Care UK Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated 29 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay rates especially for clinical staff once training is complete(in 11 reviews)

  • "Service users are great and nice(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rota allocation changed last minute so you’re not able to fulfil other aspects of your senior role(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very long hours for night staff(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "carers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Careuk offers great career development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager in Lowestoft, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Careuk has allowed me to develop my career during my time with them, five years ago I started as domestic and a bank career from there I went to head housekeeper to Business admin to Deputy manager. Careuk has also funded my level 5 and supported me every step of the way. During my time at Careuk I have seen other staff develop from kitchen assistant to head chef, carer to activity lead, carer to team leader. If training is where your heart lays Careuk has many train the trainer courses where you can support and help develop the training needs in the homes. Britten court has a family feel and if your looking to work in care than Careuk is a great choice.

    Cons

    Would like to be able to sell annual leave back to the company.

    Continue reading
    Care UK2019-01-16

    Care UK Response

    January 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5 star review. We are overjoyed reading about your journey with Care UK and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on Glassdoor. It’s great to hear that you feel supported and have been able to benefit from our Apprenticeships Programme. We are always proud to invest in internal talent and will continue to provide funding and support to enable colleagues to progress within the company. We appreciate your comments on annual leave, and will pass this on to the HR team for review. We wish you every success for the future.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "No benefits for front line staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time

    Pros

    Good team of carers Good working rota

    Cons

    No sick pay. Poor wage. Broken essential equipment left without repair for weeks. Online systems are very poor to get access to (left in a call queue for 40mins plus to be cut off). This means no access to payslips (which I believe is illegal). More interested in social media fame than adhering to safety measures. Impossible to complete the work expected in a day.

    Continue reading
    Care UK2020-04-29
  3. "Winchcombe Place, Newbury"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Newbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great fire training, e-learning, working as a team, we learn with a team member how to do the job and we can ask questions as we learn, plus mangers do work along with you.

    Cons

    Staff don't have time to time with others and needs to be looket at, better pay for all cleaners and carers, all staff should start to talk to each other more as well as talkingn to talking to each other at break time.

    Continue reading
    Care UK2019-06-14

    Care UK Response

    June 26, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for you review. It's great to read feedback on our training and development programme and we are thrilled to hear that you were able to benefit from it. We are working hard to listen so that we can continue to improve. We also have a Colleague Voices forum, which has been running for 10 years now, and provides us with the opportunity to get feedback and new ideas from all our colleagues. Make sure you take the opportunity to talk to the rep from your home who can bring the ideas along to the next meeting. Team work is important to us, if you have concerns about your workplace please discuss this with your line manager. We wish you every sucess for the future, Care UK Careers

  4. "The sky is the limit"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Man in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff are trained and promoted from every level. e.g. start as a carer and within a few years achieve promotion to regional director. Good perks scheme and enough benefits to satisfy every employee

    Cons

    Working in care is never well paid

    Continue reading
    Care UK2019-03-15

    Care UK Response

    March 25, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4 star review. We are thrilled to hear that you recognise the value of our training and development programmes and our Care UK Perks scheme. We continually monitor our pay rates to ensure they reflect the local market; we thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and wish you every success in your role with us. Care UK Careers

  5. "5 yr Anniversary"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dementia Champion in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have just reached my 5 year anniversary of being a carer, I moved to St Ives in Cambridge and took the opportunity. I have been a dementia Carer since 1989 and LOVE IT with a passion. Care UK have helped me grow and 2 years I had the opportunity to develop my skills and become a Dementia Champion i have receny been to Sutton Coldfield and am now a trainer in that field. I have been able to start my training and so far so good and I can see a difference with person centred care in our home.

    Cons

    It would be nice to have an incentive of extra holiday to those dedication and stay within the company. each year a extra holiday entitlement??

    Continue reading
    Care UK2019-02-05

    Care UK Response

    February 11, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your 4 star review and congratulations on your 5 year anniversary with Care UK. We are thrilled to hear that you have been able to develop your skills and become a Dementia Champion, and will continue to invest in colleagues who wish to take on new learning. Thank you for putting forward the idea of a Holiday incentive scheme, we will pass this over to the HR team for review. Might we also add that if a Care UK colleague requires more holiday, we do offer a benefit for employees’ to purchase additional holiday. We would like to thank you again for your continued hard work and commitment to Care UK. It’s great to see that our values are being lived every day.

  6. "Lack of care"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Care UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Service users are great and nice

    Cons

    Office staff rude to carers

    Continue reading
    Care UK2018-08-22
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Just dont!"

    1.0
    Carer in Mildenhall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Care UK

    Pros

    NONE NONE NONE NONE NONE

    Cons

    Worked at mildenhall lodge for 10 months. The day I left I was still waiting for some kind of induction. I was not even shown how to get out in the event of fire. I never saw a care plan, was shown how to use the computer file system or even how to use a bath. The residents where lucky to get a 5 min shower once a week as staff levels were so low proper care was impossible to give. I had 3 different sets of management in the 10 months I was there. They didnt even bother to learn the staffs names. Just trying to find your wage slip once a month was a task. They were just thrown anywhere. No one ever had time to listen to any concerns or help with anything you needed. All except one of the nurses could not speak english good enough to be understood or to understand you. They had to ask what simple words like "groin" ment and resident notes were often completed totally inaccurately. For example entering logs for residents who had passed away months ago! Carers are treated like something nasty on your shoe by management and "care" is not a word that should be used in the same sentence as this company. Unless you are starving do not concider working here!

    Continue reading
    Care UK2016-03-22
  8. "Care uk work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant in Billingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All correct policies and procedures in place for everything, all training needed offered and opportunities to complete nvqs. Plenty of holidays, never seem to have any problems with pay.

    Cons

    Pay is not great and we are expected to start early for handover without getting paid and sometimes have to finish late if night staff handover runs over and don't get paid for that. Carers widely undervalued. Not much opportunity to progress within the company. Too bigger workload for the amount of staff.

    Continue reading
    Care UK2015-06-21
  9. "Not recommended as a workplace."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Home-visiting Carer in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the higher paid home caring positions (£8ph in London). Not that that really says much as carers usually get minimum wage. Provides good physical exercise.

    Cons

    Zero-Guaranteed Hours Contract results in unreliable weekly pay, Work is in West London, Managerial and Supervisory Support is in South-East London and training is in North -West London so you feel very alone and unsupported at work. Many expenses (phone, transport, postage etc) required for job but no expenses provided to support you. No bonuses.

    Continue reading
    Care UK2015-03-23
  10. "Care UK has given me great experience with a career that I wish to further into Nursing."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Worker in North Berwick, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Care UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would consider the pros of working for Care UK being, meeting clients, meeting great other carers. Getting the opportunity to work with other professions such as OT's, Drs, physios. I really enjoy working with the unknown factor in that you don't know how well the client is going to be when you arrive. I feel like I have grown as person since starting this job, I've learn allot about myself.

    Cons

    The cons of working with Care UK I would say primarily is work life balance. Easily have working 3 weeks straight without a day off. Un-organisation of my branch at times due to lack of staff. Unpredictability of shifts, the rostas can change hourly. Clients rarely know who's coming in to see them due to this which they find frustrating as do the carers. It's difficult to plan your life due to basically being on call 15 hours a day every day. Which is mentally very tiring.

    Continue reading
    Care UK2014-05-09
Found 11 reviews