CastleBranch Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CastleBranch Reviews

Updated 25 July 2018
118 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
CastleBranch Founder and CEO Brett Martin
Brett Martin
62 Ratings

118 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "I'm trying to think of something, ummm maybe the dress code policy" (in 18 reviews)

  • "Gym, break room, food truck are all beneficial" (in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Job, Less-Decent Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Data Analyst in Wilmington Beach, NC (US)
    Former Employee - Clinical Data Analyst in Wilmington Beach, NC (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    There are many positive aspects of working here. Everyone cites food truck, food days, etc. However, the social culture has improved greatly and the small size of the company means that everyone has a chance to interact with each other.

    Cons

    As previously given, management training, while continuously ongoing, is still falling a little flat. Additionally, I was placed in a department upon hire that I had not applied for, and felt misplaced for the duration of my employment when I had applied for a different position, albeit within a similar vein of the business. My primary experience was one of discomfort with being placed in the QA department when I had applied for Data Entry for a different department. I attempted to transfer to the department I had initially applied for and felt I would succeed in, but was declined and it felt like that was the start of the decline of my comfort with my position and ultimate release from the department, which I had never intended to be placed in to begin with. Despite this situation, I do greatly miss the job, the staff, and wish that I had been given the opportunity to succeed in the role I initially applied for and felt qualified to perform.

    Advice to Management

    If I had to offer any advice, it would be to listen to your employees and try not to place them in departments and positions that they do not feel comfortable with being in.

    CastleBranch Response

    27 Jul 2018 – HR Assistant

    Thank you for your candid feedback, we are working daily to enhance our culture and encourage cross functionality.
    At times we do get this wrong, and misplace a person. If we recognize that this... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "so much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    socially this is a fun place to meet new people, experience new food trucks and try new beers. As a work place its a disorganized group of great expectations. What they do is awesome, how they're doing it is a tragedy.

    Cons

    Training is possibly the worst I've ever been through and as a previous corporate trainer I think I have a good gauge. The disorganization and haphazard way things are thrown together was beyond frustrating. Supervisors are way too busy to be training and the SME's they choose to stand in aren't prepared. Sup's also need a little training, just because you can do the job doesn't mean your good at managing those who do the job, watch your interactions and assumptions. Oh and the pay is low. Don't get me started on the antiquated systems.

    Advice to Management

    You have a gold mine there, sooner or later if you don't get it all together someone's going to stake a claim and walk away with it.

    CastleBranch Response

    27 Jul 2018 – HR Assistant

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We are working to meet and exceed our current and future potential as an organization.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Okay work as data entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Fun campus that tries to compensate for demanding work

    Cons

    Training is poor and I hated how the management was on top of you wanting to know when you went to the bath room or took a break

    CastleBranch Response

    27 Jul 2018 – HR Assistant

    We want to make our workplace a fun, inclusive, and productive environment. It is also fast paced. Our training is extensive, and often times overwhelming. Once released from training, we have... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Great perks. Food Trucks on site, Rec room, free beer on Wednesday. Gym Classes.

    Cons

    Behind the scenes conflict between departments

    CastleBranch Response

    27 Jul 2018 – HR Assistant

    Glad you are enjoying all of the great things we provide every day for our team members. We recognized this as well, as a result we recently made some org changes. These changes better allow for... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Disapointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Air conditioning, elevator, break room, gym?

    Cons

    Reminded me of the show MTV Boiling Point(s), only the hidden cameras never popped out. Absolute nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    N/A. They're not open to advice.

    CastleBranch Response

    27 Jul 2018 – HR Assistant

    We are sorry that you felt that management is not open to advice. We have an open door environment where feedback is always appreciated.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Record Review Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time

    Pros

    Insurance after 90 days, even if you're temporary. Your own desk area, although small. Drink cart on Wednesdays. Bagels/pastries on Mondays. Team building activities when computers go down. Monthly meetings. Monthly "bring your own condiment" food parties.

