Carlson Wagonlit Travel Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 11 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Carlson Wagonlit Travel President & CEO Kurt Ekert
Kurt Ekert
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance, career opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not seem to understand what agents need to do to service our clients(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lots happening!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel for more than a year

    Pros

    Moving through a 'disruptive lifecycle'. Lots of change internally which creates interesting opportunities. Working from home is encouraged and embraced

    Cons

    Geographically diverse organisation- challenges in managing teams across a 20h operating window

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-12-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible in some ways, inflexible in others"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic flexibility regarding working hours and working from home. Friendly office culture, talented employees and perks include discounts on hotels and Eurostar. Supportive regarding training.

    Cons

    Opportunities to progress aren't abundant. I've been here for more than two years and promotion seems inaccessible. Airline discounts are non-existent. I would have liked to travel more. Projects tend to move slowly and have to be approved through an extensive chain of people, as there are so many managers.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2014-10-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Seems very backwards"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Flexible with working from home.

    Cons

    Projects can be limited and takes a very long time for any decisions to be made. A lot of politics and staff are not rewarded well. Company tends to sacrifice a lot on quality due to cost cutting etc.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2014-03-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "It was okay until Coronavirus hit"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Org in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities for flex hours and work from home.

    Cons

    Industry getting hit hard by Coronavirus.

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-03-16
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Very bad HR policies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home flexibility Work life balance

    Cons

    1. I would like to highlight the highly discriminatory furlough carried out by CWT, due to Covid-19, in the US. The company decided to retain foreign employees on an H1B visa and put on involuntary leave without pay American citizens and Permanent Residents. 2. There is no proper HR policy in place to promote employees with potential and groom talent for broader responsibilities. Has a lot of long tenured employees who add little or no value to their roles and stop upward mobility of more talented employees.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-04-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Travel Counselor in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schedules, work from home, equipment and internet provided.

    Cons

    Management keeps doing silent layoffs with no rhyme or reason to it. They should know to keep their good employees instead of outsourcing departments

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-02-12
  7. "Great Travel Management Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking leaders, global company with entrepreneurial mindset within various departments, flexibility to work from home or in modern HDQ offices (Paris or Minneapolis).

    Cons

    Getting things done can sometimes be disjointed and clunky due to lack of cross department cohesiveness.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work, focus on employee retention."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Manager in Imperial, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Possibility of working from home, work for one of the largest global travel agencies,Amy different job possibilities.

    Cons

    Working holidays, can be stressful.

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-10-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "3rd time working for them...layed off after disclosing I have PTSD..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 24 Hour ESC Travel Counselor in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    nice to work from home

    Cons

    HR doesn't contact you back if you have an issue, unreal expectations, focus on the negative and not the positive of your work, giving all our jobs to other countries for cheap labor

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (20)

    "Hands down the best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior TRAVEL in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is an amazing company to work for. Management is fantastic. They are very knowledgeable and polite. Everyone is treated equally. The clients we manage are also wonderful. Yes sometimes you may have a bad apple here and there but one thing I can say is the pros outweigh the cons big time! The pay is better than almost 90% of other travel agencies. I feel like this by far has been the best job ever. You have time to work with your clients. There is never over 10 calls holding which is impressive. They give you an hour lunch along with paid breaks. Benefits are great and doesn't drain your paycheck. I also work from home and internet and phone is paid for... does not get any better

    Cons

    If you don't know how to be positive and polite this place is not for you. IF you don't know how to follow the policy on behalf of the company and the client you are out the door! I mean I Would nt blame them. In my opinion, to be the best company you have to have the best employees.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2018-03-30
Found 22 reviews