Capital One Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capital One Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Capital One CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
83 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Unfair managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Complaints Coordinator in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - compared to other companies, culture is laid back and you can dress casually - the company make you feel appreciated they reward staff with small treats to say thank you, which is a nice touch. - open plan so senior managers are accessible

    Cons

    - low salary 16.5k per year for coordinators - perfomance management could be better. I do not understand how you can compare performance for all people at the same level right across the department when people do extremely different things? It makes sense if everyone is doing the same thing. It's really not a reflection of someone's perfomance. - management have a relaxed approach to bullying. I have seen the victims...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - please review perfomance management - take a stronger stance on bullying.

    Capital One2019-04-07

    Capital One Response

    April 11, 2019Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all of your comments, both positive and constructive. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please email us at ukrecruitment@capitalone.com

  2. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work culture - Salary - Career Progression - Benefits

    Cons

    - Lack of on site car parking

    Capital One2019-03-26

    Capital One Response

    April 11, 2019Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Complaint Handler in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and facilities such as free gym

    Cons

    Really political when it comes to performance management.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication

    Capital One2019-02-24
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, Flexible working, Office environment is great.

    Cons

    Very competitive. Performance Management/end of year reviews can be stressful.

    Capital One2019-01-30
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great progression, good work life ballance

    Cons

    no cons at capital one

    Capital One2019-01-15
  6. "Capital One"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaging team & Responsive hiring managers Flexible working Great location

    Cons

    Nothing has come up so far

    Capital One2019-01-15
  7. "designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - County (Optional) in Huyton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It was very hard work but the team were fantastic and it felt like we were all working to one goal

    Cons

    there could be a lot of anti-social hours

    Capital One2018-11-28
  8. "Great Benefits and Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff benefits, nice office, lots of fun activities to keep employees engaged

    Cons

    Great benefits mean staff are retained and this can limit opportunities to progress to a more senior level

    Capital One2018-11-03
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent career opportunities and ability to shape career, with possible movement across teams and different job roles Strong company values and mission Great coworkers, with fun atmosphere A lot of responsibility across job levels Amazing London office

    Cons

    Work/life balance overall is good, but at times it's unbalanced with work being too busy

    Capital One2018-11-02
  10. "mint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in York, England

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    mint buzz to work there

    Cons

    couldn't think of any at all

    Advice to Management

    do better and pay more

    Capital One2018-10-23
Found 112 reviews