Carlson Wagonlit Travel Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 9 Dec 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Carlson Wagonlit Travel President & CEO Kurt Ekert
Kurt Ekert
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance, career opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not seem to understand what agents need to do to service our clients(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (9)

    "The company has lost its focus."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Counselor in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    none. Benefits are adequate, but no longer as good as they once were

    Cons

    They took a reasonably good company to work for and destroyed it. We don't have the tools to do our jobs. We have technology that falls over and slows our ability to get the 600-second OCL they want. They flex our hours down until this isn't a full time job. We are forced to bid our vacation a year out, but with the flex, you don't earn as many hours as your planned, and then you end up giving back vacation days. There is no depth on the service floor, so if you need a day off, or get invited to an out of town event, or even have to deal with family issues, you cannot get time off approved and you end up with occurrences....and then they penalize you for trying to play by their rules. Upper management is so clueless about what we do, a bunch of efficiency experts who didn't even know what a GDS is (and thought we had to call all hotels and airlines to get a confirmed reservation) was sent in to tell us how to do our jobs. They didn't even know what are jobs do. Our clients are angry. They feel rushed when talking to us about really complicated travel. And there are now off-shore counselors who don't even speak English well enough to understand what they are being told.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2018-12-09
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Travel Counselor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Travel Counselor in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a job and they pay you.

    Cons

    SO many! They have been going through major upheaval, getting rid of many managers and employees. No raises this year, hiring freeze, doubling agent workloads and then jumping all over you about how long calls are holding. Upper management just doesn't care. They refuse to listen to the employees about how stressful they have made it. Agents are in tears and customers are leaving.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-11-17
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Out sourcing is the focus"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employees are for the most part knowledgeable, willing to help and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management tends to micro-manage when it isnt needed. Overall company focus for the future is to outsource as many positions as possible, this compiled with poor training creates a severe impact to customer service.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-09-05
  4. Helpful (14)

    "travel agent"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Counselor in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The front line agents are devoted to their jobs, believe in serving the client, and supporting each other.

    Cons

    First line managers are overloaded and cannot supervise their teams in real time. Above that, senior managers don't give a hoot about the people that actually interact with the customers. Our tools don't work and slow down agents doing their jobs. They keep talking about these great tools but we don't know what they're talking about because the ones we have are slow, unreliable, and can't talk to each other. Then they crash. They gone back to the giant team model and expect agents to handle up to 50 high-touch clients smoothly. Agents cannot remember all the one-off exceptions the salespeople give clients to get them to sign up. There is no life/work balance. We are losing senior agents all the time because they can't stand what has happened to our company. Travel agents are treated badly. You are supposed to get vacation but unless you are psychic and can plan everything that's going to happen a year ahead, you cannot get any time off. Not even if you have a wedding or a funeral. They make you wait list months in advance and keep you waiting until the last minute. Managers however can do whatever they want. We haven't had a raise in years. We are supposed to have a bonus program but no one knows how it works. They say we work full time, but we usually don't. They "flex" our hours down. If you don't make much on the hourly to begin with, that can really cut into a family budget. They do not respect the lower level workers or their human needs. we don't even have a HR rep any more. There is no one to go to with a problem. There is no career development or even the smallest attempt to identify good workers or talent. Upper management shows up once in a while to do these road shows or come to the site to tell us these grand plans, but the words that come out of their mouths are nothing like what they really do....which is to treat the agents like cash register clerks. We have very difficult jobs where knowledge of math, geography, law, and accounting are all everyday skills. Upper management just doesn't understand what we do or how we do it.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-08-20
  5. Helpful (8)

    "No"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Global corporation and has been around for awhile

    Cons

    Upper management is the biggest con. They are only concerned with saving the company money and don't care if their employees are happy.

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-07-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Travel consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great to be able to work at home. Good work life balance and good pay.

    Cons

    Scheduled not flexible. Upper management not engaged.

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-06-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Program Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Crofton, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team environment. Travel benefits and discounts

    Cons

    Upper Management is totally disconnected

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2016-02-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior international travel agent marine/offshore"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Marine/Offshore Travel Agent in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employment benefits are very good

    Cons

    Lack of training in new management. Mostly new mid-to upper management. Need more training.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2015-08-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "a good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Agent in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the co-workers. Many people have been here 10 years or more. The management is very friendly and really listens and values constructive comments. There is a good balance of work/life. The office does do several employee events per year.

    Cons

    Long commute and little opportunity to work from home. Movement into upper management is restricted if you do not have the correct skill sets. You cannot get the needed skill sets unless you get them somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2014-06-27
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Too much take, not enough give"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Travel Counselor in Mendota Heights, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The co-workers are very close and easy to work with. The company does fun things for its employees a few times a year. Benefits were ok.

    Cons

    The fun things the company does for it's employees usually has to be funded by the employees. The upper management has NO clue what it's doing. Full time for this company is now 35 hours a week. You can't speak your mind at this company without management taking action against you. The place was wonderful when it still had the "family business" feel... but since a board of directors was introduced, this place keeps going downhill more and more every year. They are WAY too concerned with their numbers and not as much about customer or even employee satisfaction. They told us they wanted us to "not" go the extra mile for the customers anymore (i.e. not call to confirm seats, ask for hotel room upgrades, even DOCUMENT our records because each save to the GDS costs money for the company!!) Just absolutely asinine ways of doing business. You have to be with the "in" crowd to get promoted.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2014-04-29
Found 13 reviews