs, and encourage our employees to work with their coach, manager and the resourcing team to identify roles that will help them learn and grow their careers. We understand that sometimes an individual is placed in a role which may not be an exact fit due to business and client demands. However, wherever that is the case, we will always try to ensure that the individual has the support required to succeed in that role and to prepare them for their next move. As for your comment on system security - given the nature of consulting and our client work, we do maintain strict system security protocols to ensure client confidentiality and comply with regulatory systems. If you would like to share any specific feedback or suggestions around management, coaching or training then please reach out to our UK HR Lead, Neil Hunsworth.

    Continue reading
  10. "London CAPCO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Backed by Private Equity Smartest entrepreneurs

    Cons

    Limited brand recognition Investment in staff still catching up the rest

    Capco2019-09-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1251 reviews