Carlson Wagonlit Travel Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Carlson Wagonlit Travel President & CEO Kurt Ekert
Kurt Ekert
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance, career opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not seem to understand what agents need to do to service our clients(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "CWT"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good career progression Flexible working locations Informal manor overall between colleagues

    Cons

    Lack of onboarding when starting a role Tend to understaff Little support of work/life balance

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2017-05-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "No real direction"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is good, home working encouraged.

    Cons

    No clear strategic direction, poor IT and no process. Zero innovation. Slowly moving senior management to the USA.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-01-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "no oportunities to grow, I feel like a number"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexibility and good work-life balance Depends on the department and location it may be good

    Cons

    low pay no incentives no training. Only a virtual university that works only to say "you've been trained". no personal treatment old office and furniture management may be care about the staff but they are not allowed to take onboard any suggestion by the senior management

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2015-02-01
  4. "Great Company - Challenging and Interesting Industry"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Architect in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, Work/Life Balance, Interesting Challenges, Diverse and Global Workforce

    Cons

    Subject to Industry Pressures and Challenges

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-03-18
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Very bad HR policies"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home flexibility Work life balance

    Cons

    1. I would like to highlight the highly discriminatory furlough carried out by CWT, due to Covid-19, in the US. The company decided to retain foreign employees on an H1B visa and put on involuntary leave without pay American citizens and Permanent Residents. 2. There is no proper HR policy in place to promote employees with potential and groom talent for broader responsibilities. Has a lot of long tenured employees who add little or no value to their roles and stop upward mobility of more talented employees.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-04-12
  6. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Established MNC with a good brand. Good work culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Lots of red tape and slow to change.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2020-02-07
  7. Helpful (6)

    "More interested in their bottom line than their employees"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Travel Counselor in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Immediate managers were very good, worked within the constraints of the company to try to help employees with work/life balance

    Cons

    Top management is completely disconnected from agents and customers. Cutting staff and then pushing agents to take more calls. When I left we regularly had 50+ calls on hold and not enough agents to answer. Calls would hold for 30 or more minutes. It was a mess

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-09-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent HR support, Happy culture but Lagging behind in Technology"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Non Travel Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Advanced HR supports, - Good work life balance culture - Travel industry discounts

    Cons

    - Lack of professional training in technology tools; most "trainings" are done by Account Executives of the vendors, who are really more a "salesperson" than technical coach. - anti-IT sendiment among some operations staff - traditional travel company mindset still persists - constantly asking for staff's feedback but no resolutions after escalation; same problems exist for years but no authority wants to address the root cause.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-04-25
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Beware!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed my co-workers and the work I did

    Cons

    No work life balance. None what so ever! Expect you to be on call 247. Horrible management style and approach.

    Continue reading
    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-03-28
  10. "Account Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carlson Wagonlit Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefit package, culture, colleagues

    Cons

    work life balance, career opportunities

    Carlson Wagonlit Travel2019-02-11
Found 33 reviews