Capco "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1106 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
389 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and great culture

    Cons

    Limited digital projects in the UK

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-06-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Capco never really took off in Edinburgh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    The salary is good, and there are some great people to work with. But you won't see your team often as you'd be placed out on different client sites.

    Cons

    Lack of organisation, direction/strategy for the company, and lack of care for employees' wellbeing.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-03-30
  3. "Capco the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    London location, great people, great company

    Cons

    Pay could be a little bit better

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-12-05
  4. "Data Management Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people with an approachable leadership team Amazing unique culture Variety of challenging and interesting roles

    Cons

    Overall package is good but not the best

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-10-17

    Capco Response

    October 19, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review. We love your description of our amazing, unique culture! As a firm with little hierarchy, Capco actively fosters an open culture and our leaders work alongside our consultants, often using hot desks in our office space. We are also about to start a new series of online leadership Q&A sessions in the UK, to enable our employees to put questions to our leaders and get real-time responses. We are disappointed to hear your comments on the package. As a firm we aim to offer a highly competitive compensation and benefits package, and review this regularly in the market. If you have any suggestions around our benefits package, please discuss these with your HR representative.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Best place I have worked in 20+ years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’m a Partner at Capco and I've been with the firm for six and a half years. I did originally write this review including my name, but Glassdoor refused to publish it with my name included. Prior to Capco, I had never stayed anywhere for longer than two years and 10 months. I am often asked why that is. Let me try to answer. First, I have been fortunate enough to work for and with some tremendous people. When I say ‘tremendous’ I mean people who are talented, people I can learn from, people I trust, people I respect, people I can have a beer with and people I often see more as friends than colleagues. I honestly believe we employ some of the most talented people in the financial services industry, and I am constantly surprised and impressed with what our teams achieve for our clients. Second, we operate a true meritocracy, at least as much as is ever possible when people are measuring people doing something as subjective as management consulting. Since I joined Capco as a Managing Principal in 2011 the only thing that has ever limited my progress has been my own work ethic and ability. I’ve been fortunate enough to work with some great people and teams who have supported me in my career development and in 2012 I achieved my first objective of joining the Partner team at Capco. We continue to do performance management and promotions every 6 months. We don’t have a time-in-grade mentality, but we do look for sustainable performance at the next level. From what I have seen in over 20 years around the city, we offer some of the best career progression opportunities you will find anywhere, together with all the support and guidance you will need to make the most of those. Third, from the leadership team downwards, we put a lot of emphasis on integrity. For me, this is my most important value and it manifests itself in many ways in how we work. On the people side, we work very hard to find roles which our people want to do. If people are doing things they’re excited about, they will be happier and they will do better work. Very simple. It is not always perfect, though, but we spend more time on this than any firm I’ve ever worked for. On the client side, we emphasise doing the right thing for the client at all times. “More consultants” is not always the answer to every client problem and it is hugely important to me that I work for a firm where I know I can say that, when it is the right answer for the client. You might be surprised by just how much trust you can build when you set-aside your self-interest and focus on the client. Within the management team we work as a team, and ask our leaders at all levels to make decisions based on what is best for the client, the people and Capco, but not for them as individuals. Fourth, of course, is the quality of our clients and our work. Over the past six years our brand has grown in-line with our client reputation, and we are now working with most of the tier 1 banks across the market in the UK. During this period we have built a strong reputation for everything from strategy & operating model through to reg & change delivery, technology transformation and all things Digital. In the last few years the size, importance and criticality of the programmes with which our clients have trusted us has increased markedly. Across our clients, we are continuing to win work from our much larger competitors – you know who they are – and we are proving to our clients that we really are, and should be, the ‘firm of choice’ for consultancy in the FS market. Crucially, this enables us to offer our people the most interesting and challenging work available in FS consulting today, and that is surely what the best people are looking for in an employer. Last, but not least, is ‘the culture’. Culture is always hard to define, but it is important. In fact, our clients often remark on how our culture – our people, and how they behave and approach their work – differentiates us from other firms. Of course, a big part of our culture is the meritocracy and integrity I’ve mentioned above. But, it is more than that. It is also: the ‘different’, more relaxed atmosphere in our Shoreditch office; the number of social clubs and events we support and run; the non-hierarchical approach (no Partner offices at Capco, well, just one) to our teams; the level of support we offer each other; the level of team-working across client accounts; the ability to make an impact and have your ideas heard; the way our people ‘drop the badge at the door’ and make themselves part of the client team; and, the way we can throw a party, which we do at least twice a year in the Summer and around Xmas. So, those are some of the main reasons I am still here after more than 6 years. I still can’t think of a better place to do management consulting.

