Capco "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 25 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
470 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As with other consultancies, work life balance can be a challenge(in 44 reviews)

  • "slow growth of the company, partially incompetent senior management(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A company that empowers and provides platform to succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Approachable senior management - Provides ability to work with clients and gain hands-on experience - Opportunity to work on high profile accounts and Financial services clients - Platform to practice and build SME skills - Right balance of formal and informal environment - Real time feedback and recognition from Performance and Line Managers - Great teams made up of amazing people leading to life long friendships

    Cons

    I have not come across any cons of working at Capco. Inspite of the great growth that the Capco has witnessed, it is great to see and witness that the senior management is still invested to ensure that the Company culture is maintained and reinforced in all employees and new joiners.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-09-10

    Capco Response

    September 12, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoy working at Capco especially the career opportunities, people and working environment. As you mention, while our culture has evolved, the leadership team is committed to retaining the important aspects of our culture which make our firm such a unique and special place to work. Thank you for your contribution to Capco.

    Continue reading
  2. "Intersting and dynamic consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flat hierarchy consultancy, easy access to senior management

    Cons

    Still trying to get their feet in the ground

    Capco2019-06-15
  3. "a life changing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - some real people working for the company - good hq in shoreditch - personal development / training is great

    Cons

    - promotion is all about who you know - very political - completely lied and oversold the role - there was no real work in the Capco for 6 months. people were on the bench for at least 2 months trying to find work - little to know interesting projects - no one gets rewarded for their work - senior management has little understanding of the culture

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-06-05

    Capco Response

    June 7, 2019HR

    Thank you for your positive feedback on our learning & development, working environment and the people who work at Capco - we see all of these as factors that differentiate us from other organisations. The business has enjoyed substantial growth in the past couple of years, so your comment about there being no work for 6 months is somewhat surprising. The bench is a feature of all consulting businesses, with most ‘bench time’ being a couple of weeks between projects. We have a proven resourcing model, which matches consultants’ skills with client requirements. This enables us to minimize the number of people on the bench and the time they spend there. We also have robust processes for calibrating performance between peers and reviewing promotion candidates, in order to ensure that decisions are based on merit not politics.

    Continue reading
  4. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Flat organisation structure gives good exposure to senior management and partners

    Cons

    Selling often takes precedence over delivery

    Capco2019-03-11
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Recruitment Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Business Partner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great senior management team (Digital & Tech Department) who are incredibly bought in to the recruitment team and genuinely care about finding the right candidates for the business. Hiring managers are happy to set time aside to teach and educate you on the specific areas of which you are recruiting - rare in many companies. Lots of opportunities to learn about the industry and teams that you are recruiting in through lunch and learns, brown bag sessions etc. Good social perks with the wider business.

    Cons

    The recruitment team itself is heavily KPI focused and run almost identically to a recruitment agency (most who join the team want to get out of this type of environment). Expectations set to work late after work to run recruitment evenings (8/9PM) with no time back. (In interview process told once a month however was often 5 times per month) No working from home is considered unless a formal request is put forward. Little to no progression in role.

    Capco2018-12-18

    Capco Response

    December 19, 2018HR

    Thank you for your feedback. As a recruitment function, we are always looking for ways to enhance the team environment. As part of this, we recently reviewed our recruitment evenings, and now only run these on an ad-hoc basis if we have a particular need. As a result of changing the process, we haven’t run any since the summer. We work closely with the business to ensure that, as a function, we are delivering on the firm’s requirements and therefore it makes sense for the team to work predominantly from the office. With regards to KPIs, again we have taken feedback onboard and the management team works with the wider team to try to maintain a healthy work life balance in a fast paced environment. If anyone in the team has any suggestions or feedback to share to further improve the team then they are encouraged to do so through one of our internal channels.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Feels more like a recruitment agency than a Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Salary is at, or slightly above, market rate Office has free soft drinks and good coffee machine

