Centro Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Centro Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 24 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Centro CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "It's definitely the best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    - I've had the opportunity to work with people I like on challenging problems. - My manager cares about my career and has done his best to put me in new and challenging situations. - There's a good energy building with some of the new hires and the product doing well in the market.

    Cons

    Nothing significant. All companies change over time and experiences might be different based on the team, city, or time period. Overall though, I've been happy over the few years I've worked at Centro.

    Centro2019-04-24

    Centro Response

    May 17, 2019Centro

    We appreciate hearing about your experience! We value your input and are so glad to hear that you’re feeling challenged, cared for by your manager, and enjoy continuing to build our product. If you have anything additional to add, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Exactly what I was looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging business domain, mentorship, inclusive environment. Centro's tech team has a ton of talent and they recognize the value of investing in individual growth.

    Cons

    Ramp-up on the product is a bit steep, but seems to be the nature of ad tech.

    Centro2019-04-17

    Centro Response

    May 17, 2019Centro

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! What a huge compliment to hear that you enjoy the challenging work and inclusive environment that Centro provides. Our tech team is truly one of the most talented out there and we thank you for being a part of it! If you have any ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Great company/culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Test Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at the location I worked in (Toronto), was amazing. Great team, great atmosphere. My manager was also really invested in helping me improve and learn new things.

    Cons

    Nothing particularly jumps to min

    Centro2019-02-19

    Centro Response

    February 27, 2019Centro

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We appreciate your kind words and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience in our Toronto office. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent & Development

  4. Helpful (6)

    "No Egos - Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with: + People are willing to listen and take in your opinion (regardless of what level you/they are in) + People do not have huge egos (or at least they manageable) + People do good work (most of the time) Office: + New Toronto office is pretty cool, right at Union Station, part of WeWorks - so unlimited beers, and frequent events. Extra Stuff: + Above average pay (for Canada) + Standard benefits...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Flexible work hours (sometime it gets hard to reach a decision when people are in the office at different times) In the previous years when the company was struggling some of the company goals were unrealistic, which caused us to not hit the bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Toronto is becoming a more attractive place for Tech companies, make sure the salaries keep being updated to reflect this.

    Centro2019-01-23
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing noteworthy to mention as pros. Just a regular technology company trying to stay in business.

    Cons

    Poor management, no career growth, no skill development, the list goes on. Most of the effort just goes in handling poor managers and their egoistic attitudes. Plus there is shortage of staff with all the laying off and some smart people leaving the company. Day to day effort goes in training new folks than learning anything new. This used to be one of the companies with best work culture. But not anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain good employees than restructuring and experimenting.

    Centro2018-12-08
  6. Helpful (5)

    "OK Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company offers unlimited PTO and good benefits package. Conducts guided meditation classes for employee well being

    Cons

    Politics in technology group makes it difficult to build career. Many good people in the technology group had left the company.Not a collaborative culture.

    Advice to Management

    Be Transparent and have skip level meetings to gather feedback on your direct reports. Promote people based on the leadership capabilities

    Centro2018-03-06
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Awesome sauce experience for Technology/Engineering team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing leadership, amazing benefits, collaborative environment, amazing "peeps"

    Cons

    Highs and lows of employees collaborating after work hours on 20% work, at times it was very active, other times it lulled during stressful times when probably needed extra effort towards that the most. Most of the time 20% work was during work hours which was hard to manage with other more top functional priorities. All in all though, not too much of a con, just giving more depth of my experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on :)

    Centro2018-01-19
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Extremely Inefficient Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. Nice offices. Unlimited PTO

    Cons

    Inexperienced management. No feedback culture Asks employees to write good reviews so they can look good on paper No processes. Politics in every group drains your energy. Not a place where you can make a difference. CEO doesn't trust his own leadership Leadership team and some of the longtime employees left the company. Whoever is left got promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop telling lies to your employees

    Centro2018-03-05
  9. "Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Transparent advancement opportunities. Good culture and perks.

    Cons

    Office is very loud and too small, with limited parking.

    Centro2016-12-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome people and great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit and salary and more importantly helpful managers.

    Cons

    old building and far from Union Station

    Advice to Management

    Continue your job as niow.

    Centro2016-09-06
Found 20 reviews