Care UK Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated 20 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 360 reviews

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Care UK CEO Mike Parish
Mike Parish
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay rate, increasing every 6-12 months to match with the competition(in 11 reviews)

  • "100 Tesco voucher during carers week(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very long hours for night staff(in 11 reviews)

  • "Pay below par, national minimum wage on 12 hours shift(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "carers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Care about their employees

      20 Dec 2020 - Catering Assistant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Didn't lay staff off during pandemic and found suitable roles in other care homes instead. -Offer perks like £100 Tesco voucher during carers week -Offer progression -5 star care homes - nice environment

      Cons

      -Minimum wage -Nothing else to report

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      No benefits for front line staff

      29 Apr 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team of carers Good working rota

      Cons

      No sick pay. Poor wage. Broken essential equipment left without repair for weeks. Online systems are very poor to get access to (left in a call queue for 40mins plus to be cut off). This means no access to payslips (which I believe is illegal). More interested in social media fame than adhering to safety measures. Impossible to complete the work expected in a day.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Careuk offers great career development

      16 Jan 2019 - Deputy Manager in Lowestoft, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Careuk has allowed me to develop my career during my time with them, five years ago I started as domestic and a bank career from there I went to head housekeeper to Business admin to Deputy manager. Careuk has also funded my level 5 and supported me every step of the way. During my time at Careuk I have seen other staff develop from kitchen assistant to head chef, carer to activity lead, carer to team leader. If training is where your heart lays Careuk has many train the trainer courses where you can support and help develop the training needs in the homes. Britten court has a family feel and if your looking to work in care than Careuk is a great choice.

      Cons

      Would like to be able to sell annual leave back to the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Care UK Response

      Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for your 5 star review. We are overjoyed reading about your journey with Care UK and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on Glassdoor. It’s great to hear that you feel supported and have been able to benefit from our Apprenticeships Programme. We are always proud to invest in internal talent and will continue to provide funding and support to enable colleagues to progress within the company. We appreciate your comments on annual leave, and will pass this on to the HR team for review. We wish you every success for the future.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      5 yr Anniversary

      5 Feb 2019 - Dementia Champion in Cambridge, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have just reached my 5 year anniversary of being a carer, I moved to St Ives in Cambridge and took the opportunity. I have been a dementia Carer since 1989 and LOVE IT with a passion. Care UK have helped me grow and 2 years I had the opportunity to develop my skills and become a Dementia Champion i have receny been to Sutton Coldfield and am now a trainer in that field. I have been able to start my training and so far so good and I can see a difference with person centred care in our home.

      Cons

      It would be nice to have an incentive of extra holiday to those dedication and stay within the company. each year a extra holiday entitlement??

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Care UK Response

      Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for your 4 star review and congratulations on your 5 year anniversary with Care UK. We are thrilled to hear that you have been able to develop your skills and become a Dementia Champion, and will continue to invest in colleagues who wish to take on new learning. Thank you for putting forward the idea of a Holiday incentive scheme, we will pass this over to the HR team for review. Might we also add that if a Care UK colleague requires more holiday, we do offer a benefit for employees’ to purchase additional holiday. We would like to thank you again for your continued hard work and commitment to Care UK. It’s great to see that our values are being lived every day.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Winchcombe Place, Newbury

      13 Jun 2019 - Cleaner in Newbury, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great fire training, e-learning, working as a team, we learn with a team member how to do the job and we can ask questions as we learn, plus mangers do work along with you.

      Cons

      Staff don't have time to time with others and needs to be looket at, better pay for all cleaners and carers, all staff should start to talk to each other more as well as talkingn to talking to each other at break time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Care UK Response

      Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for you review. It's great to read feedback on our training and development programme and we are thrilled to hear that you were able to benefit from it. We are working hard to listen so that we can continue to improve. We also have a Colleague Voices forum, which has been running for 10 years now, and provides us with the opportunity to get feedback and new ideas from all our colleagues. Make sure you take the opportunity to talk to the rep from your home who can bring the ideas along to the next meeting. Team work is important to us, if you have concerns about your workplace please discuss this with your line manager. We wish you every sucess for the future, Care UK Careers

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The sky is the limit

      15 Mar 2019 - Maintenance Man in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff are trained and promoted from every level. e.g. start as a carer and within a few years achieve promotion to regional director. Good perks scheme and enough benefits to satisfy every employee

      Cons

      Working in care is never well paid

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Care UK Response

      Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for your 4 star review. We are thrilled to hear that you recognise the value of our training and development programmes and our Care UK Perks scheme. We continually monitor our pay rates to ensure they reflect the local market; we thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and wish you every success in your role with us. Care UK Careers

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Just dont!

      21 Mar 2016 - Carer in Mildenhall, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NONE NONE NONE NONE NONE

      Cons

      Worked at mildenhall lodge for 10 months. The day I left I was still waiting for some kind of induction. I was not even shown how to get out in the event of fire. I never saw a care plan, was shown how to use the computer file system or even how to use a bath. The residents where lucky to get a 5 min shower once a week as staff levels were so low proper care was impossible to give. I had 3 different sets of management in the 10 months I was there. They didnt even bother to learn the staffs names. Just trying to find your wage slip once a month was a task. They were just thrown anywhere. No one ever had time to listen to any concerns or help with anything you needed. All except one of the nurses could not speak english good enough to be understood or to understand you. They had to ask what simple words like "groin" ment and resident notes were often completed totally inaccurately. For example entering logs for residents who had passed away months ago! Carers are treated like something nasty on your shoe by management and "care" is not a word that should be used in the same sentence as this company. Unless you are starving do not concider working here!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Care UK has given me great experience with a career that I wish to further into Nursing.

      9 May 2014 - Care Worker in North Berwick, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I would consider the pros of working for Care UK being, meeting clients, meeting great other carers. Getting the opportunity to work with other professions such as OT's, Drs, physios. I really enjoy working with the unknown factor in that you don't know how well the client is going to be when you arrive. I feel like I have grown as person since starting this job, I've learn allot about myself.

      Cons

      The cons of working with Care UK I would say primarily is work life balance. Easily have working 3 weeks straight without a day off. Un-organisation of my branch at times due to lack of staff. Unpredictability of shifts, the rostas can change hourly. Clients rarely know who's coming in to see them due to this which they find frustrating as do the carers. It's difficult to plan your life due to basically being on call 15 hours a day every day. Which is mentally very tiring.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Care uk work

      21 Jun 2015 - Care Assistant in Billingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All correct policies and procedures in place for everything, all training needed offered and opportunities to complete nvqs. Plenty of holidays, never seem to have any problems with pay.

      Cons

      Pay is not great and we are expected to start early for handover without getting paid and sometimes have to finish late if night staff handover runs over and don't get paid for that. Carers widely undervalued. Not much opportunity to progress within the company. Too bigger workload for the amount of staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not recommended as a workplace.

      23 Mar 2015 - Home-visiting Carer in Hammersmith, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the higher paid home caring positions (£8ph in London). Not that that really says much as carers usually get minimum wage. Provides good physical exercise.

      Cons

      Zero-Guaranteed Hours Contract results in unreliable weekly pay, Work is in West London, Managerial and Supervisory Support is in South-East London and training is in North -West London so you feel very alone and unsupported at work. Many expenses (phone, transport, postage etc) required for job but no expenses provided to support you. No bonuses.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Care UK Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Care UK? Share Your Experiences

    Care UK logo
    or