    Cons

    Very reliant on a couple of clients in Scotland No USP or methodology - rely on hiring smart people and selling them to clients at profit Senior Management do not set good example - favouritism rife and management always side with client to protect revenue No opportunity to specialise Professional Qualifications not encouraged Feels very like a recruitment firm, not true Consultancy

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-11-09

    Capco Response

    November 15, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review, although we are sorry to read your comments as a former Capco employee. As one of Capco’s newer offices, the team has been focused on partnerships with a number of core clients. However, our list of clients is growing all the time, and as part of our UK region and a global firm, the team is able to leverage the knowledge and experience of the wider organization as required. With regards to learning and development, there is support available for external qualifications and we would recommend that employees speak with their coach and get in contact with our Learning and Development team if this is something they are keen to pursue. Finally, we would encourage all employees to share their feedback, suggestions and raise any specific concerns through one of our internal channels including HR, Coach, Manager or a member of the leadership team.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not the place for experienced candidates - glorified bodyshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free soft drinks in HQ office Good as a entry level position for those with no experience

    Cons

    Promotion is based on popularity rather than actual delivery of work , emphasis is placed on attending a lot of socials. Senior Management Partner egos Inexperienced staff promoted too quickly (based on popularity rather than work) creating an inexperienced management hierarchy . There are graduates with no experience managing / at a senior level compared to some experienced change professionals with 5+ years experience Non Existent management once on client site Work is body shopping, no value adding delivery

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-09-18

    Capco Response

    September 19, 2018HR

    We are disappointed by this feedback but have sought to respond to reach of the points you raise. 1. Promotions at Capco are based on the quality of the work you deliver, not on popularity. The foundation of any promotion is a sustained high performance rating which is dependent on 4 factors (your business results, assessments by your coach and managers, your involvement in broader ‘community’ activities outside your immediate role and your compliance with firm regulations and training standards). Promotion proposals are then subject to a review by business leaders and HR to ensure fairness and consistency and by senior leaders outside your business who can take a broader view of fairness in standards across the firm. The ability to engage with colleagues and clients will contribute to being a good performer but promotion will reflect a much broader range of considerations. 2. It is true that some junior people may progress more quickly in Capco than others who have been here a bit longer. One of the things that differentiates Capco from other firms is our commitment to accelerate progression on high performance and contribution rather than time served. Good people will progress more quickly in Capco than they will elsewhere. 3. We encourage all leaders in the business to be visible to their people and this would be something on which leaders in Capco are assessed. If there are concerns that our high standards are not being met in this regard, we encourage people to speak out or raise issues with other leaders. Generally our work patterns provide for regular meetings with your leaders and engagement at a Capco office rather than the client site. 4. Capco is a broader management consulting practice that offers a wide range of solutions and services to clients. Like most consulting firms some of our work will be on providing resource to supplement the clients on a particular project, but our strategy is to move from this activity to more value add propositions such as Cyber Security, Big Data and Digital. We are investing heavily in these areas in both recruitment and development. We are encouraging those with an interest in working in new projects and capabilities to let us know as barriers to mobility are low in Capco both in relation to capabilities and locations. 5. Capco is currently celebrating our 20th anniversary and we have held a number of birthday celebrations across the firm. To suggest that this and other social activities take precedent to client service and the development of progression of our people is not true. The success we are enjoying and our rapid growth is a testament to the fact that we are forensically focussed on exceeding the expectations of our clients, and providing our people with every opportunity to further their careers. However, we also appreciate that people will work together better if they have some time to have fun and engage with their colleagues outside work. 6. Rapid growth means that we must recruit in large numbers to satisfy the needs of our clients but I can reassure you that despite the increase in our workforce, there has been no slippage in the requirements in place to ensure we recruit and attract the right talent and potential. If we were to relax these standards it would quickly become apparent to our people and clients and have a negative impact on growth. This year the firm will again exceed the growth in our sector and competitors and this will be at least partly dependent on attracting, recruiting and developing the best talent.