    Cons

    Capco is still to some extent a 'challenger brand' in the FS consulting market. This means that we have to work that bit harder, sometimes, to win against our much larger, longer-in-the-tooth competitors. Sometimes that is frustrating but, for me, it is a huge and rewarding part of the challenge. I have always enjoyed being the under-dog, winning when people say I can't and doing things which people say weren't possible. If you like to win against ‘the big guys’, then Capco is the place for you. If you prefer the warmer, cosier world of a 'big brand' then perhaps it isn't the right place for you.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-08-18

    Capco Response

    August 22, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review. It's really great to hear that after your 6+ years with the firm, you are still excited about Capco and the quality of experience and career we strive to give our people. As well as an exciting description of the culture that we believe makes us unique, your focus on accelerated development, integrity, merit and the quality of our people goes a long way to demonstrate how our leaders, like you, live and promote that culture across the firm. Your passion for Capco comes across very strongly and I am sure that others will be encouraged to give us a closer look based on your story and observations. In particular, those that relish a challenge and are looking for an exciting and rewarding career. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  6. "Excellent company to work for - good development and career enhancing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting and challenging projects with client responsibilities at all levels from the first day on-site - Great people throughout the firm with an open and approachable leadership team - Pro-active culture which means that there is the opportunity to develop your skills and expertise - Good promotion opportunities and performance management process. I have been through three performance management cycles since joining Capco and it is clear to see that good work is rewarded. Capco also conduct a at half-year and year-end, which gives further opportunity for promotion and ensures that mid-cycle new joiners can also be included - Great events throughout the year

    Cons

    - Honestly cannot think of any - perhaps work/life balance, but this is something that the individual also needs to manage and communicate with line managers and/or coaches. The occasional late night is generally expected across the industry.

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-08-21

    Capco Response

    August 30, 2017HR

    Thanks for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your first year at Capco! We fully agree that there is lots of opportunity at Capco and it's great to hear that you have witnessed this yourself, having experienced three performance management cycles. Capco operates as a true meritocracy with a 'no time in grade' policy. This means that if someone is performing at the next level for a sustained period they are considered for promotion, something which can take years in other firms. The firm considers promotion cases twice per year, which means there is lots of opportunity for talented individuals to progress quickly in the firm. Capco's non-hierarchical structure and collaborative approach means that consultants at all levels are given real responsibility from the start. This is coupled with a strong support network including intensive induction training, coaching, team support and ongoing training opportunities. Thank you for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  7. "Lots of opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and lots of opportunities to develop skills

    Cons

    Some management became too corporate and lack of interesting projects

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-07-27

    Capco Response

    July 31, 2017HR

    Thank you for your review and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Capco! We fully agree that our firm has really great people and as Capco enters a new chapter, the opportunities for our people look set to increase even more! Thanks for being a part of the Capco family!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "avoid this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant, in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capco

    Pros

    I worked at capco for 9 months and there are some really great people who work there.

    Cons

    Bullying culture is why I left and the manager is now being promoted. Culture is cliquey and unless you are a straight white male very hard to get on. Non diverse workplace. Unless you like reg projects avoid. I had the worst working experience after 20 years in the finance industry. It is a body shop for one large bank in Scotland, massive turn over of staff. Terrible experience

    Continue reading
    Capco2017-03-25

    Capco Response

    April 4, 2017HR

    Thank you for your feedback. At Capco, our people are our priority and we are very disappointed to hear about your experience. Our people and our culture are generally what attracts people to Capco and both are something we are very proud of. Inclusiveness is a key part of this, supported by our diverse workforce, minimal hierarchy, progressive approach to leadership and employee relations and our internal #BeYourselfAtWork movement. Turnover is no higher than our competitors and we work hard to ensure that our employees feel listened to, valued and remain engaged with the firm. With regards to your comments on bullying, we do have stringent policies in place and we are committed to ensuring that everyone who works with us can be themselves at work. Bullying, in any form, is not tolerated in the firm and we take this matter very seriously. We commit to investigating the issues fully, taking remedial action and reporting back to the complainant on the outcome in all cases. Having read your review, we are very disappointed by what you say and more disappointed that we have not had the chance to address your specific concerns. If you would like to discuss your specific concerns further, please reach out to our HR Director, Richard Gartside. As you note, there are a lot of really great and talented people in the firm who are working to build an exciting and rewarding career in the firm. We are committed to supporting each of them so they all have fun at Capco, enjoy their work and have the opportunity to fulfil their potential.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people culture. Plenty of growth opportunity.

    Cons

    Projects don't always have work/life balance and this is badly managed.

    Continue reading
    Capco2016-10-23

    Capco Response

    November 2, 2016Consultant

    Thank you for your positive outlook. Continue to contribute to what unarguably is one of the best parts of Capco, our culture. Reach out to your coach for advice and support on work life balance concerns. If you feel you need more support, schedule some time with your People Office lead Amy.Clark@capco.com who would be glad to help.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work - some projects not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place, great people, great benefitd

    Cons

    some projects very IT focussed

    Continue reading
    Capco2016-09-25

    Capco Response

    October 5, 2016Consultant

    Your feedback is valuable and thank you for all your contributions to Capco over the years. We encourage you to keep in touch through our Social Media outlets (Linked In, Facebook, Twitter). This includes yearly events and a series of regular publications on the latest developments, opportunities and programs at Capco.

    Continue reading
Found 1106 reviews