Care UK Care Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Care UK Care Assistant Reviews

Updated 6 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
6 Ratings
  1. "Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Cobham, Surrey, South East England, England

    I have been working at Care UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is a exellent place to work every one is caring ppl are understandind and home manager has a good sense of humour

    Cons

    There can be long hours

    Advice to Management

    You may need to push yourself but if you show prospect it is better

    Care UK2018-09-20
  2. "Very Happy!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working with people who care about you and how you are feeling, they really look after you on your suite. I came here after a long time at my pervious job and I have never been happier. I love it here!

    Cons

    The shifts are long and sometimes hard.

    Care UK2019-03-06

    Care UK Response

    March 13, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for you 4 star review. We are delighted to hear that you are happy in your new role with us. It’s encouraging to see that colleagues in your home support one another; it just goes to show that teamwork really does play a huge part in what we do. We offer flexible hours ...

    Show More
  3. "Work at Care UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making a difference in elderly peoples lives. Working as a team. Some Unity amongst colleagues. The opportunities to do an Apprenticeship.

    Cons

    Shortage of staff. High staff overturn.

    Advice to Management

    Employ more valued staff with the right qualities. Provide more incentives for current staff. Increase Carers wages to reflect the work we do. Provide Long service awards for staff working less than 5 years e.g. for every year of service. Improve communication between Management and Carers. Often is the case that information is not passed down the chain of command.

    Care UK2019-03-06

    Care UK Response

    March 25, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. It’s great to hear that you champion our values – Caring, Passionate & Teamwork. We take great pride in making a difference by supporting over 7000 older people to live happy, healthy and fulfilling lives. It’s important ...

    Show More
  4. "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Care Assistant in Paddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of Trainings to make you prepared for job.

    Cons

    None supportive management, very bullies, too much staff turned over, continuously staff shortage and no time to take breaks that putting too mach pressure on care staff making them to leave the job. If you raise an issue with management they tell you if you are not happy you can leave.

    Advice to Management

    Management to show empathy, listen to care staff and put themselves in carers shoes to realise how is to work 12 hours shifts standing up and doing a lot of moving and handling especially when you are short of staff and not even able to take breaks.

    Care UK2018-09-03
  5. "Care Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Stratford-upon-Avon, England

    I worked at Care UK (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Beautiful care home, very good conditions for residents.

    Cons

    Former manager - apparently does not work there anymore

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Care UK2018-07-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Okay for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good spirited group of staff,great experience and is good to feel like your making a difference to people’s lives

    Cons

    Long hours, low income, hard work, poor management Not enough staff

    Advice to Management

    Take on board what staff tells you, appreciate employees, respect our wishes

    Care UK2018-01-14
  7. "Senior care assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Care Assistant in Whitton, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK for more than 10 years

    Pros

    very welcoming staff, and training is always on the forefront

    Cons

    Money is crap, and promotions not transparent, left in the dark for NVQs. Very disappointed, others are promoted and others are left behind

    Advice to Management

    Please advertise any posts within the homes.

    Care UK2017-05-26
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Bury St Edmunds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Care UK

    Pros

    Lovely residents and care staff, bad management, unfairly treating care staff. I would never recommend care uk because I have been treated so badly and been left without a job.

    Cons

    Poor management. Rude management. No care for the residents or the staff, Just an awful place to work.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep your staff, think about how you treat them and make them feel worthless, unappreciated. I have had an awful experience working for care uk. I will never be able to trust your company again and would never ever recommended anybody within your company.

    Care UK2017-03-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, however manager did not reflect the set standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Care UK

    Pros

    Yearly salary increase. Well organised. Staff benefits.

    Cons

    Salary is lower than other companies.

    Advice to Management

    The new manager that we had was driving staff away. Very dismissive, patronising and did not seem to consider staff.

    Care UK2016-12-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK

    Pros

    Care UK provide goo maternity support. The actual work itself is alot of fun, loved working with my residents.

    Cons

    Want blood out of a stone for poor pay, they have very poor training and turn a blind eye to things they should;t

    Advice to Management

    Support people they report things, and increase pay, train staff better

    Care UK2016-11-20
Found 15 reviews