Capgemini "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capgemini Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Capgemini CEO Paul Hermelin
Paul Hermelin
332 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Fantastic company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think Capgemini is possibly one of the best employers I have ever worked for. They pay employees a very good salary, the benefits package is generous, and you get a work life balance that works for you. Capgemini offices are comfortable and appealing to work in. They also include a range of physical spaces that allow for privacy, collaboration, and simply hanging out. Your base location can also be changed,... and they assign you to the nearest location to your home. They give you clear and specific expectations for what success looks like in all job roles, they encourage collaboration, and networking is easy as everyone is very willing to assist you. They also treat employees as adults by giving them as much autonomy as possible to choose when they work, where they do their work, and how best to get it accomplished. Capgemini provide employees with ongoing opportunities and incentives to learn, develop and grow, both in establishing new job-specific hard skills, as well as softer skills that serve them well as individuals, and as managers and leaders. Their university is top-notch, and development is encouraged. I also feel that the senior leadership team make employees feel valued, and they are transparent with how they communicate with employees. Employee engagement is also taken very seriously, as is an employees wellbeing. I feel comfortable walking up and talking to any of our executives and knowing they will engage in meaningful conversation. Everyone here is so willing to help and contribute regardless of their title or rank, and they have a real dynamic hierarchy. There are a lot of very high quality people at Capgemini who genuinely care about what is best for their customers and company as a whole, and they will strive to do what is possible to achieve this. Capgemini also makes a conscious effort to make gender equality a reality throughout the company, and differences are valued and embraced.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of Capgemini's internal systems could do with an overhaul. It would make employees more productive and efficient.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to empower and value your people, and focus on the employees that show potential for being our future leaders.

    Capgemini2019-08-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worth getting out of bed for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I, like many people, just go to work because I get paid to. Now, the pay is very satisfactory here at Capgemini but I'd probably still come here if I didn't need the money. It's an excellent place to work, the culture of the company is one that I agree with and feel matches my own. I get on well with co-workers and have found plenty of nerds with similar interests. There have been lots of opportunities for... progression and professional development and I feel confident I could climb as high as I choose to here. The tech I get to use is impressive and exciting, along with the environment I work in. - Good Pay - Nice people - Positive Culture - Progression Opportunities - Fun toys

    Show More

    Cons

    My only complaint and the thing I'm finding challenging in my own career is finding a comfortable work/life balance where I'm not working late at the office. I have a young family so it's important for me to be at home for bedtimes, to support the kids and my partner. Unfortunately this is not something I've been able to agree on with my management and would require a move to a different part of the business to... resolve. I know that many areas of the business get a clean and clear 9-5 working pattern so this is definitely not the case for the whole company but is sadly the case for the part I work for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to choose to go home at 5 without it negatively impacting their career or properly incentivise late nights with "hour for hour" time in lieu or overtime payments. If that was resolved, I would happily work in this part of the company till retirement because I really do love it here!

    Capgemini2019-11-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance good ok

    Cons

    Job security of no project work

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people more

    Capgemini2019-11-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great for flexible working!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working - Capgemini have been very supportive over life events during my career - i've been able to go on Compassionate Leave, Maternity Leave, change my working hours to part time and then subsequently change my hours/days with ease. Fantastic show of Work/Life balance!

    Cons

    None in my current role

    Capgemini2019-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great company focused on its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy and Change Consultant in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Capgemini offers an extremely flexible work life. The company is concerned about the outputs you produce as an employee, not the time you spend in the office. It has allowed me to work to the best of my abilities whilst maintaining a good work-life balance. Capgemini is also committed to the development of its employees and will happily invest in their future. Although I have only been employed with this company for... a year straight out of university, I have already been able to achieve a professional qualification. This has made me feel valued within the company. Finally, Capgemini's culture is friendly, supportive and encouraging. There is always someone willing to give you a helping hand and you never feel as though you must work through something alone. This is true to both work and personal issues.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some inconsistencies with the way certain policies are reinforced within different teams, however, I know management are working on resolving this issue.

