Care UK Support Worker Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Care UK Support Worker Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
8 Ratings
  1. "fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Support Worker in Grimsby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they are freindly

    Cons

    none to report they are fantastic to work for

    Advice to Management

    none

    Care UK2015-09-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bad Management/Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Support Worker in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, meet interesting people, rewarding work caring for elderly

    Cons

    Tragic management/organization, poor pay for the amount of hours worked (I worked a 15 hour shift and got paid for 8 hours as they don't account for travel time or petrol used), no advice or help given when on the job, zero benefits (or at least if there were they never informed me of these when I joined).

    Advice to Management

    You provide good training so why not continue the support once people start their work? It can be very daunting starting out as a care worker all alone in a rough area and if there is no helpline available it feels even worse and like you are not cared for. Pay people a proper wage - you advertised £8 an hour yet only pay for the time spent in service users' houses, which is usually 15 minutes, half an hour max. False...

    Show More
    Care UK2017-09-21

    Care UK Response

    September 25, 2017Resourcing Advisor

    We would like to say thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are sorry we didn’t meet your expectations but we would like to say thank you for hard work and we wish you all the very best. If you would like to give us further feedback please ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Great Service Users"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Falkirk, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK for more than a year

    Pros

    Tough but rewarding work, lovely service Users, and lovely fellow colleagues.

    Cons

    Interference from management, that treat their employees like something they found on their shoe

    Advice to Management

    Find more pleasant ones please

    Care UK2017-02-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CARER and SUPPORT WORKER for ELDERLY and DISABLED in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK

    Pros

    care work easy to start plenty of hours

    Cons

    dont leave you alone to many hours no concern for staff

    Care UK2016-09-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great Job, but let down by shoddy management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Support Worker in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Care UK full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic training opportunities, lovely co-workers, and service users

    Cons

    Bullying management, Unrealistic targets Too much emphasis on a business than a care company Pay could be better

    Advice to Management

    Quit before this company is folded because of your downright unprofessionalisim, treat your workers with respect

    Care UK2016-06-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Never again !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CARER and SUPPORT WORKER for ELDERLY and DISABLED in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Care UK part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Please do not work for this company, they bully staff, I was told I had mental issues and I was not the only member of staff to be told this after a pi challenged my managers bad practice

    Cons

    You can escape , the poor residents can't

    Advice to Management

    Resign you are a disgrace to the caring professional , all of you .

    Care UK2016-05-25
  7. "community support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Support Worker in Wolverhampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    service users make your day

    Cons

    lack of staff.. office staff challenging..pay dismall..

    Advice to Management

    listen to your carers they are the ones doing the job..

    Care UK2015-06-22
  8. "reablement support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Support Worker in Newmarket, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK

    Pros

    they are so helpful. great team to work with

    Cons

    i can't fault the company one bit

    Care UK2015-05-26
  9. "love meeting and helping differenf people and see them improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CARER and SUPPORT WORKER for ELDERLY and DISABLED in Fleetwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    helping people get better. listening to the peopleslife stories. making a differance.

    Cons

    low wages. 0 hours contract

    Care UK2015-04-30
  10. "Care UK is a great company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CARER and SUPPORT WORKER for ELDERLY and DISABLED in Harrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK for more than 3 years

    Pros

    meeting some lovely service user ,assisting them and leaving the happy ,makes me happy

    Cons

    the pay is not encouraging to compare with the working conditions

    Advice to Management

    to improve the pay pack

    Care UK2015-03-30
Found 16 reviews