CarShop UK Reviews

Updated 2 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
CarShop UK CEO Nigel Hurley
Nigel Hurley
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "All round great company to work for :)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great team ethic and emphasis on one team(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is long hours but I do feel the rewards are competitive(in 23 reviews)

  • "The only con would be working every weekend if you work in the sales dept, a Sunday off would go a long way(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great Development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Operations Manager in Nottingham, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Once I finished university I didn’t really know what to do, CarShop recognised my potential and helped develop my skill set further. I worked my way through numerous different positions to get to the role I am in today. Carshop is very big on promoting internally and that’s why I cannot see myself working for another company. We have great leaders, which filters down throughout the company.

    Cons

    None at this time .

  2. "No Regrets"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Experience Manager in Nottingham, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    After working for a big electrical retailer for the past 20 years I was so apprehensive about moving into the car trade. My concerns soon turned to excitement when I started at CarShop. I have been made to feel part of the family and that's exactly what CarShop are about, colleagues and customers. I have been supported all through my probation and would encourage all potential employees to take the plunge. CarShop encourage growth and promote from within as well as externally. I have been lucky to be part of a new store opening and have witnessed the journey all our new starers have gone through. CarShop really do care and that's something that is rare in many employers these days. I would and will happily recommend CarShop as a great employer.

    Cons

    Chocolate Friday's are no good when your on a diet :)

    Continue reading

    CarShop UK Response

    April 30, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your amazing feedback!


  3. "Exciting times, great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contact Centre Manager in Doncaster, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The business has transitioned over the years to be a people and customer centric business which has helped massively. Culture is fantastic. We want the best from each other for the best possible outcomes for our customers. Great things are happening. A Global Brand, CarShop UK soon to have more stores. Exciting times ahead. Crazy to think when I started we had 4 UK stores. You know exactly what is happening in the business with regular updates from the CEO. The Contact Centre is of course is the best department to work in. Great, buzzing, high performing team. 🦾

    Cons

    There is none from my perspective.

    Continue reading

    CarShop UK Response

    April 19, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback.

  4. "RCCC - Great career opportunities, amazing colleagues and a forward thinking approach!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Manager in Doncaster, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    CarShop has committed to and is delivering upon its mission to create a world class colleague and customer experience. The leadership team are dedicated to providing a supportive working environment where colleagues are enabled to be successful and to learn and develop. Excellent opportunities for progression and the growth plans for the business make it an exciting place to work and give a real sense of belonging and achievement. Generous bonus structure so that looking after our customers, hard work and treating customers fairly is rewarded. Lots of benefits and rewards available.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything - its hard work and challenging at times but targets are achievable and its great for anyone with a strong work ethic, the ability to remain positive and the determination to succeed!

    CarShop UK Response

    April 16, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback!

  5. COVID-19

    "A company that truly cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in Northampton, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined CarShop just before the start of the original COVID-19 Lockdown in February, but onto that later. Pros: Truly immersive introduction to the company - the introduction day at ou Leighton Buzzard prep centre was brilliantly delivered by Rob Pardon and the training team. Journey course was engaging and interesting with the right amount of learning and pressure to make people be successful. Visiting the different stores all around the country and being welcomed by everyone in the warmest possible way. Structured targets and expectations for the first few weeks. Brilliant real-time feedback with no avoiding difficult conversations and allowing a response. Great team ethic and emphasis on one team. Very forward-thinking and open to new ideas, processes and technology. During the COVID-19 pandemic, staff were constantly told what was going on and put on furlough. During that period there was constant reassurance and updates from every member of the senior management.

    Cons

    Some systems are a little out of date and frustrating to work with. Communication between teams and stores could be a little better at times as things are sometimes missed which causes some issues. Hours in the stores are long and tough but that is part of the job and the stores have a work hard, play hard attitude and reward hard work. Benefits are fairly standard and there is nothing that stands out - this is literally clutching at straws to find a con though.

    Continue reading

    CarShop UK Response

    January 13, 2021People Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback!

  6. "Amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Experience Manager in Sheffield, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere due to great people who support and help you when needed.

    Cons

    no cons at this time.

    Continue reading

    CarShop UK Response

    April 30, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your amazing feedback!

  7. COVID-19

    "Absolute shambles"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMART Repairer in Leighton Buzzard, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CarShop UK full-time

    Pros

    To be honest nothing really. Maybe the 4 days off I used to get when I used work there.

    Cons

    What I find really interesting is on Glassdoor the reviews are conflicting with the reviews left on indeed. It seem as if the reviews left on Glassdoor are those of which employees are working at the stores. There are not many reviews that talk about working at the prep centre. The reason I left is there are too many big egos running a prep centre with little to no clue about cars. The management have a mindset where they “know it all”. There is no such thing as communication between floorstaff and management. There is zero progression within the company and only those can progress who become puppets under the managers who pull the strings. To make things worse Carshop have handled working through pandemic extremely poorly. No real social distancing. No washing of hands. No care given about devastating covid is having. It’s profit over health. Managers don’t even follow the covid protocols. Managers are not leaders they are dictators. Pay is extremely painful for the amount of work that is expected. In my time working for the company I never ever felt appreciated and never did any one say thank you for helping the company develop. If you speak up for rights etc you are seen as a trouble maker but if you have a “yes boss” mentality you will be the hero of the day. Another issue that I came across is for 12 hour shift we only had 1 hour break which is not enough. The dust and dirt is another big issue.

    Continue reading

    CarShop UK Response

    January 22, 2021People Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am obviously extremely disappointed that this was your experience at CarShop as this is not in line with our standards. Please feel free to contact me on fiona.cottle@carshop.co.uk if you would like to provide any further details. Thank you.

  8. "Simply the Best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Business in Doncaster, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working / Life Balance Work Culture Customer Service Work Benefits People Work Environment Salaries

    Cons

    There are no cons what so ever

    Continue reading

    CarShop UK Response

    April 19, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback!

  9. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Manager in Doncaster, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time

    Pros

    Great team within Doncaster who really goes the extra mile for colleagues and customers

    Cons

    The stores across group are brilliant however Doncaster could do with a refurb

    CarShop UK Response

    April 19, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback!

  10. "My best move"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Doncaster, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CarShop UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I feel very fortunate to be a part of the Carshop team. A great business to work for.

    Cons

    I dont have any negative comments to make

    CarShop UK Response

    April 17, 2021People Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for your fantastic feedback.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 251 Reviews

Popular Careers with CarShop UK Job Seekers

Head of Business
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at CarShop UK? Share Your Experiences

CarShop UK logo
or