Capco "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capco Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Capco CEO Lance Levy
Lance Levy
466 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Capco is a great place to work and even a better place to build a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work community. Excellent benefits. Work-life balance.

    Cons

    Capco is a client facing management consultancy so be ready to perform at all times. Senior consultant level and above can be on multiple projects over a course of a year. Smaller pay jumps for promotion than what you would get negotiating a salary at time of hire. Company needs to focus on pay retention and not pay to hire.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-12-30

    Capco Response

    February 7, 2020HR

    One of the things that positively differentiates Capco from other firms is our focus on recognising talent and accelerating progression. For this reason we do not apply a restrictive ‘time in grade’ barrier to promotions but look to advance people once they are meeting the expectations of the next grade. To ensure promotions are fair, however, we complement our focus on progression with country, region and firm-wide roundtables and reviews that ensure there is broad parity between the general speed and number of promotion in the different grades, in the different businesses and locations across the firm. We also have a facility for anyone not comfortable with the way their performance has been assessed to raise issues or questions on a rating or promotion. It is a testament to the quality of our performance assessment and roundtable process that this is rarely necessary.

    Continue reading
  2. "A++ clients, projects, Employees, leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work life balance - Office is excellent - Social events every week, great for meeting people across all business areas - Good selection of clients with great project opportunities - Talent is recognised - Opportunities within the business

    Cons

    - None to report as of yet

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-11-25
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Friendly and supportive colleagues - Interesting projects (not always) - Fair level of freedom to choose the project - Good work life balance (depending on the project)

    Cons

    - Lack of charismatic leaders, instead having numerous managers with unprofessional behaviours such as favouritism - Imbalance of experience among employees within the same level e.g. you find associates (graduates) who have got promoted to consultant level after a year and at the same time you find consultants with 7-10 years of experience. Therefore, you can see unqualified "managers" managing overqualified ones. This has led to many leaving the company. - High turnover of employees ( 20 out of 24 employees of my cohort left the company in less than 2 years) due to numerous reasons - Company has clearly started preparing books to be sold and the recent changes in the promotion process and forced rating is a clear sign. Politics plays a huge role in career progress in Capco and even the managers do not follow the framework they promote. The feedbacks are quite general with no clear example of development point and it is simply a tick the box activity - Company claim they welcome upward feedback but they have the habit to justify their actions and sugarcoat whatever is happening around. Finally Capco was a good company but it's not anymore so I only recommend it to graduates for the first 2 years of their career

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-09-20

    Capco Response

    September 25, 2019HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed and concerned to read your comments. At Capco, individuals are considered for promotion based on feedback from multiple stakeholders, evidence of sustained high performance and readiness for the higher grade level. ‘Roundtable’ meetings to compare performance of individuals against their peers, along with independent reviews of promotion cases by a different manager, ensure that decisions are based on merit, not politics or favouritism. Our commitment to career progression is evident in our twice-yearly promotion cycles, and we have a faster average rate of career progression than our competitors. This year, our promotion rates are the same as last year. A key part of our learning and development offering is training for managers, with specific courses on management, leadership and coaching. We also run 2-day ‘milestone schools’ for everyone promoted to the next level, which are designed to help individuals be as successful as possible at their new level. There’s always room for improvement of course, and we’re currently reviewing our L&D offering as part of our planning for 2020, to ensure it offers the best possible opportunities for people at all levels in Capco. We strongly encourage all employees to reach out to their HR Business Partner, Coach or another member of the leadership team if they require additional support or guidance around their career development.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Trying to compete with the big guys, but failing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you need a good work life balance. This is the place to work. Had the flexibility to work from home... a lot!

    Cons

    Business is trying to compete with the big consulting firms, yet the only way they win work is through undercutting consultant rates and doing “consulting” work that is in most cases just data entry. Data entry work is reframed and glorified as “consulting”. Don’t work here if you want to actually be challenged on a daily basis and learn and grow.

    Capco2019-07-17

    Capco Response

    July 18, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed a positive work life balance at our firm and Capco’s approach to flexible working. From a career development point of view, we have many examples of individuals who have built long-term careers at Capco and progressed quickly within the firm. This enables consultants, including at relatively junior levels, to undertake a variety of challenging roles. Is it always glamorous? No. But to position data analysis – and the insight it provides to clients – as data entry isn’t really doing justice to the value it provides. Capco’s size is often a key attraction for many people choosing to join as it allows employees to make a real impact and to shape their own career path. This includes choosing their area(s) of focus while specializing in the financial services sector.

    Continue reading
  5. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, a lot of opportunities, friendly culture

    Cons

    Ups and downs, long hours at times, no work life balance at times

    Capco2019-07-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good, the pay is fair and you have a lot of social events

    Cons

    It is sometimes hard to get something done form an internal 'community' perspective Politics to get promoted (although I think this is part of Management Consultancy in general)

    Capco2019-04-11
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance and pay, project work, culture

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, politics within the company to get promoted

    Capco2019-02-24
  8. Helpful (6)

    "In-house Recruitment Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Wider business and senior leaders are really engaged in recruitment and the value it adds to the business. Those hiring for teams are well versed in what is expected of them when it comes to interviewing and feedback time frames for example. Great opportunity to work with a variety of stakeholders and impact at a senior level. Some genuine nice people working in the organisation with many seeming happy to help and provide guidance.

    Cons

    Management of the recruitment team feels autocratic and communication from the top is poor. Work/Life balance needs addressing and has created a 'them and us' feeling within the wider team. Ability to work from home and flexibility tends to be down to seniority and/or depth of personal relationship. Lacks any degree of consistency. Communication style of management was often aggressive and lacked empathy. At times I was shocked at how team members were spoken to and treated.

    Continue reading
    Capco2019-01-24

    Capco Response

    February 4, 2019HR

    We are pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of working at Capco. We take all feedback seriously and while we don’t recognize all of the points that you raise, we would like to share examples of steps taken based on employee feedback to continually enhance the team environment. At the end of last year, we introduced bi-weekly sessions with the business to facilitate team learning. Team members select topics they would like to learn more about and invite members of the business to present on these. We also introduced flexible working for the team to enable everyone to manage their own time effectively. If a team member has concerns at any time, then we would encourage them to raise this in their weekly 1:1 meeting with their manager or with our UK HR Lead, Neil Hunsworth or Global HR Lead, David Heffernan. There are lots of internal channels for employees to share their ideas, concerns and feedback at Capco.

    Continue reading
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco full-time

    Pros

    Sympathetic leadership. Work life balance. Remuneration based on competition.

    Cons

    Roles are often not really consultancy rather filling BAU vacancies.

    Capco2018-12-17
  10. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capco

    Pros

    Opportunity and open to new ideas

    Cons

    Some challenging clients and work life balance

    Continue reading
    Capco2018-12-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 113 reviews