Capco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
459 Ratings
  1. "Management Consultant - UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good client base Global presence

    Cons

    Very political Promotions are based on whether someone who is important supports you, otherwise doesn’t matter how good you are or how hard you work. This will be overlooked. HR deny promotions based on a spreadsheet of numbers and do not look at individuals (unless you have friends in right positions) Competency framework is just a facade and mean nothing, purely a friendship/relationship game. Decisions and communications about progressions are also prolonged by a minimum of three months to maximise the daily rate achieved from consultants before forcing an exit.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-16

    Capco Response

    September 17, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders and evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher-grade level. Decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression versus our competitors. Any promotion decisions we make are done only after careful consideration and thorough review. We strongly encourage all employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner, Coach or another member of the leadership team if they require additional support. We value our employees and their hard work, and are very much committed to their success within Capco.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company and a great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Events Marketing Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved the amount of responsibility and autonomy I was given from day one. This is a place where motivated and entrepreneurial people will thrive and where ideas are welcomed and can reach management, with great potential for any individual to impact the business. The office is relaxed with fun, collaborative atmosphere even though everyone works hard. Great leadership and support from management, from professional or career advice to lunches, drinks and inspirational events for everyone to get involved. Located in trendy Shoreditch the office is bang in the middle of lots of trendy cafes, bars and eateries.

    Cons

    Better internal system/intranet and staff directory would be beneficial.

    Capco2019-08-06
  3. "Good training, good people, good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given lots of exposure to clients from an early stage, and lots of support, whatever the role. Very sociable with a consistent stream of events, both big and small.

    Cons

    Work can be fairly menial at times. Can be hard to fit in training around client work.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  4. "Great consultancy with non-traditional approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are great; pleasure to work with so many talented, hardworking people Strong focus on coaching and L&D Many community initiatives focused on staff mental health and well being Lots of opportunities to take part in CSR projects, as well as client work Good benefits

    Cons

    Capco continue to work on building their female and BAME representation at senior level. It's not there yet but am hopeful it will become more balanced in time.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  5. "Diverse and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is varied and challenging. Often thrown in at the deep end which challenges you to learn and pick things up quickly. Most days vary and require you to take in many responsibilities. Our colleagues are diverse, which Capco is truly passionate about. This makes it a great environment to work in. It is what you make it, you are given so many opportunities, it is about how you take those.

    Cons

    Cannot pick the projects you work on.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work and Growth Career, with Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to grow your career, if you are willing to work hard and brilliant teams!

    Cons

    Sometime long hours, as with any other consultancy, to get deliverable across the line.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-07-31
  7. "Great culture, reasonable benefits, primarily resource augmentation deliverables"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Bedford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally takes being a people business very seriously and understands its assets, what they want / need and how to fulfil them. Certainly they stand out from the consultancy crowd as a good place to work and much effort is placed into this facet of daily life at Capco

    Cons

    “Proper” consultancy gigs are few and far between.... most gigs are resource augmentation and rarely take account of skill set rather ability to get the job done, The meritocracy rhetoric and approach to promotion is evident at lower grades but at senior levels your face has to be a) seen often in the office and be known and b) must fit politically else you stagnate. Client deliverables and hard work don’t bring promotion as should be expected. I feel like I’m standing still now and, having been pigeon-holed in a role earning good fees with a client that values me but recognition of that doesn’t exist outside of the immediate team While the efforts around D&I are excellent and to be applauded, focussing heavily on women, LGBGT, BAML and neuro diverdity,, D&I also requires that the remainder of the community aren’t alienated as a result but it feels like the massive efforts with other communities are doing just that, almost by accident And finally, on the more mundane, the internal IT and mobile working infrastructure, while improving, is relatively poor for a firm that touts it’s digital credentials and Technology skill sets.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    . Flat structure with Strong leadership . Personal development opportunities

    Cons

    . Growth pains as a result of accelerated growth in last 6-12 months

    Capco2019-07-24
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Good working culture, collaboration , team events

    Cons

    no physical presence in Birmingham

    Capco2019-08-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trying to compete with the big guys, but failing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you need a good work life balance. This is the place to work. Had the flexibility to work from home... a lot!

    Cons

    Business is trying to compete with the big consulting firms, yet the only way they win work is through undercutting consultant rates and doing “consulting” work that is in most cases just data entry. Data entry work is reframed and glorified as “consulting”. Don’t work here if you want to actually be challenged on a daily basis and learn and grow.

    Capco2019-07-17

    Capco Response

    July 18, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed a positive work life balance at our firm and Capco’s approach to flexible working. From a career development point of view, we have many examples of individuals who have built long-term careers at Capco and progressed quickly within the firm. This enables consultants, including at relatively junior levels, to undertake a variety of challenging roles. Is it always glamorous? No. But to position data analysis – and the insight it provides to clients – as data entry isn’t really doing justice to the value it provides. Capco’s size is often a key attraction for many people choosing to join as it allows employees to make a real impact and to shape their own career path. This includes choosing their area(s) of focus while specializing in the financial services sector.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1251 reviews