Carowinds Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Carowinds Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 171 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Carowinds CEO Matt Ouimet (no image)
Matt Ouimet
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free tickets, free admission to the parks and other parks, and the people you work with(in 15 reviews)

  • "free tickets after you work a certain amount of hours(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Heat, Short Staffing sometimes makes getting breaks difficult(in 18 reviews)

  • "Less hours once summer is coming to an end, long hours on holidays, very strict about rules such as having phone on you(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Carowinds slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good

    Cons

    Not at all flexible or considerate about personal life issues

    Carowinds2019-09-07
  2. "READ THIS BEFORE YOU APPLY !!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Because it's fun working with a team and it's a pleasure to put smile on peoples faces

    Cons

    Because once you make one simple mistake, they won't give you a chance and they will fire you so make sure you doing everything correctly because they don't mind getting rid of you and hiring someone else in a heartbeat. Like i was an Rides Supervisor and i made a small mistake while i wasn't clocked like not clocked in at all and they fired me because of it like really make sure you doing everything is like dream... company have to have everything correct and perfectly at all times ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give people chances !!!

    Carowinds2019-09-16
  3. "Good to be your first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Charlotte, NC

    I worked at Carowinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot of new skills Be part of a big company

    Cons

    Disorganization, overworking, few employees compared to the number of guests

    Carowinds2019-07-29
  4. "Carowinds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and it has a good management team .

    Cons

    It gets hot while working .

    Carowinds2019-06-27
  5. "Hard Labor and uncaring people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can work there at 16 years old. Get a lot of hours. Discount on food, free pass.

    Cons

    short breaks, managers don't care, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Give time for associates to get to the break area when they work across the park. For females, allow them to carry a small bag for the time of the month.

    Carowinds2019-07-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Retirement Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Operator in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, work as little or as much as you want. Lots of fun interacting with the guest.

    Cons

    Heat, Short Staffing sometimes makes getting breaks difficult. Seasonal work.

    Carowinds2019-06-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Do not work unless you a desperate. They do not protect their employees or safety."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Carowinds part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The free park tickets are cool It’s a fast paced environment with a ton of people

    Cons

    I was sexually harassed here, i told HR and full time managers, yet they just fired the employee and tried to ban him they did do everything in their power but, he came to the park the next week and i had a panic attack when i saw him. Corporate Cedar Fair said my issue wasn’t enough to ban him from the park. So if you are a young bright female, do NOT work here or let any other females. This company will not... protect you from predators. They expect you the give your LIFE to carowinds. So don’t expect ever to see your family or take vacations. There is so much drama especially with the full time managers. The food department is toxic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Protect your employees when they are attacked. Put more protection in the parking lot. Don’t be so strict about availability, it’s obvious you’re short staffed so don’t turn away people who could be good employees simply because they can’t work that much.

    Carowinds2019-05-27
  8. "Decent job for high schoolers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 

    I worked at Carowinds full-time

    Pros

    Free tickets, promotion ability, fun environment

    Cons

    Primarily run by inexperienced college students

    Carowinds2019-05-29
  9. "Good place for high school kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Rides 

    I have been working at Carowinds part-time

    Pros

    Free tickets, free admission to the parks and other parks, and the people you work with.

    Cons

    Management can be slow to adapt

    Carowinds2019-04-14
  10. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Operator in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carowinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discounts and people are great sometimes to work with

    Cons

    pay is not good at all

    Advice to Management

    please do better with the pay

    Carowinds2019-03-28
Found 171 reviews