Capital One Washington, DC Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,337 of over 10K reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Work

    17 Jun 2021 - Finance Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are great, hours are good in FP&A, company values me

    Cons

    Can sometimes feel like less than a meritocracy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place to Work

    2 Jun 2021 - Business Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the Capital One work environment before leaving for business school. The company emphasizes collaboration, allowing everyone to speak their minds, and assuming positive intent in your coworkers so that you all feel like you’re working together towards common goals. Additionally, the Business Analyst and Business Manager roles are very quant-focused in a way that allowed me to grow in the rigor of my data analyses. Finally, managers are encouraged to regularly ask how you want to grow, so there are frequent opportunities to shift your job functions to better fit your goals and desires.

    Cons

    I didn’t experience many downsides at Capital One. The reason I left was because I wanted to shift into a different industry from finance, but I would have stayed if I wanted to remain in that industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Incredible culture, amazing place to work, aspirational vision

    13 Jun 2021 - Vice President of Innovation in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Capital One was a phenomenal place to work; the leadership team is hands down one of the very best at Strategy so the company is not afraid of prioritizing hard problems that matter. The only old line company to fully transition into the cloud the company is customer centered and obsessed with heading in the right direction.

    Cons

    A complex regulatory environment does add some friction to the day to day processes; however a culture that assumes positive intent, is forward thinking, and consensus driven help teams to make progress.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    15 Jun 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very nice environment - Great benefits - Employer values employees opinions and overall satisfaction

    Cons

    - Your experience will vary depending on the team you land on. I've heard mostly great positive things from others. - This probably applies to the whole industry - Managers sometimes are not always great leaders. Not that they are bad and will make you have a bad experience, but will not make you grow to full potential necessarily.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    16 Jun 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, lots of opportunity, great tech, great culture.

    Cons

    Work can be uninteresting depending on the team you’re on.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Incredibly Stable

    14 Feb 2021 - TDP Associate Software Developer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredibly stable place to work, things just hum along. Contribute to your projects and enjoy a good work life balance when you do so. Good pay for the area. Fairly modern stack, really just leans on AWS for the most part

    Cons

    We keep trying to internally build tools internally that AWS offers (or maybe they offer 6 months after we start work), that are poorly documented and honestly just don't work as well. We are a bank so there are definitely important places to pump the breaks and optimize for security and stability, but sometimes I think we build stuff in places that aren't in the interest of either of those things.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great career-starter

    11 Jun 2021 - Business Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Heavy investment in the development of new associates - Mostly challenging, yet interesting and engaging work - Smart/helpful co-workers - Company cares about you outside of your production

    Cons

    - Inconsistency among teams/roles in terms of the work you do and how challenging it is - Can be heavily political and competitive, especially in the promotion/performance management process

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, just drink the Kool-aid and don't expect a promotion within 5 years

    23 Apr 2021 - Principal Associate, Cyber Analysis in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing benefits (401k match, employee stock purchase plan w/partial matching, good medical/vision/dental, EAP, disability, FSA w/partial matching). People are generally nice and hard-working (read: very few a-holes or do-nothings).

    Cons

    This is a "culture first" place. Granted, the culture, on its face, sounds fantastic. Unfortunately, it's a veneer. If you dig at all, you'll find that employees aren't as valued as they tell you. Performance management is awful; it is 100% a popularity contest and getting promoted is next to impossible (5-year average). Come in at manager-level or above. DO NOT GET A JOB AS AN ASSOCIATE; YOU WILL STAY AN ASSOCIATE UNTIL YOU JUMP COMPANIES.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Big Tech Culture, Cleary best among the banks

    29 May 2021 - Senior Associate in Mc Lean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Really great benefits(401k, health insurance, espp) . Company cares for its Employees 2. Good team work culture. Very uplifting and harmonious. Generally good engineers across teams. 3. Probably the best Technology among the US banks. Has growth potential in the future. 4. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Still new at the company. Will update as i find out. Not sure how the future growth opportunity will look like.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.temporary-former

    Positive

    15 Jun 2021 - Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creating a glass for account for interview

    Cons

    Very interesting knowledgeable little lengthy but understanding

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,337 Reviews

Popular Careers with Capital One Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Capital One? Share Your Experiences

Capital One logo
or