Care UK Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Care UK Nurse Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
42%
Recommend to a Friend
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
0 Ratings
  1. "Care uk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Tamworth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers approachable. Good for training. Negotiable pay.

    Cons

    Some places pay less than others. More holidays!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep offering and providing more and more training. More holidays and entitlements.

    Care UK2018-11-22
  2. "review new home new team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Witney, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    brand new home, luxury for residents. Nice to be in at beginning. fabulous deputy manager, very knowledgable and supportive.

    Cons

    delay in getting residents very depressing staff room, unable to relax in staff room or use phone corperate approach affects flexibility of resident care and staff diversity

    Advice to Management

    review pay. review induction, good to get induction with other team members and updated on everything, standard of delivery was very variable from excellent and informative to inadequate and rude. also 3 weeks was long exhausting , and on uncomfortable chairs and claustrophobic at times in training room. improve staff room need comfortable chair /radio, value good workers regular... debrief /supervision

    Show More
    Care UK2019-05-21
  3. "Care UK from good to better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay rate, increasing every 6-12 months to match with the competition Great time off from work on annual leave holidays Access to plenty of extra shifts Ideal deputy manager and CLN which work close to senior staff Outstanding CQC rated environment Flexible shifts and enough room to develop if interest is present

    Cons

    No sick pay scheme for current level of staff Limited nursing or senior staff contracts to up to 45 hours Employer is forced due to staff shortages to move you on nights or out from nights Unstable environment due to some non-interested newcomers in domain No scheme of increasing salary by % for each year remaining together

    Advice to Management

    Say "Hello" before asking or guiding for a new task Open and listen advices if the target of Outstanding is to be permanent Be tolerant towards your senior staff which support and guide for years Remain stiff and firm in front of new-comers who want to cut corners and have demands (which in balance make the older ones feel put on second spot) Spread the workload even on the same ranked staff as they all get the same... pay

    Show More
    Care UK2019-02-13
  4. "Poor standards of care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Appears to have good standards of care outside of the facility I worked at. Have employee perks scheme with numerous benefits.

    Cons

    Given a start date at a custodial facility, however when arrived not expected. Not given any induction details or pack. Training consisted of sitting with staff in staff room or clinical room. No actual training. Line manager cancelling shifts of staff members and not informing them. Line manager changing shifts without telling people. Being asked to manually move a bed bound patient without any patient... movement equipment i.e. hoist or even slide sheets. No stock of clinical supplies, even running out of gloves. HR error meaning wrong tax code despite being given all the paperwork on 1st day. Sent a threatening letter to state I had been overpaid by £180 4 months after leaving the role and had 7 days to pay this or face action.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management outside of the facility I worked at seemed approachable and keen to offer opportunities. However at said facility lack of quality management. Dismissive of feedback given.

    Care UK2019-01-24
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Some things never change..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Ware, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's marginally better than trying to survive on JSA, but only in the way that having chronic diarrhoea is marginally better than having chronic constipation. Home Manager ISNT racist against white people. That's just some Daily Mail nonsense, no doubt from someone who is a bit of a bigot. This person has clearly mistook the managers inability to manage for something else. This person probably also says "I'm not... racist but...". A lot.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's good to see some things never change. In the same way Nigel Farage is bound to blame immigration for stepping on a plug, this care home manager continues to have her favourites, refuses to staff the home properly, refuses to respect, and nurture her entire team, and is rude to anyone who doesn't fit into her rectum. I have nothing but the utmost sympathy for anyone who has the misfortune to work for her. She... is incapable of getting a rota out in a timely manner, incapable of looking at her previous rota to ensure her staff haven't just worked five long days in a row (despite only being contracted to do 40hrs, but hey, don't complain, she'll just discipline you for trying to stand up to her!), incapable of ensuring shifts are adequately staffed (because agency is expensive, and she's all about the budgets, who cares if it's "safe" or not!), and is honestly the worst manager I've ever had the misfortune to work for. Her clinical staff work hard to cover her backside, but she's got no thanks for them, and I genuinely pity to poor clinical lead here, she's doing her best, but it's like wading through treacle when managers are promoted above their capability, and their competence - it's called the Peter Princliple, and it's worth a read. I think it might actually have been written about her. She's got a degree in care management, don't you know? This degree isn't a nursing one, it's a pen pushing one, which is only about prophet margins, getting the maximum return for little financial investment, and selecting the perfect "fall guy" for when things go terribly wrong.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for this manager. It's futile. It falls on deaf ears. She doesn't care. She thinks she's the dogs reproductive organs, and nothing will change that. Unfortunately she's isn't the dogs reproductive organs, she does talk it a lot though. My advice to the CEO is to get a new manager, as soon as possible. Just read the reviews. There's something VERY wrong here. If you look at the glassdoor page for... this managers precious home, you'll see many more of the same reviews of her.

    Show More
    Care UK2018-06-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nursing staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Middle management superb. Very friendly and extreamly helpfull. Nursing staff all understand pressures of workin in a busy understaffed hospital.

    Cons

    Most senior management don’t care and don’t listen. No pay rises. Long hours. Not open to ideas. Not bothered about staff, just figures

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to the staff. Be more open and honest.

    Care UK2018-06-15
  7. "Care home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is good training for continuous professional development and a thorough induction program.

    Cons

    Less support for night staff. Only one nurse and one health care assistant to a unit of 18 service users at night. If someone goes off sick there's a strong chance that you will work alone. No paid break, however you are expected to stay on your unit for the entire 12 hours. Shift work, no set working days, so very difficult to plan around family needs. Sometimes rota is not published until a couple... of days before the week commences, so you have no idea what you're doing up to a day beforehand every month.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the opinions of your staff in regards to better working conditions and take actions to implement changes that will support your staff, especially at night when resources are limited.

    Care UK2017-10-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Void!! care uk is all about the money not the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Registered Nurse in Colchester, England

    I worked at Care UK for more than a year

    Pros

    Care team is mostly very good but work under pressure of management

    Cons

    Very poor management Poor communication with management Management will stress you daily and will talk you in a rough not nice manner, I've seen management insult carer in front of professionals and relatives. Management is unreliable, non trustworthy, they care the work to be done and they will leave you with short staff for over 20 dementia residents. If somebody call sick and they know the day before they... will not cover. Simply too much pressure, no appreciation, never been heard, afraid of speak up. Simply disgraceful the way management treat staff and residents! Cause of short staff , residents who paid so much money don't get the care they deserve. I left the place and I can see how happy I am in my new job where There is enough staff, is organised and residents are happy. I feel sorry for the staff who still are there and suffer every day.

    Show More
    Care UK2016-05-19
  9. "Team Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK

    Pros

    Excellent place to work, clean environment, reliable and understanding ward manager and good team work at care UK.. Can not fault the team work and manager encouragement. Fantastic training opportunities.

    Cons

    poor pension scheme. poor sick leave and salary increment is non in existent.

    Advice to Management

    lobby for good pay and sick pay. Two week backwards rolling leaves is not acceptable and poor.

    Care UK2015-07-25
  10. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Practitioner in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff good place to work

    Cons

    Staffing, staffing staffing staffing, staffing

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Care UK2015-05-10
Found 11 reviews