Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is a lot of belittling and down talking from Upper Management(in 6 reviews)

  • "Senior management not willing to make the hard decisions to help company move forward(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Employer dedicated to their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Representative in Gibsonton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Central Garden & Pet offers ample opportunities for growth and development along with promotional opportunities. This company is dedicated to its employees and pushes them to strive to be the best that they can be. Central Garden & Pet employees work collaboratively between different departments to make sure the company is reaching its greatest potential.

    Cons

    There is always room for growth and development opportunities no matter where you go.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-16
  2. "Great Work / Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work.

    Cons

    No overwhelming Cons. Little things that you find at most companies.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job I've Had!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I always find it interesting how the anonymity of the internet seems to produce such negative stuff that is never representative of the whole. It's unfortunate that one or two disgruntled employees can make an entire place look bad. I absolutely LOVE it here. The management team are down to earth and caring human beings. I feel valued and appreciated for the work I do and I hope to stay here the rest of my career!

    Cons

    The company as a whole is very complex and segmented so it can be a bit difficult at times especially when trying to learn at the start - it can be a steep learning curve. But for people who like a challenge and always looking for ways to do things better, this is the place!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and know that what you do matters to all of us!

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-01

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 1, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! We truly strive to make Central a great place to work and really appreciate you taking the time to tell the Internet!

  4. "Great Progress and Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Receivable Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is headed in the right direction! Have seen many positive results over the past year with suggestions made. I feel like we are being heard. Have really seen and felt a change for the better over the past few months.

    Cons

    Would love to see some accounting functions brought into the Central Service Center to allow for further internal growth and promotion opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for all you do. I don’t believe you get the recognition you all deserve.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Manager in Neptune City, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    3 weeks passed already and the team so friendly and helpful, Manager is clear on instruction.

    Cons

    Nayalabone need to move to paperless

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-29

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 1, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and welcome to Central! We are glad you're here!!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Franklin, WI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of good people that work here & my area has a great team environment. Management works hard to give you the tools you need to be successful on your job. We have fun products and in the office we can have small animals / fish / reptiles at our desks. Central is in a nice office park and has an easy commute.

    Cons

    I am happy working for Central.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-30

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 1, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review! Our Franklin location has a lot of great people who are very committed to creating quality products for fish & reptiles.

  7. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AP Specialist in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, supportive management, great benefits, not just a paycheck.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about employer.

    Advice to Management

    Continue promoting a positive environment.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture with friendly coworkers/management. Opportunities for lateral and upward career growth. Reasonable work/life balance.

    Cons

    Can be a lot of travel, depending on team/position.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-24

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    July 25, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review! We are proud of our work environment and the good people that work at Central!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "I'm glad I made the move to Central"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transactional Buyer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Central for almost 6 months and I'm so glad I made the switch from my last place of employment. The workload is reasonable and good systems are in place so that we can get our jobs done. Great work/life balance. Special events are planned to keep employees informed and engaged. These range from quick 15 minute team building events to a full day "state of the union" meeting.

    Cons

    The merger of 2 business units still isn't fully assimilated, but I know that's being worked on.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-26

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 1, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you made the switch to Central too!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is positive and people work together to a common goal. I have been here over a year and have seen no pointing fingers at others, people do there jobs and are professional.

    Cons

    In some infrequent cases there are limited opportunities for growth

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-25

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 1, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback. We think the folks who work in Atlanta are pretty awesome too!

Found 180 reviews