Find jobs for Senior Manager

Capital One Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 1 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
4 Ratings
  1. "Been there over 17 years and still think it's great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting role. Great culture and people. Good salary

    Cons

    Always too much work and our processes can slow us down.

    Capital One2019-09-08

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your review, it's great to read all of your comments.

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, people, location, the work itself

    Cons

    Insular, not too well connected to the industry

    Continue reading
    Capital One2019-06-18

    Capital One Response

    September 30, 2019Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review, it's really great to hear your comments and appreciate your advice.

  3. "The best place to work in Nottingham"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Programmer Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, projects, technology, workplace, restaurant and work life balance. Friendly, collaborative people. High aspirations. Exciting initiatives. Some departments promote staff rapidly e.g. Marketing, Software Engineering The CEO, Rich Fairbank, is genuinely inspirational. He talks to the company every year, at length, about his vision and strategy, and while this can go on a bit it is ultimately worthwhile that we share in the knowledge of where we are going and why.

    Cons

    Capital One UK is only a very small part of Capital One Financial and can sometimes get left behind. There is a reticence to enter new markets e.g. loans, banking, etc. C1 UK is stuck as a mono-line credit card business. Some departments can be very slow to promote internally, e.g. Operations, Tech Ops. A lot of attrition in some departments e.g. Software Engineering.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2018-08-29

    Capital One Response

    September 4, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Wow! Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your views on life at Capital One.

  4. "A great place to learn and grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The cloud journey is new to a lot of people within Capital One which gives everyone a real opportunity to influence the direction of the company and the services being developed. This also leads into an environment in which personal learning and growth are positively encouraged, meaning there is a constant expectation that not only should you be growing as a Capital One employee, but as a individual as well. The offices are great, London especially is a brand new custom designed office, though the diagonal desk move in Nottingham take a bit of getting used to. Nottingham also provides a free gym and subsidised cafeteria and the food isn't half bad! There is a real diversity of people within the office, some of who are experts in cloud technologies, some are experts in platform specific development etc. which leads to a good collection of people working towards a common goal without a prescribed approach.

    Cons

    There does seems to be a clash between the Capital One culture in (old) Nottingham and the culture developing in (new) London. This does seem to be seeping into Nottingham slightly, which is showing itself in how things like performance reviews and progression are being managed. The vast majority of the Software Engineering senior management team (Director level) are in London where-as the majority of the Software Engineers are in Nottingham, again leading to a split in how some teams are managed and developed.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2017-10-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Boring and slow."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - nice gym and great employee benefits - general team work and pleasant people

    Cons

    - pretends it's a Fintech when it's just a credit card lender, and just subprime cards at that - not challenging the market in any way - institutionalised long serving management, running a really too heavy business - staff should question whether they feel proud about their nice fun days and team drinks being paid for by customers who have to borrow money at 39%. I'm sure they're not having such a good time!

    Continue reading
    Capital One2017-10-30
  6. "Awesome company to start your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Really smart and capable people - Really nice people who generally want others to succeed - Good benefits - Good hr practices, treating people like responsible adults

    Cons

    - Good chance that you go from smartest in the room to dumbest in the room - Cliquey and you need to have a sponsor from senior management to move up - Generally an up or out mentality without it being official policy - Disparity in recognition and compensation across job families - Bit of a schizophrenic organisation as it tries to become a tech company and now everyone wants to become a product manager

    Capital One2020-04-21

    Capital One Response

    May 15, 2020Talent Brand and Marketing Lead

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are always looking for areas to improve - it's an important part of our culture - and your feedback will help us know where to focus.

  7. "Good work life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and compensation

    Cons

    Constant reoorg and too much red tape

    Capital One2020-05-01
  8. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Culture -Work life balance -Smart and fun coworkers -Pay and benefits

    Cons

    -None, only left because there is no corporate office where I want to live

    Capital One2020-04-16
  9. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, smart people, growth potential

    Cons

    Federal regulations make innovation hard

    Capital One2020-03-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best people Technology heavy Learning curve 100% AWS Cloud adoption

    Cons

    Can be chaotic at times due to the speed of delivery and amount of learning needed in a short period of time

    Capital One2020-03-18
Found 270 reviews