    Capgemini2019-09-30
  6. "Fake management who don't really care about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesforce Consultant in Woking, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capgemini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very good graduate programme to get you on boarded in to the world of work and consulting. If you are young and/or looking for your first consulting/technology job then this is a good place to go but you must keep it to 2 years maximum because you will be surrounded by similarly inexperienced people and will very quickly become saturated by them.

    Cons

    One of the things you are taught during your induction is how you are the product, and this is EXACTLY how you are perceived and treated by Capgemini. Not as a person, as a product to be sold for maximum profit. Young graduates are useful to Capgemini because there will be some real potential (and importantly, cheap) talent to be milked while they are still naive enough to believe Capgemini have their interests at... heart. This can be used to your advantage as long as you treat Capgemini with the same contempt and recognise when you have got what you need for your CV and then leave. Don’t expect to pick up a wealth of experience because you will be surrounded by similarly inexperienced people as yourself or people who have been at Capgemini for years and are not good enough to go it alone. If you are loyal to Capgemini they will pay you a fraction of the market rate for your work to maximise their bottom line. If you don’t brown nose, you will probably start to see people far less experienced than yourself getting promoted above you or given better pay packages as time goes on. If you are experienced and join Capgemini, expect to be parachuted in to every ‘problem’ account they can throw at you with little to no recognition for turning things around. They will want their pound of flesh for your higher salary and will not have any interest in your development or work/life balance. Women and minorities are particular targets when it comes to recruiting experienced people because they can also be used as trophies to virtue signal to potential clients, don’t be fooled by this - you are just the product, remember. They don’t care about you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your staff turnaround is far too high. You need to do far more to recognise the skills you have and retain people. Don't use them as expendable products and stop this facade about you being a company that looks after and develops its people because anyone who has worked for you for any length of time knows this claim is fake.

    Capgemini2019-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great organisation to grow and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a graduate at Capgemini and I really think the focus on career and development opportunities are great. There is an opportunity to find out what you want to do as you progress your career and lots of training opportunities and people to speak to who can help you grow. Everyone is friendly and willing to help, the work-life balance is good and also the flexible working approach is very good as gives me the... opportunity to work from wherever I want.

    Show More

    Cons

    When you are working on client site you can become siloed and feel isolated from the rest of your business unit.

    Capgemini2019-09-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent values, pushing towards inclusivity and flexibility. Learning and Development opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capgemini part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance: I requested flexibility around hours and remote working and my line manager does their very best to accommodate and support me in that. Training/learning and development: Capgemini is very keen to keep staff learning new technologies and it's common to go on training and to conferences. Volunteering opportunities and Active Inclusion - CG are very keen to recruit and retain a diverse... workforce and have sponsored such charities as Code Your future (refugee coding school) and have outreach programmes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being on the bench for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    When new starters go on the bench or if it's someone's first time on the bench, support from the outset - don't assume they know what it's like. Encourage staff to join groups and ask other areas if they can help out.

    Capgemini2019-09-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to grow professionally and develop your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Opportunities to grow. Autonomy.

    Cons

    Pay progression is slow and sometimes insufficient.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the payment strategy, as it is a key point for retaining and attracting talent.

    Capgemini2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Capgemini is the only employers I have ever worked for that I can say is the genuinely the best. They pay employees best salary in the market, the benefits package is attractive and generous. Work life balance is attractive too. Capgemini offices are comfortable and appealing to work in. Base location is allocated that may change, they assign you to the nearest client location to your home. They give you clear and... specific expectations for what success looks like in all job roles, they encourage collaboration, and networking is easy as everyone is very willing to assist you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Try to be more open with all employees, don't trust only the mid management.

    Advice to Management

    Give importance to young employee. Higher management should take feedback after project is finished. Don't rely only on mid management. soft Feedback is not enough.

    Capgemini2019-09-11
Found 1756 reviews