Care UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Care UK Reviews

Updated 11 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for a non-sales role, rewarding to help others, overtime rates are good(in 8 reviews)

  • "Service users are great and nice(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rota allocation changed last minute so you’re not able to fulfil other aspects of your senior role(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very long hours for night staff(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Care Home Manager in Sutton Coldfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK

    Pros

    Supportive caring innovative great environment

    Cons

    None so far I’ve found

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Care UK2019-07-19

    Care UK Response

    July 26, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5 star review. It's fantastic to hear such great feedback from one of our Home Managers. We will pass your feedback on to the regional director, and wish you every success for the future. Care UK Careers

  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hub Administrator in Colchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really supportive team environment. Good salary for Colchester

    Cons

    Temp contract, unsure if it will be offered on a perm basis

    Advice to Management

    None, really down to earth people who interact with all hub members.

    Care UK2019-10-02
  3. "Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Advisor in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good if you enjoy call centre roles Also if you enjoy helping people and working in healthcare

    Cons

    Have to try and maintain KPI's which is not always practical especially when talking about patient care and basic humanity.

    Care UK2019-10-11

    Care UK Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write to us on Glassdoor. We really appreciate your feedback and we constantly reviewing our services to provide the best possible support for our teams. Care UK Healthcare

  4. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Kirkliston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely rewarding, even though they are long shifts they never feel that long and someone always makes you smile.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between teams, do not do this job if you don’t like people.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Care UK2019-09-25

    Care UK Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4 star review. It's fantastic to hear that you find your role rewarding and enjoy your spending time with the residents at your home. Team work is important to us, if you have concerns about your workplace please discuss this with your line manager. We wish you well for the future, Care UK Careers

    Show Less
  5. "NHS 111 Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Dudley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Care UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression is obtainable, with support given internally to ensure success.

    Cons

    Training for the specific job role when within it, is somewhat limited.

    Advice to Management

    Spend time developing your own skills to enable success in post.

    Care UK2019-09-23

    Care UK Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write to us on Glassdoor and giving us a 4 star review. We really appreciate your feedback and we constantly reviewing our services to provide the best possible support for our teams. Care UK Healthcare

  6. Helpful (1)

    "The employer who covered up misconduct at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues You get paid every month

    Cons

    Misconduct conducted by a finance professional from Barbados was covered up by a more senior female finance professional... In general, most people who work there lost employment in other / better companies and somehow ended up in Care UK. Care UK is terrible for a career progression. If you are not careful you might end up working there for years and lose out on real opportunities from better employers in the... industry.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work in Care UK as long as you want, because I don't want to come across you again :)

    Care UK2019-09-28
  7. "Good Company, one of the best care companies to work for outwith NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of good quality homes, they are trying in a difficult industry! Decent pay for the role, Senior Management were friendly, approachable but professional

    Cons

    Intro of evening & weekend working for the role, even for those performing, not much progression, or many training opportunities unless you are clinically minded.

    Care UK2019-08-18

    Care UK Response

    August 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4 star review. It's great to hear that you recognise the quality in our homes and that you found management to be friendly, approachable and professional. Progression is important to us, which is why we have a dedicated Learning & Development programme to support our colleagues to thrive within their roles. Whilst we continue to be commited to providing support and development, we recognise that there is always room for improvement and we appreciate your honest feedback. We wish you well for the future, Care UK Careers

    Show Less
  8. "Good Student Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 111 Call Handler in Dorking, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great money once you're qualified to do night shifts.

    Cons

    It's nonstop the entire time you're on shift most of the time.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more

    Care UK2019-08-27

    Care UK Response

    September 2, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write to us on Glassdoor. We appreciate your feedback as we constantly review our services to ensure we are providing enough support for our teams. Care UK Healthcare

  9. "Sherwood Grange Care Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant environment - you are allowed to eat with the residents at no cost.

    Cons

    Training not conclusive - seem to be all over the place !

    Advice to Management

    New applicants should be given more time per floor ie 2 weeks on ground floor before moving to either 1st or 2nd floor.

    Care UK2019-08-06

    Care UK Response

    August 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you recognise the high standards of care and surroundings at Care UK. We are sorry to hear that your training was not satisfactory. We provide all colleagues with up to 3 months induction and relevant training when joining Care UK, and also offer additional training and qualifications to allow anyone wishing to progress to do so. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, they will be passed on to the Regional Director for review. Care UK Careers

    Show Less
  10. "5 years in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Addington, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive to both staffs and residents

    Cons

    The wage is too low

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to our voices in terms of our wages

    Care UK2019-07-18

    Care UK Response

    August 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5 star review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time whilst working for Care UK and that you felt supported. Salaries are determined by a number of factors and we continually monitor our pay rates to ensure they reflect the local market. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. Care UK Careers

    Show Less
Found 168 reviews