Capital One Reviews in Richmond, VA | Glassdoor.co.uk

Capital One Richmond Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 904 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
  1. "It's a constant rollercoaster. Always trying new things and then moving on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Associate in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great campus, compensation, lots of volunteer events and travel

    Cons

    Cult like mindset. Management is very far removed from what is actually going on. Upper management doesn't listen to frustrating issues.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees! Especially your top performing ones. You are destroying the cap one culture.

    Capital One2019-06-14
  2. "Great work life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule. Great culture. Amazing offices. Great pay.

    Cons

    Being a contractor and having transparency in your performance

    Capital One2019-06-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Golden Handcuffs are real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Software Engineer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits, GREAT insurance and work life balance for developers

    Cons

    Little bit behind the times on tech stack, but growing. The company as a whole doesnt have a lot of growth opportunities for front-end developers

    Capital One2019-06-06
  4. "Great place if you have a passion for learning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Associate in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company constantly reinvests in its people. Positive culture. Competitive compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    I do not have any.

    Capital One2019-06-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexibility, benefits, campus services, exec leadership,

    Cons

    rewards show horses, not work horses

    Advice to Management

    diversity at exec leadership

    Capital One2019-05-21
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very much so an employee first company.

    Cons

    Can be a bit political at times but that is to be expected in a corporate environment.

    Advice to Management

    Revisit recruitment process. Contractors which convert to associates really get zero benefit for "time served". A contractor could work for 2 years in a role and would still have to go through the recruitment process as if they were an external candidate...even if the position/work is identical to the full time position they are converting into.

    Capital One2019-05-23
  7. "Maybe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Richmond, VA

      I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Learning, training, networking, outreach

      Cons

      Work life balance, lack of advancement opportunities

      Capital One2019-06-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not a great place for HR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good work-life balance because the work is not demanding.

      Cons

      The culture is not a meritocracy. A lot of people have been working in HR at the company for 18 or more years. So you have to be a part of that clique or really kiss up to managers to get ahead.

      Capital One2019-05-28
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Brand Advertising Manager in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Capital One

      Pros

      Great place to work!

      Cons

      I have no complaints about Capital One.

      Capital One2019-05-13
    • "Cool Company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Coordinator in Richmond, VA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits and flexible schedule (for me, some dept. are not)

      Cons

      Company is great, the work is not very exciting (for me)

      Capital One2019-05-13
    Found 904 reviews