Caterlink Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Caterlink Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Catering assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Assistant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England

    I have been working at Caterlink part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice hours to work

    Cons

    Not enough money spread over the month

    Advice to Management

    None

    Caterlink2019-04-30
  2. "Would never work for again!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef Manager in Wokingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can't think of ANY! They were awful throughout the time I worked for them.

    Cons

    Treated staff badly. Ops managers looked after their favourites. Company tried to break contract law and painted a target on my back when I stood up for my team.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink the way you work! Look after your staff - without good staff, you are nothing!

    Caterlink2019-06-03
  3. "Transporter/kitchen assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant/Transporter in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Term time due to working in schools

    Cons

    Everything else. It’s hard work and you have to work extra to get help the meals out on time for the kids, but you don’t get paid for the overtime. If you’re off I’ll you end up owing them money ash wages are spread out over the year. Have to use and ruin your own vehicle. The meals are rediculously small and a y6 student is only allowed the same amount as a child in reception, with no seconds allowed even if there’s...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your staff the time they need to prepare decent meals and allow them to give extra to those who want to eat it. Provide vehicles for your transporters

    Caterlink2018-11-25
  4. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink part-time

    Pros

    Hours that fit around childcare Short working day

    Cons

    Horrible bullying management Undervalued and under appreciated

    Caterlink2018-12-04
  5. "no loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    hours are good lots of holidays

    Cons

    doing the work of 4 people with 2.do not look after their staff.

    Advice to Management

    management need to look after their staff and stop expecting to much from them, they are not a loyal company to work for, did a course left the company and I can't get my certificate,

    Caterlink2018-11-16
  6. "Incompetence of chef management and profit hungry operations management team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sous Chef in City of Westminster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unfortunately there are no positives about working within this company. My only advice is if you are looking to join this company do your research and then DON'T DO IT. You will never get the time you have invested back and life is too short and too sweet to waste with this contract catering company, and I use the term contract catering company very loosely.

    Cons

    Working alongside unsure and unsupportive chef manager that doesn't know how to manage staff that don't pull their weight;but always takes easy root and pushes staff that is already doing more than their fair share of the work and never acknowledging it. Working with a chef manager that would make a mistake and never own up to the mistake;but instead will blame staff members.

    Advice to Management

    Look after the staff that are doing the hard work. Pay hard working members of staff well and show appreciation for their work. Get operation managers that can actually cook and really work alongside staff and moniter staff members that don't pull their weight.

    Caterlink2018-08-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Chef in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are none that I can think of.

    Cons

    Terrible management by senior managers, they turn a blind eye to bullying in the workplace, delay payment of overtime. If you don't take jobs within the company that they like you to apply for they will cut your hours as punishment, low wages but expect a lot out if you. I wouldn't work for this company again even if my life depended on it.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out some of the appalling catering managers you employ, most of them can't cook, look after your lower level staff, they are the ones doing all the hard graft.

    Caterlink2018-04-13
  8. "Very tedious with hardly any training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Caterlink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of holidays, good team. Free lunch. Do have the freedom to create your own ideas in the college food

    Cons

    No promotional opportunities, everybody seems to have a lack of interest including management. Kids make unnecessary mess when there is a bin right next to them

    Advice to Management

    More incentives

    Caterlink2017-12-12
  9. "Cater link"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Support Manager in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Caterlink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for area management very supportive

    Cons

    Not very loyal to employees

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees better

    Caterlink2017-10-21
  10. "kitchen assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Caterlink part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team work,always busy. interview process really quick and simple. school holidays.

    Cons

    washing up!!! ,general cleaning up after the kids have finished lunch.

    Caterlink2017-05-30
Found 13 reviews