Capital One Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Capital One Founder, Chairman & CEO Richard D. Fairbank
Richard D. Fairbank
2 Ratings
  1. "Good company, great benefits!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that will look after you and listens to all its people

    Cons

    Process can feel very slow and frustrating however this is because of the highly regulated financial industry it is in.

    Capital One2017-10-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing work with even better people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An amazing environment that shows a great balance between excellence and delivery. You learn so much especially as a Graduate and you get the best support possible to help you progress your career. You will work on life-changing projects and get the opportunity to really make your mark in the financial industry.

    Cons

    Flexible working hours make me lazier. Too close to good pubs.

    Capital One2017-10-12
  3. "pretty good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Capital One full-time

    Pros

    good work-life balance and office location

    Cons

    salary is not high and work planning and arrangement is not good

    Capital One2020-05-05

    Capital One Response

    May 15, 2020Talent Brand and Marketing Lead

    Thank you for the great feedback! We are so happy to hear that you value the work-life balance. We're always looking for ways to improve and your response helps us head in the right direction.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and smart people

    Cons

    Not the most interesting work

    Capital One2020-04-20
  5. "Mixed Bag YMMV Depending on team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly technical Projects Great Product team especially at executive level

    Cons

    Poor mid level management lacking vision Some teams just slack for years

    Capital One2020-04-04
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Saying you're a tech company doesn't make you one"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bikes in silly colors, great cafeterias, competitive (not extravagant) pay, as much Kool-Aid as you can possibly chug

    Cons

    The performance management system is like something out of the Middle Ages, based on a forced distribution at the team level---meaning if you have four people on your team, one of you is going to get a bad rating. This does wonderful things for team cohesion and makes people optimize for very strange things. If you are a software developer, expect to get stuck in an on-call rotation at least once a month and doing a LOT of devops work even if you weren't hired as a devops engineer. Toward the end of my time there, 90% of the work my team did was related to scrambling to comply with some new enterprise-wide mandate (fix X, switch to using Y, etc.). In the end we had almost no time left to build our product. The product owners and tech leads are really out of touch; a lot of them have no technical background. Also, the decision to abolish assigned seating and move to "everyone scramble for a seat every day" (excuse me... "Flex Seating"! Yay!) is a horrible decision. It makes the day so stressful to never have any idea whether you will be able to find a decent seat or not, and yet despite the overcrowding many teams do not allow for regular remote work.

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-02-28
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away if you're talented"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, great wlb, good benefits, decent salary, nice offices

    Cons

    Clueless executives, bad management, cutting benefits, shareholders over employees, hires entry level talent, stack rankings, values talkers over performers, hush hush secrecy, doesn't reward excellent performance

    Continue reading
    Capital One2020-03-03
  8. "Developer"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Place To Work, freindly and good perks

    Cons

    Sometimes too Agile and driven by Product instead of allowing Tech to drive what nees to be done so lots of tech debt

    Capital One2020-01-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Trying to compete with Google for Tech resources but losing the best parts of company culture."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Capital One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Bright people. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on moving up or moving out.

    Capital One2019-12-03
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Don't believe the diversity hype"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Capital One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work on AWS. Good Work Life Balance.

    Cons

    Hiring under represented minorities is just a numbers game to management. They are just trying to meet their quotas so they can get their bonuses and keep their jobs. They don't do anything to foster an environment of encouragement and teamwork. It is a toxic culture of brogrammers who are only interested in self-promotion instead of elevating and helping others on the team. They will criticize you behind your back if you make a mistake instead of trying to help and teach. Management does nothing to fix this and encourages it by always promoting those who speak the loudest.

    Capital One2019-11-27
Found 91 reviews