CastleBranch Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CastleBranch Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
CastleBranch Founder and CEO Brett Martin
Brett Martin
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "On site cantina with many food options available, plus food trucks brought in on a regular basis(in 19 reviews)

  • "Casual/appropriate dress code was a massive plus(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, CastleBranch tends to hire the bottom of the barrel of people(in 10 reviews)

  • "High turnover I'm assuming because of low pay(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Specialist in Wilmington, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture with bagels every Friday and ping pong tournaments.

    Cons

    Pay is relatively low with most employees looking to get out.

    CastleBranch2020-02-18
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful atmosphere, nice co-workers, relaxed schedule, I can do my work without feeling micro-managed, kind manager, good benefits, brewery night on Wednesdays, fun employee parties and appreciation events, good growth and training opportunities

    Cons

    Lower pay and the traffic congestion is terrible around the office

    CastleBranch2020-01-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Criminal Research Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Casual dress, free gym membership, food trucks, events. I approve of the new CEO. I feel he is looking to change the company in a positive way.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible. If you change positions, you start at bottom pay again. Some managers run their departments like daycare. High turnover I'm assuming because of low pay.

    Continue reading
    CastleBranch2020-01-11
  4. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Order Fulfillment Specialist 

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    great company to work for great extra benefits

    Cons

    pay isn't great to start

    CastleBranch2019-11-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Do not waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Lax dress policy. -Generous in terms of offering free food, pizza days, soda, and snack foods. Mainly during Peak Season (summer). -Overtime offered during Summer months. -Free bagels/pastries on Monday mornings. -Very kind response from the head of the company, Brett Martin, after Hurricane Florence.

    Cons

    -Little opportunity for advancement despite claiming to have a working "tier system" in place. The tier system is not measurable for certain positions, making it impossible to tier up after a certain point/level. Not to mention, the added workload that comes with tiering up is NOT worth the small raise. And do not even think about tiering up between the months of April-November, as this is the company's "busy season", and lower level employees are often not even granted their "monthly" meetings with supervisors, which ends up meaning that you will not be given any opportunity for advancement during this six+ month time span. -Management plays favorites with their employees and it makes for an awful work environment. They allow particular employees to consistently arrive late, call out, take 2+ hours worth of breaks a day, and allows for embarrassing/repetitive mistakes from the same handful of employees over and over again, despite a clear trend of incompetence and unwillingness to change their behaviors. These problems continue on and go unanswered despite numerous documented mistakes and "mandatory" training sessions. These trainings ended up being an overall waste of time. -Management ignores countless, valid suggestions/ideas made by their employees. They also allow preventable problems to continue on and fester until they can no longer be managed easily/effectively. -The work from employees who call out on a regular basis is dumped onto the employees who actually show up for their job, causing even more tension amongst team members. -Big, energizing pep talks/emails from team leaders (during the busy season)... with absolutely nothing to back up any of the claims/promises they make. Management requests that employees do not take vacations during the summer season AND ask that they work 8+ hours of OT a week, but then lower level employees watch upper management take 3+ trips during those same summer months. -Management does not care about employee opinions and makes that clear by responding passive-aggressively or in an extremely rude tone in front of the entire team. These responses are then talked about amongst lower team members and further management criticism arises only to remain unaddressed because "they are in charge and there is nothing that can be done". -Managers only acknowledge employees as equals when they need something. Management also acts like they are actively hiding things from the team, despite clear signs of changes that are in motion AND incessant gossip from management/team members. This includes the way they hire/fire/promote.

    Continue reading
    CastleBranch2019-11-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Low pay/no job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Wilmington, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food, activities, nice people, decent atmosphere

    Cons

    Low pay and constant people in and out of jobs. No job security

    CastleBranch2019-10-29
  7. "Couldn't ask for a better place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is so friendly and management is always there to help out. The work we do is intriguing and there are always opportunities to grow your knowledge-base. Also, the facilities are really nice and there are plenty of perks that come from working for a business that values their employees.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    CastleBranch2019-09-24
  8. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    I love this company! Management does a great job of making sure everyone is on track without being overbearing. HR also does a great job putting on fun events. There’s a laidback dress code, brewery, community garden, game room and gym— hard to beat!

    Cons

    Some departments are underpaid and therefore turnover is high. This makes our busy season overwhelming at times. However, there have been recent incentives to keep the momentum going, such as raffle drawings.

    Continue reading
    CastleBranch2019-08-23
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Wilmington, NC

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has lots of activities during peak time. Brewery Wednesday. Food days

    Cons

    Constant management changes. Cliques. Non-existent raises.

    Continue reading
    CastleBranch2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Low pay, strict management, high turnover rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Wilmington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool work space with vending machines, skee-ball, ping pong, gym, brewery

    Cons

    Freezing cold leads. Employees are constantly leaving and new hires last less than a year usually.

    CastleBranch2019-08-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 146 reviews