Capco Senior Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Senior Consultant Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
100 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic culture and progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great client base across Financial Services, with a significant number of additions in 2019. This is exciting for current and new employees - Interesting work and a strong ability to shape the direction of your role - There is twice yearly promotion period which enables fast progression for those Consultants delivering in their role and supporting business growth - Strong emphasis on Community which allows you to develop skills as a consultant outside your client work. This includes getting involved in training delivery, supporting the account management teams or coaching more junior consultants. Also enables great networking opportunities across the business

    Cons

    - There needs to be more of a balance between short and longer term engagements - A more structured process for experienced hires (CO/SC) to embed them within a domain team, i.e. Cap Markets, Banking and Payments, based on their prior experience.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-10-09
  2. "Good range of projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good range of projects. Complex and interesting work

    Cons

    Promotion prospects vary between client accounts. Notably easier to get promoted whilst working on certain accounts

    Capco2020-02-15

    Capco Response

    February 17, 2020HR

    Thanks for the positive comments about the quality of work at Capco. The firm is proactive in monitoring and embedding fair procedures, including for promotion. All promotions are subject to a robust business case by the relevant manager, and review and challenge by a number of stakeholders at performance review roundtables. This ensures that only those promotions that are deemed fair, consistent and justified by a range of people, are approved. The firm also provides procedures for staff to challenge promotion decisions. It is a testament to our process that these are very rarely used.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with great values and very client oriented.

    Cons

    Very stressful at times because of social gatherings and meetings. If you have a young family, it might be bit stressful to make after work commitments.

    Capco2020-01-20
  4. "Very Political and Cliquey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good socials - Some good people

    Cons

    - Promotion criteria is vague and can feel like moving goal posts - Can be a good place for experienced consultants from larger firms but challenging for those new to consulting

    Continue reading
    Capco2020-01-02

    Capco Response

    January 6, 2020HR

    Thank you for your feedback. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders, evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher grade level. %E2%80%98Roundtable%E2%80%99 meetings to compare performance of individuals against their peers, along with independent reviews of promotion cases by a different manager, ensure that decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression than our competitors. Any promotion decisions we make are done only after careful consideration and thorough review. We strongly encourage you to reach out to you HR Business Partner or Coach if you would like to understand how our performance system works. We value our employees and their hard work, and are very much committed to their success within Capco.

    Continue reading
  5. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Consultant 

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    variety of projects and work

    Cons

    long hours, no travel, difficult work

    Capco2019-12-03
  6. "Capco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Consistent hours, 2 annual promotion cycle, CSR, competitive pay

    Cons

    Projects can be stale

    Capco2019-11-02
  7. "Modern Forward Thinking Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since joining Capco I have found it to be a very progressive and hard working environment where there are plenty of opportunities to develop core and specialist skill-sets. Innovative thinking is rewarded and ideas are listened to from all levels of the organisation. There are also plenty of industry and social events to attend each week which are great for building up your professional (and social!) networks.

    Cons

    Like most things in life you get out what you put in so be prepared to network both client side and internally to establish good relationships with colleagues

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-10-09
  8. "Not as good as it should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The office in Old Street is nice, reasonable salary.

    Cons

    Overcomplicated system security created enormous admin overhead; poor mentorship; limited advancement opportunities depending on the role; need to have no family responsibilities in order to make full use of internal networking (lots of evening socials).

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-10-18

    Capco Response

    October 22, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. Many employees choose to work at and remain with Capco due to the opportunities that we offer for fast career progression based on outstanding performance. We offer promotion opportunities twice per year, and our ‘no time in grade’ policy removes the need to spend a set amount of time at a specific title level before employees are considered for promotion. In addition, we offer robust internal learning and development and mentorship programs, and encourage our employees to work with their coach, manager and the resourcing team to identify roles that will help them learn and grow their careers. We understand that sometimes an individual is placed in a role which may not be an exact fit due to business and client demands. However, wherever that is the case, we will always try to ensure that the individual has the support required to succeed in that role and to prepare them for their next move. As for your comment on system security - given the nature of consulting and our client work, we do maintain strict system security protocols to ensure client confidentiality and comply with regulatory systems. If you would like to share any specific feedback or suggestions around management, coaching or training then please reach out to our UK HR Lead, Neil Hunsworth.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to Start Your Consultancy Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great colleagues to work with, limited politics at lower operational / delivery levels - Corporate Services staff - Office Manager, CIO, Procurement, Recruitment - make coming to the office a whole lot mote enjoyable - Variety of roles on offer within two key clients - Transparent, well communicated and measurable performance management process - Real attempts to promote from within where possible _ Plenty of opportunities to get involved in Community initiatives as much or as less as you wish to - Account socials are plentiful and always really good fun - Capco Scotland Town Halls are great opportunity for colleagues to get together when we don't often get the chance to on client site - Edinburgh client account has a good culture with lots of Capco colleagues on-site and Capco are well integrated there - Good salary and benefits - Flexible working (depending on client alignment)

    Cons

    - Small client base in Edinburgh - Disparity between agendas in Edinburgh and London offices - Management not always visible - Lack of clarity in terms of core propositions and how to sell these to clients - Reduced scope to transfer within the organisation and limited opportunity to work anywhere outside of Edinburgh other than Glasgow - No longer focusing on ATP (Accelerated Talent Programme) for graduates which was a great way of blooding in new recruits who had not been previously moulded elsewhere - Poor perception of client account in Glasgow as a result of many departures / transitions from Glasgow account to Edinburgh. No clear explanation for others of why or how this is being rectified, just that it has been acknowledged. Results in many not wanting to work on Glasgow account.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-02
  10. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great

    Cons

    None come to my mind

    Capco2019-08-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 202 reviews