Care UK Care Worker Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Care UK Care Worker Reviews

Updated 29 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
94%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
4 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Home-visiting Care Worker in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK

    Pros

    Great people, very supportive and friendly. Training was great

    Cons

    Schedule took a while to get used to after not working for a year but settled in now

    Care UK2015-10-05
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Worker in Sutton, East Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and permanent contracts

    Cons

    Very few promotion opportunities and benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff more.

    Care UK2019-05-29
  3. "care worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Care Worker in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    okay because you can choose days that you can work

    Cons

    short staffed most time during the night shift

    Advice to Management

    employ more permanent staff for the night shift

    Care UK2018-10-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Bad Management/Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Support Worker in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, meet interesting people, rewarding work caring for elderly

    Cons

    Tragic management/organization, poor pay for the amount of hours worked (I worked a 15 hour shift and got paid for 8 hours as they don't account for travel time or petrol used), no advice or help given when on the job, zero benefits (or at least if there were they never informed me of these when I joined).

    Advice to Management

    You provide good training so why not continue the support once people start their work? It can be very daunting starting out as a care worker all alone in a rough area and if there is no helpline available it feels even worse and like you are not cared for. Pay people a proper wage - you advertised £8 an hour yet only pay for the time spent in service users' houses, which is usually 15 minutes, half an hour max.... False advertising and waste of petrol and time. And finally cut down the hours for each shift - just like the service users we have a life outside, too, but working 15 hour days prevents us from having any enjoyment.

    Show More
    Care UK2017-09-21
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great Job, but let down by shoddy management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Support Worker in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Care UK full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic training opportunities, lovely co-workers, and service users

    Cons

    Bullying management, Unrealistic targets Too much emphasis on a business than a care company Pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    Quit before this company is folded because of your downright unprofessionalisim, treat your workers with respect

    Care UK2016-06-09
  6. "fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Support Worker in Grimsby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they are freindly

    Cons

    none to report they are fantastic to work for

    Advice to Management

    none

    Care UK2015-09-13
  7. "reablement support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Care Support Worker in Newmarket, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK

    Pros

    they are so helpful. great team to work with

    Cons

    i can't fault the company one bit

    Care UK2015-05-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "them and us attitude in Edinburgh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Support Worker in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    clients great. new staff phone's so less burden to use own mobile for work related tasks. plus logging in and out at clients made easier.

    Cons

    poor communication from office. no information passed when there is issues. training hard to deal with when ur due to finnish a client and start training at same time and have to bus to get into office

    Advice to Management

    change required

    Care UK2014-09-28
  9. "Care UK has given me great experience with a career that I wish to further into Nursing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Worker in North Berwick, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would consider the pros of working for Care UK being, meeting clients, meeting great other carers. Getting the opportunity to work with other professions such as OT's, Drs, physios. I really enjoy working with the unknown factor in that you don't know how well the client is going to be when you arrive. I feel like I have grown as person since starting this job, I've learn allot about myself.

    Cons

    The cons of working with Care UK I would say primarily is work life balance. Easily have working 3 weeks straight without a day off. Un-organisation of my branch at times due to lack of staff. Unpredictability of shifts, the rostas can change hourly. Clients rarely know who's coming in to see them due to this which they find frustrating as do the carers. It's difficult to plan your life due to basically being on... call 15 hours a day every day. Which is mentally very tiring.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need more staff, recruitment needs revamped, majorly. Structured hours, rostas and routes.

    Care UK2014-05-09
  10. "Painful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Worker in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. double money for bank holiday

    Cons

    They muck you about (holidays) Not enough time to get from one client to another

    Care UK2014-05-09
Found 12 reviews