    Continue reading
  8. "A "grad scheme" with a bit of a difference..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Associate Talent Programme (ATP) is not a "grad scheme" as such - it's not just open to graduates but offers an entry-level consulting job. This is what I found so interesting at the start, I joined not just with other graduates but people with all different backgrounds and experience! The short, sharp training that I began with offers me a good level of knowledge in the basics of consulting along with a comprehensive set of role plays which gave some life to the theory. The opportunities for quick career progression - it's a graduate scheme without the rigid confines of set milestones every year or two! Capco's culture - despite growing bigger and bigger, Capco had an entrepreneurial spirit about it and still has a "small firm" feel about it. Social events - there are several events every quarter which let's you network and meet people from all over the firm. Accessible Senior Management - over the year I've been here, I've met and spoke to many of the senior partners and leaders in the firm who are all extremely approachable and accessible at all the different events! Support network within the firm - the coaching system gives you access to leaders in the firm who support you with your career and general advice. Capco have a broad range of high-profile clients to work for, so I've ended up working with some of the largest Banks in the UK across different areas within Finance which has been really interesting. Capco has 28 offices around the world allowing opportunities for Global networking and job opportunities.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits offered aren't as broad as larger corporate firms (however this is somewhat made up for in the competitive graduate salary)

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-08-14

    Capco Response

    August 16, 2018HR

    Thanks for your great review and we're delighted to hear that you are enjoying your time as an Associate at Capco. As you mention our Associate Talent Program brings together talented individuals from a variety of backgrounds who are immersed in our structured training program and provided with career development opportunities from the start through ongoing learning, coaching and working on projects with senior leaders and clients. Our meritocratic culture and approach to career development means that employees at all levels are in control of their career and can progress quickly through the firm based on their performance without artificial barriers. Thanks for your continued contribution to Capco!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great firm with energy and momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Recently taken private again - Constant opportunities to impact the industry and voice your opinions at every level - Accelerated company growth, creating new opportunities for growth and development - Fresh and vibrant brand - Opportunities for promotion due to constant growth and internal opportunities - Very inclusive Senior Management and flat organisation - easy to gain exposure to all levels of management

    Cons

    -Not very easy to transfer globally -Some growth pains due to rapidly evolving organisation

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-08-07

    Capco Response

    August 16, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review and we're delighted to read that you enjoy working at Capco. Your review perfectly sums up many of the great things about our firm including the great career opportunities and inclusive culture. As you mention, rapid growth along with Capco's transition to independence have placed some short-term pressures on some of our internal processes, however the leadership team and functional leads are focused on making continuous enhancements to ensure that Capco is a great place to work for our employees. If you have any suggestions that you would like to share for improvements, please do so through one of the many internal channels available including Partners, HR, Coaches and Hubs. Thanks for your continued contribution to our firm.

    Continue reading
  10. "People focused company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working for Capco for 3 years and so far have had a great experience. The senior management team create a culture that is inclusive and supportive, and have maintained this even though the company is going through a huge growth spurt. Training is excellent and readily available. There is an active coaching community and the recognition process is fair and transparent. Projects I have worked on have been rewarding and value add to the clients.

    Cons

    As the company grows the existing performance management process is taking up a huge amount of resources and time to complete, and therefore needs to to be reviewed for streamlining where possible. I can already see improvements in this area however. Internal services such as technical support need to grow inline with the growth of the business in order to continue to adequately support.

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-08-06

    Capco Response

    August 7, 2018HR

    Thank you for your comments and it's great to hear your enthusiasm for Capco in your review. We agree that Capco is a very special place to work and offers lots of opportunities to develop a rewarding career. As you mention, the rapid growth of the firm coupled with the transition to independence has placed some short-term pressure on some of our internal functions including IT, but there is a continued focus on improving these evidenced by the introduction of new technology and a global service desk. A significant amount of time is invested in the performance management process to ensure that this is a robust and fair process, however your feedback is noted and will be shared with the team to see where it can be streamlined further. If you have any particular suggestions that you would like to share, please reach out to your local HR representative to discuss. Thanks for your continued contribution to the firm!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 77 reviews