Capgemini "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capgemini Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Capgemini CEO and Director Paul Hermelin
Paul Hermelin
358 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Supportive company with opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues (both on a personal level, and also professionally - there are some really smart, innovative and forward thinking people here). Supportive culture. Loads of opportunities for learning and development. If you are proactive and have a clear idea of where you want your career to go, you will be given lots of opportunity to grow and flourish. Management care about work life balance and trust me to manage my workload and to split my time between home working and working from the office. Very supportive of staff during the current Covid-19 outbreak, with staff welfare driving a lot of decision making. Very inclusive culture.

    Cons

    Change can be slow, with bureaucracy and red tape. The company structure is complex, and different teams / business areas can feel siloed. The office in London / Holborn is too small for the number of employees based there - although there are imminent plans to expand. Outside of promotion years, pay rises can be small or non-existent. If you're not moving up through the company then you can see your real terms earnings going backwards.

    Continue reading
    Capgemini2020-03-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "What a place to start your journey as a graduate!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are really friendly people, as everyone is open to getting to know you, if you ask. It's got a great work-life balance. It's what you do out-of-work to make sure there's a balance, but the flexible hours allow you not limit yourself. There are several events throughout the year that get organised - increased chance to network. There's also great volunteering opportunities (where 2 days are obligatory - which I believe is a great initiative) and also opportunities to get involved in internal Capgemini challenges - fantastic in developing your skills and knowledge. Lastly, they fully sponsor all certifications open to you, not just unit-focused ones; helping progress your skills - ideal in setting you up for future moves.

    Cons

    Things don't just get handed to you. This isn't necessarily a con. It's more of a challenge for the individual. If you're not willing to find or ask about opportunities, nothing will really happen. Your career and journey is up to you. So, it's about what you do that drives it.

    Capgemini2020-02-18

    Capgemini Response

    February 18, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really proud of our graduate scheme and it's great to hear that you're enjoying it! You're right that things aren't always handed to you here. There are loads of opportunities for learning and development, but those opportunities will come your way more quickly if you are proactive about seeking them out and asking for them. Good luck with the rest of your graduate scheme!

    Continue reading
  3. "Solid, Progressive, Leading IT Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job Security Varied Opportunities Training Good Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Difficult to differentiate yourself Pace of change and innovation can be slow Not all roles have access to cutting edge technologies

    Continue reading
    Capgemini2020-02-12
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having been with Capgemini UK for nearly 12 years, it is one of the best places to work for. I have met some of the greatest minds and wonderful people here who are always willing to share their experience and support each other. Majority of us have good work life balance, and career progression. This is manifested in their decades at Capgemini from campus.

    Cons

    Being a top consulting company, the need for travel and work at client offices is inevitable; however this can a pleasure for those who enjoy a consultant's life

    Capgemini2020-01-24

    Capgemini Response

    January 30, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review and it's great to hear you're still enjoying it here after 12 years. Thanks also for calling out the fantastic career development opportunities on offer at Capgemini. You're right that some of your roles come with travel, and we recognise that this won't suit everyone, so that's something that people need to consider and weigh up before the join us.

    Continue reading
  5. "Excellent Experience as a Capegmini Degree Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Holmes Chapel, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My degree is paid for by the company. I get a competitive wage (25k+), much higher than anyone else my age! Very flexible-it does depend on what client you work for however I'm onto my third and I've never had problems getting time off when needed. Still get paid when you're between projects. I still have a year and a half left of my degree and once I'm finished I have a permanent role with the company. Lots of opportunities to travel, I have never worked in one place for over a year, been up and down the country. Great benefits for example can buy holiday days. Get all travel, accommodation and food paid for when working away and usually have work from home Fridays to encourage work life balance.

    Cons

    A little slow with my promotions-I'm about 6 month behind my peers through no fault of my own just due to not being on a project for first part of year. Sometimes takes a while to get moved onto projects so sit 'on the bench'. If you don't like travel this isn't the role for you, I thought i would be working out of Manchester however I've only been to the Manchester office twice since I started 3 1/2 years ago, you work on client site mainly. Usually stay away monday-thurs in the week while on client site.

