Capital One Project Manager Reviews

Updated 17 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
0 Rating
  1. "Great company, but can become a bit suffocating. And a young company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One

    Pros

    A lot of oppotunities and a young feeling company. I got to work in France, USA and Madrid in my role. Some peopel there are very good and there is a collective energy in the office which makes working there a pleasure. There is a lot of fun in the office with a fun budget where every quarter you get a day out paid for by the company (bowling / meal / day out doing something etc)

    Cons

    Obsessed by soft skills, sometimes forgetting about the core work itelsf. Also some management were promoted, put in management of people positions who were very poor people skills.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2008-08-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A bit cut throat at year end time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely offices, good benefits, (esp pension), gym, technology

    Cons

    Horrible performance management (and some managers) Cliques (a lot have since gone though) No parking Long termers immune to performance management process (how some survived year after year was a mystery)

    Continue reading
    Capital One2018-01-09
  3. "Great Company, Great Culture, Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    Great Company, Great Culture, Great People

    Cons

    Company over index on leadership

    Capital One2020-04-17
  4. "Great Company, Culture, and Lives the Value"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company restructured and was laid off but provided the best exit strategy for the employee they could offer. I wish I could of stayed but was thankful for the time spent. Benefits were Great while there

    Cons

    Low Pay and extremely difficult to get promoted.

    Capital One2020-03-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a great company, just depends on what LOB you work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits, HQ campus is amazing

    Cons

    Not as easy to switch role as an internal associate as they claim. As well as not being as diverse as they say to be and have some horrible managers.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-02-27
  6. "Would Recommend"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, culture, benefits, flexibility the list goes on

    Cons

    Lack of promotion opportunities, primary focus is on acquiring top youthful talent vs retain current talent

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-28
  7. Helpful (6)

    "A company built on “rank and yank”"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries. Benefits. Mostly great people. Generous perks.

    Cons

    Performance management system is the center of work life. The system is subjective and essentially rewards “suck ups”. Many people in leadership positions who are not qualified to lead or manage. Executives have different rules than the rest of the company. Think what banking would be like if consultants ran the show. You are also fighting others to get the last 10 to 20 percent of your salary. In general a the performance management system does not foster cooperation or innovation because everyone is trying to beat out their peers.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-01-12
  8. "Work life balance keeps me happy!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Allows me to be with my family and grow my career.

    Cons

    Annual review process is horrible

    Capital One2019-11-05
  9. "Relatively new to the company and industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, awesome corporate culture, technology focused, diverse perspectives are valued and employees are treated with dignity and respect

    Cons

    Frequent organizational restructuring creates potential project delays

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-10-29
  10. "Amazing Company to Work and Develop Professionally and Personally"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Project Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and opportunities to hone your skills and develop new ones.

    Cons

    It is a positive experience for me.

    Capital One2019-09-08
Found 96 reviews