CastleBranch Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CastleBranch Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
CastleBranch CEO Brett Martin
Brett Martin
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "On site cantina with many food options available, plus food trucks brought in on a regular basis(in 18 reviews)

  • "Food trucks, ping pong tables, skee ball, free beer(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, CastleBranch tends to hire the bottom of the barrel of people(in 10 reviews)

  • "You've heard it before, but this place is run like a high school(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    I love this company! Management does a great job of making sure everyone is on track without being overbearing. HR also does a great job putting on fun events. There’s a laidback dress code, brewery, community garden, game room and gym— hard to beat!

    Cons

    Some departments are underpaid and therefore turnover is high. This makes our busy season overwhelming at times. However, there have been recent incentives to keep the momentum going, such as raffle drawings.

    Advice to Management

    If you raise salaries, you can recruit some awesome people to join our team!

    CastleBranch2019-08-23
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Wilmington, NC

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has lots of activities during peak time. Brewery Wednesday. Food days

    Cons

    Constant management changes. Cliques. Non-existent raises.

    Advice to Management

    The perks are nice when we have time to use them. A better wage more competitive wage would be more desirable than swings and games that we don't have time to use.

    CastleBranch2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay, strict management, high turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool work space with vending machines, skee-ball, ping pong, gym, brewery

    Cons

    Freezing cold leads. Employees are constantly leaving and new hires last less than a year usually.

    CastleBranch2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay, stagnant middle management, burnout seemed to be encouraged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes the power would go out and I could close my eyes and imagine being literally anywhere else.

    Cons

    Pay was poor when I left and doesn’t appear to have improved since then. Seemed to be a philosophy of “why pay them more when we’re just going to burn them out and run them off within a year anyway?” They prey on college students, recent grads, and others desperate for a paycheck. During my time there middle management could best be described as complacent. They enjoyed significantly better job security than the... poor souls hired for entry level jobs and believe me, they took advantage of it. Several times during their “peak” I noticed that certain leads/supervisors/managers would conveniently use their vacation days while the people who actually did the work were left to figure things out on their own. There is a culture in the building but it’s not a good one unless you were able to get your foot in the door in the early days of the company. HR runs a full court press in these reviews for a reason. They will not have your back. Trust your eyes and your judgement when considering this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You’ve been saying the same things in your responses to these reviews for years now. It only goes to show how little you have actually valued the feedback you’ve received over the years.

    CastleBranch2019-08-18
  5. Helpful (4)

    "CB will burn you out fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They promise raises You can wear pj’s

    Cons

    You can’t get them without cheating the system. Want a day off during the summer? You still need 48 hrs for that week. They brag about culture but there is no time to use anything they offer.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people not machines

    CastleBranch2019-07-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no good things to say.

    Cons

    You are replaceable. Turnover rate is horrible. Pay is low.

    CastleBranch2019-06-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Web Developer in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, beer Wednesday’s, nice people

    Cons

    Salary could be better, non-compete way too stringent

    CastleBranch2019-06-19
  8. "Good Place to Start Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDR 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment & Good coworkers

    Cons

    It is what you make it

    CastleBranch2019-06-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Great coworkers who truly care about and help one another achieve success *Employee benefits

    Cons

    *Little opportunity for career advancement *Disorganized *High employee turnover *Low pay

    CastleBranch2019-06-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, not-so-great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Implementation Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Implementation manager is the best I've ever had. Free lunch on Tuesdays, brewery on-site, music days on Thursdays. Flexible schedule if you're not on phones.

    Cons

    Pay is well below market value. Easy for cliques to form among coworkers.

    CastleBranch2019-05-11

    CastleBranch Response

    May 22, 2019HR Assistant

    Thanks for acknowledging our great management team and our non-traditional benefits! Compensation is based on job specific goals. We continue to evaluate our pay structure to ensure fairness.

Found 139 reviews