    Capgemini2020-01-08

    Capgemini Response

    January 14, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you know, we hold our Degree Apprenticeship programme in really high regard and it's great to hear that you're enjoying being a part of it. You're right that many of our roles come with travel, and we appreciate that a travelling job doesn't suit everyone. Thanks also for calling out some of the flexible working options we try to offer where possible, to help our employees maintain a healthy work life balance.

    Continue reading
  6. "Poor management, bad pay, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good with 1-2 days/week working from home where client allows. Self-driven career supported - within the business silo.

    Cons

    Managers with poor people management skills and button pushing behaviour. Pay rises below inflation. Grading/prospects at the whim of management / favourites. Silo focus.

    Continue reading
    Capgemini2020-01-22

    Capgemini Response

    January 23, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and I’m please to hear that you’re enjoying a good work life balance and are seeing some good opportunities for self-driven career development. I’m sorry to hear some of the ‘Cons’ you’ve listed in your review though. It looks you’re a current employee – have you reached out to anyone to discuss your concerns? Your line manager or HR Business Partner should be willing to sit down and talk to you, or if you’d rather maintain your anonymity you can connect with our free 24 hour Employee Assistance Programme. Their contact details etc can be found on the company intranet. Our UK Recruitment Director, Neil Denton, is also aware of your review and concerns and would be very happy to have a chat with you if you feel comfortable reaching out to him. We’d love to hear more about your specific concerns so that we can try and improve things for you.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worth getting out of bed for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I, like many people, just go to work because I get paid to. Now, the pay is very satisfactory here at Capgemini but I'd probably still come here if I didn't need the money. It's an excellent place to work, the culture of the company is one that I agree with and feel matches my own. I get on well with co-workers and have found plenty of nerds with similar interests. There have been lots of opportunities for progression and professional development and I feel confident I could climb as high as I choose to here. The tech I get to use is impressive and exciting, along with the environment I work in. - Good Pay - Nice people - Positive Culture - Progression Opportunities - Fun toys

    Cons

    My only complaint and the thing I'm finding challenging in my own career is finding a comfortable work/life balance where I'm not working late at the office. I have a young family so it's important for me to be at home for bedtimes, to support the kids and my partner. Unfortunately this is not something I've been able to agree on with my management and would require a move to a different part of the business to resolve. I know that many areas of the business get a clean and clear 9-5 working pattern so this is definitely not the case for the whole company but is sadly the case for the part I work for.

    Continue reading
    Capgemini2019-11-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance good ok

    Cons

    Job security of no project work

    Continue reading
    Capgemini2019-11-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great for flexible working!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working - Capgemini have been very supportive over life events during my career - i've been able to go on Compassionate Leave, Maternity Leave, change my working hours to part time and then subsequently change my hours/days with ease. Fantastic show of Work/Life balance!

    Cons

    None in my current role

    Capgemini2019-10-16

    Capgemini Response

    October 18, 2019

    Thank you for posting a review, and for sharing your positive experience of flexible working at Capgemini

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great company focused on its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy and Change Consultant in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Capgemini full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Capgemini offers an extremely flexible work life. The company is concerned about the outputs you produce as an employee, not the time you spend in the office. It has allowed me to work to the best of my abilities whilst maintaining a good work-life balance. Capgemini is also committed to the development of its employees and will happily invest in their future. Although I have only been employed with this company for a year straight out of university, I have already been able to achieve a professional qualification. This has made me feel valued within the company. Finally, Capgemini's culture is friendly, supportive and encouraging. There is always someone willing to give you a helping hand and you never feel as though you must work through something alone. This is true to both work and personal issues.

    Cons

    There are some inconsistencies with the way certain policies are reinforced within different teams, however, I know management are working on resolving this issue.

    Capgemini2019-09-30
Found 1898 reviews