Capco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
459 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Friendly and supportive colleagues - Interesting projects (not always) - Fair level of freedom to choose the project - Good work life balance (depending on the project)

    Cons

    - Lack of charismatic leaders, instead having numerous managers with unprofessional behaviours such as favouritism - Imbalance of experience among employees within the same level e.g. you find associates (graduates) who have got promoted to consultant level after a year and at the same time you find consultants with 7-10 years of experience. Therefore, you can see unqualified "managers" managing overqualified ones. This has led to many leaving the company. - High turnover of employees ( 20 out of 24 employees of my cohort left the company in less than 2 years) due to numerous reasons - Company has clearly started preparing books to be sold and the recent changes in the promotion process and forced rating is a clear sign. Politics plays a huge role in career progress in Capco and even the managers do not follow the framework they promote. The feedbacks are quite general with no clear example of development point and it is simply a tick the box activity - Company claim they welcome upward feedback but they have the habit to justify their actions and sugarcoat whatever is happening around. Finally Capco was a good company but it's not anymore so I only recommend it to graduates for the first 2 years of their career

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-20

    Capco Response

    September 25, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders, evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher grade level. ‘Roundtable’ meetings to compare performance of individuals against their peers, along with independent reviews of promotion cases by a different manager, ensure that decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression than our competitors. This year, our promotion rates are the same as last year. A key part of our learning and development offering is training for managers, with specific courses on management, leadership and coaching. We also run 2-day ‘milestone schools’ for everyone promoted to the next level, which are designed to help individuals be as successful as possible at their new level. There’s always room for improvement of course, and we’re currently reviewing our L&D offering as part of our planning for 2020, to ensure it offers the best possible opportunities for people at all levels in Capco. We strongly encourage all employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner, Coach or another member of the leadership team if they require additional support or guidance around their career development.

    Continue reading
  2. "Regretting leaving capco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are likeminded, culture in Scotland office is superb, they care, socials are good and townhalls fun

    Cons

    I left due to assignment in Glasgow account but overall capco is a great company

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-10
  3. "Innovation. Important clients. Independent career control. Leaders in Data and developing Data talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Principal in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting innovation. Range of clients – but FS focused. ADP Associate Data Programme and other associate programmes give good people great skills.

    Cons

    So much going on. Need to pick battles and prioritise.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-11
  4. "Great Place to Start Your Consultancy Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great colleagues to work with, limited politics at lower operational / delivery levels - Corporate Services staff - Office Manager, CIO, Procurement, Recruitment - make coming to the office a whole lot mote enjoyable - Variety of roles on offer within two key clients - Transparent, well communicated and measurable performance management process - Real attempts to promote from within where possible _ Plenty of opportunities to get involved in Community initiatives as much or as less as you wish to - Account socials are plentiful and always really good fun - Capco Scotland Town Halls are great opportunity for colleagues to get together when we don't often get the chance to on client site - Edinburgh client account has a good culture with lots of Capco colleagues on-site and Capco are well integrated there - Good salary and benefits - Flexible working (depending on client alignment)

    Cons

    - Small client base in Edinburgh - Disparity between agendas in Edinburgh and London offices - Management not always visible - Lack of clarity in terms of core propositions and how to sell these to clients - Reduced scope to transfer within the organisation and limited opportunity to work anywhere outside of Edinburgh other than Glasgow - No longer focusing on ATP (Accelerated Talent Programme) for graduates which was a great way of blooding in new recruits who had not been previously moulded elsewhere - Poor perception of client account in Glasgow as a result of many departures / transitions from Glasgow account to Edinburgh. No clear explanation for others of why or how this is being rectified, just that it has been acknowledged. Results in many not wanting to work on Glasgow account.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Dont trust them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will operate as a LTD company and avoid IR35.

    Cons

    They will lie and claim they have a role. Make sure prior to leaving your employer you get confirmation from the client directly that you will be starting employment.

    Capco2019-10-04
  6. "Great consultancy with a focus on FS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working culture. Interesting projects in a wide range of FS clients. Projects are varied so people can really choose and shape their own careers. London office is the biggest so a lot is happening there!

    Cons

    No mobility programme (only permanent transfers)

    Capco2019-08-20
  7. "Impressive opportunities to grow and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to build your network, reputation and experiences within the firm through community contribution work - regardless of your level and seniority within the firm. I was given autonomy and leadership responsibilities early on because people were willing to put their faith in me and support me to deliver to the best of my ability. Crucial for an industry that places so much importance on the value of your network. Impressive mental health support and openness/acceptance. Lots of CSR opportunities

    Cons

    Nature of consulting, sometimes can be long hours

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-15
  8. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great

    Cons

    None come to my mind

    Capco2019-08-16
  9. "Good networking opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects. Great social events

    Cons

    Clicky. Unstructured. Lots of rework

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-28
  10. "Be Yourself, Create Change, Deliver Real Value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong team first ethos Genuinely friendly and diverse culture Projects and assignments which allow you to grow Entrepreneurial spirit

    Cons

    As with all Consulting is more than a 9am-5pm job, however the rewards are great

    Capco2019-08-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1251 reviews