    Cons

    Where to begin? For one, the training is two weeks. The trainer I had was good, that isn't the problem. The problem was that they needed the training room before we were done with our two weeks, so we were moved to cubicles, and the trainer's desk was way on the other side of the operations floor. Making asking questions difficult. No one takes the time to get to know the temporary employees. Granted, I understand why, but it would still be nice to have everyone be nice to you instead of kind of snotty. Some of the supervisors are in their own world. Yes, you can ask questions and she'll get back to you, but the other supervisor at the time was always sending out emails about encouraging everyone and everything. Another huge con: when they let you go, they tell you that you're eligible to be rehired. Yeah right. If your numbers aren't up to par, and your let go, you CAN'T be hired back. Believe me, I tried. I liked the company a lot. I was recommended by a former coworker to apply, and in turn, I recommended 3 of their current employees go work there, and *I* was the only one who didn't become permanent. I applied to every opening they had after I was let go, and never heard anything back. Finally I went to a job fair and saw the woman who gave me my exit interview. She said, "You know you can't be hired back, right? Not in operations at least." Thing is, Operations is 85% of the company. The rest is IT or something else. I had some medical problems at the time of my employment there, to which I told this to the head of operations, but was told to just send in my resume to the SAME woman who told me I couldn't be rehired.

    It's a shame that this company does have good bones and have this kind of business and the ability to hire tons of people, but to have policies that make it impossible to hire former employees who weren't bad to begin with.

    Advice to Management

    Change your policies to where former employees can come back, especially since you've changed the parameters of how to do the job anyway.

    Make sure everyone gets the mandatory two weeks training, uninterrupted.

    Don't hire tons of people during peak just to let 90% of them go during the off season.

    CastleBranch Response

    18 Jan 2018 – HR Assistant

    Hi there thanks for your feedback. Would very much appreciate it if you reached out to me so I can chat with you about the role you were in and the possibility to rehire. We do not have a policy... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing coworkers, nice perks, great hr team. Poor supervisors/ middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Wilmington, NC (US)
    Former Employee - Operations in Wilmington, NC (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -HR is amazing!
    -Frequent food days.
    -Relaxed dress code.
    -Suggestion box for employee feedback.
    -Paid volunteer opportunities
    -Benefits
     -Awesome employee program
    -Food on site so you do not have to leave for lunch
    -Bike/Surf board rentals
    -Gym/gym classes available for employees
    -Opportunity for paid lunches once a week with food provided
    -Discounts places in the surrounding area for being an employee
    -Overtime available during peak season

    Cons

    -Communication between departments/teams is left up to employees. Supervisors have poor communication skills.
    -Supervisors show favoritism toward certain employees
    -Compensation is poor
    -Lack of performance reviews in most all operations positions

    Advice to Management

    Work on hiring from within if possible. Take employee input seriously. When hiring outside of the company try to find people who are not just qualified on paper. Communication and professionalism should be a priority when it comes to upper management.

    CastleBranch Response

    10 Jan 2018 – Director of HR

    Thank you for providing us with this feedback. We value your thoughts and opinion. As you know we have been evolving as an organization rapidly over the past few years. Lots of room for... More

  8. "I enjoyed my time at CastleBranch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, NC (US)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers and upper management. The facilities are also very nice and offer a lot of areas to relax and take a break from work.

    Cons

    Quiet environment could be a con for some people.

    CastleBranch Response

    21 Dec 2017 – Director of HR

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review we appreciate your comments


  9. Helpful (7)

    ""Metropolis" meets Background Screening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    New-ish buildings (TekMountain's concept and layout is nice), decent health/dental benefits

    Cons

    The pay - the biggest contributing factor (aside from poor management and monotonous work). It's poverty level - even when you've poured 5+ years into the business without a decent raise. Also, CastleBranch tends to hire the bottom of the barrel of people. When you want to be professional & work with like-minded individuals, they'll hire people with little to no work ethic to fill a seat and boss around.

    You've heard it before, but this place is run like a high school. Run it like a team - and run it with a sense un-biased professionalism.

    Advice to Management

    Out with the old, in with the new. Let more qualified individuals lead the teams instead of keeping the same 4 under qualified women dictate the operations department. Fight to compensate those who deserve it rather than food days & office "perks".

    CastleBranch Response

    18 Jan 2018 – Director of HR

    We appreciate your comments and we have taken great strides regarding comp in the past 12-18 months and recognize that there is still room for improvement. We do try to create balance for all with... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "All Perks No Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CastleBranch full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people are great. The atmosphere and culture are great. The campus is great. Wonderful focus on health and fitness. Really good benefits.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive. Evaluations and therefore raises are infrequent. Lots of turnover. There is often a lack of clear direction or frequent changes in direction that make focus and commitment difficult.

    CastleBranch Response

    9 Dec 2017 – Director of HR

    Pay has been a primary focus for us in 2017 and will continue to be in 2018. We have switched to a model of pay for performance which has been incredibly helpful. As an innovative company frequent... More


Showing 118 of 118 reviews
Reset Filters