Capital One Manager Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
22 Ratings
  1. "I love my company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They look after you and I thankful to you.

    Cons

    They are so good no need for changed.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-03-27
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Political."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Energetic, interesting initiatives from the US parent.

    Cons

    Highly political in most areas. If your face fits then you are okay. Most senior staff are busy telling themselves they are much better than they actually are.....

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-12-11

    Capital One Response

    December 12, 2019Talent Marketing Partner

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of your comments, both positive and constructive.

  3. "Been there over 17 years and still think it's great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting role. Great culture and people. Good salary

    Cons

    Always too much work and our processes can slow us down.

    Capital One2019-09-08

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your review, it's great to read all of your comments.

  4. "Excellent place to work all good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and benefits

    Cons

    Corporate culture from United States parent

    Capital One2019-09-06

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

  5. "2 months in ans loving it."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Line Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great values and they treat both customers and staff great

    Cons

    Csnt think of any cons right now

    Capital One2019-08-06

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Really pleased you're loving it! Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, location, the work itself

    Cons

    Insular, not too well connected to the industry

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-06-18

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review, it's really great to hear your comments and appreciate your advice.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - just make sure you fit in"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great informal atmosphere High standard of people Great buildings

    Cons

    Just make sure you fit in with the culture and be nice, it's not an abrasive atmosphere and people can take offence to very minor things

    Capital One2019-05-14

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

  8. "Great Benefits and Work Life Balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff benefits, nice office, lots of fun activities to keep employees engaged

    Cons

    Great benefits mean staff are retained and this can limit opportunities to progress to a more senior level

    Capital One2018-11-03
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent career opportunities and ability to shape career, with possible movement across teams and different job roles Strong company values and mission Great coworkers, with fun atmosphere A lot of responsibility across job levels Amazing London office

    Cons

    Work/life balance overall is good, but at times it's unbalanced with work being too busy

    Capital One2018-11-02
  10. "The best place to work in Nottingham"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Programmer Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, projects, technology, workplace, restaurant and work life balance. Friendly, collaborative people. High aspirations. Exciting initiatives. Some departments promote staff rapidly e.g. Marketing, Software Engineering The CEO, Rich Fairbank, is genuinely inspirational. He talks to the company every year, at length, about his vision and strategy, and while this can go on a bit it is ultimately worthwhile that we share in the knowledge of where we are going and why.

    Cons

    Capital One UK is only a very small part of Capital One Financial and can sometimes get left behind. There is a reticence to enter new markets e.g. loans, banking, etc. C1 UK is stuck as a mono-line credit card business. Some departments can be very slow to promote internally, e.g. Operations, Tech Ops. A lot of attrition in some departments e.g. Software Engineering.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2018-08-29

    Capital One Response

    September 4, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Wow! Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your views on life at Capital One.

Found 908 reviews