Carnival Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Carnival Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 638 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Micky Arison
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "it offers great benefits package(in 34 reviews)

  • "Experience, improving English language, traveling(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes, but this is part of the life at sea(in 90 reviews)

  • "Worst salaries of any cruise line(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnival full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great organisation, great people you work with, environment, benefits, experience, CEO, Excellent culture, in times of economic uncertainty, how many organisations are investing in their product and people, I could go on.......

    Cons

    Constant change often without consultation, you get used to that

    Advice to Management

    Communicate changes in advance, allow people time to adjust

    Carnival2019-05-06
  2. "Great Enviroment, however stressful and not enough progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Analyst in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carnival full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Enviroment to work in Southampton

    Cons

    Stressful at Times, not good job security

    Carnival2019-05-11
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Communications Manager in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carnival full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great and the people are lovely

    Cons

    Office Politics. Lots of restructures

    Carnival2019-05-08
  4. "Carnival UK Head Office and Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England

    I have been working at Carnival full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well performing company Preparing to change and create better employee engagement Good office location

    Cons

    Poor leadership although taking steps to improve in recent years Complacent approach to people and development

    Advice to Management

    Appointment of new leadership is working, continue building on it.

    Carnival2019-04-25
  5. "Great environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Resourcing in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnival full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teams, fun, dynamic.

    Cons

    Constant change and reorganisation.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent.

    Carnival2019-03-26
  6. "Unpleasant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carnival full-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on UK cruises

    Cons

    Constant restructuring and layoffs a culture of fear and no strategy. They are over-expanding

    Advice to Management

    Value experience rather than just how cheaply you can replace people. Get rid of Lotus Notes and fire 50% at VP/ SVP level

    Carnival2019-01-22
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carnival full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic product and an excellent management team

    Cons

    None that are not being addressed

    Carnival2019-01-06
  8. "administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Carnival full-time

      Pros

      nice environment, good way to increase computer skils

      Cons

      too much into finance for me, I need something different

      Carnival2018-11-23
    • "Employer of Choice"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Carnival full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun company, always caring about their people, great for internal development - a really great place to work!

      Cons

      Difficult to get into.. but once you're in..!

      Carnival2018-11-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Disappointing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Carnival full-time

      Pros

      Lovely Office in Southampton benefits

      Cons

      Overload staff with work and do not give support when asked - Set you up to fail

      Advice to Management

      Your greatest asset are your staff

      Carnival2018-12-02
    Found 638 reviews