Centro "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Centro Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 23 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Centro Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
211 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The bonus structure changed almost yearly, never to the benefit of anyone who wasn't upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Company is growing rapidly and as a result it seems some policies are enforced differently by department, creating a inconsistency(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "No Egos - Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with: + People are willing to listen and take in your opinion (regardless of what level you/they are in) + People do not have huge egos (or at least they manageable) + People do good work (most of the time) Office: + New Toronto office is pretty cool, right at Union Station, part of WeWorks - so unlimited beers, and frequent events. Extra Stuff: + Above average pay (for Canada) + Standard benefits ( RRSP matching upto 4% of Salary, health, dental...) + Good work/life balance + Flexible work hours + Unlimited vacation

    Show More

    Cons

    - Flexible work hours (sometime it gets hard to reach a decision when people are in the office at different times) In the previous years when the company was struggling some of the company goals were unrealistic, which caused us to not hit the bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Toronto is becoming a more attractive place for Tech companies, make sure the salaries keep being updated to reflect this.

    Centro2019-01-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I`ve worked in many IT companies, Centro is one of the best. Good work/life balance. Unlimited vacation + home office when needed. Newest technologies. People, people, people!

    Cons

    Not the best location and office building in Toronto (amazing in Chicago). Hopefully will be changed soon.

    Centro2018-06-12
  3. Helpful (23)

    "The recent bad reviews are a cry for help. Please help."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance and unlimited vacation.

    Cons

    I am sad that current employees feel they can only resort to social media posts to voice their concerns about the company. This is because a) candid feedback is only acknowledged and addressed if it is positive and b) going to your manager or HR is unfortunately ineffective. So many current employees feel trapped when it comes to voicing true concerns or simply wanting support to address a negative issue. I can tell you, I am really discouraged that every single piece of negative input is viewed as the employee’s own fault or, even more disappointingly, not a culture fit. I can assure you plenty of strong employees with a solid commitment to Centro feel their negative input gets turned on its head. It couldn’t possibly be our leadership’s fault, right? Of course not! It’s our problem to solve. That’s what we are told. Or if you don’t like it, please see the door. Old Centro would not even recognize today’s Centro with how clueless (or ignorant) it is to the current climate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please consider the idea that what you’re hearing on the street has some validity worth investigating. Yes, there is a lot of negativity and perhaps some exaggerations. But try to see both sides to these stories. Please. Many people are telling their sides of the story. And they feel completely silenced and scared.

    Centro2018-05-03
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Led by a founder CEO who is really passionate about the products, and one of the few executives I've seen that leads the company in a very wholesome way with a focus on happiness, giving, collaboration, and truly caring for our customers and making their life better. Very smart and talented teams that collaborate well, and know how to produce kick-ass products while having fun. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    There's really not much to complain about - I've been really happy working here.

    Advice to Management

    You've built a great culture, so make sure to maintain this, as it helps attract the right folks that make this such a great place to be.

    Centro2018-04-18
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Love Centro, Great Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Services in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at Centro for 3 years now and have no intentions of leaving anytime soon. Centro has an amazing work-life balance, benefits and colleagues. Everyone is so friendly and is always willing to lend a helping hand if you are ever in a bind. If someone leaves and goes to a typical "agency" company they always end up reaching back out a few months later expressing how they wish they had never left in the first place!

    Show More

    Cons

    - More emphasis on Basis vs Services - Promotions are very difficult for deserving employees

    Centro2018-03-01
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Unable to lead change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance; decent perks

    Cons

    Mismanaged teams and leadership that doesn't seem to care. They lost some of their best employees because of this and don't seem to notice or care about the loss of talent. Find yourself a place that truly cares.

    Centro2018-04-17
  7. Helpful (23)

    "Good for a year or two"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation, hella snack opportunities, good work/life balance, culture depends on the office, coworkers are cool and make this place less annoying on any given day

    Cons

    People are overworked Company seems focused on making sure new managers have all the training they need (a good thing), but also backwards. Why not make an effort to notice people WHO WOULD MAKE GOOD MANAGERS and proactively train them to step into those types of roles? There are so many people in management roles that are simply bad at managing ... leading to frustrated employees who have to manage up, do all the extra work for their bonehead boss, all the while getting zero of the credit. Total boy’s club @ the top. Especially in sales. Not a man? Good luck working your way in unless you feel like being Shawn’s latest yes man, or you’re a hot chick. Leadership keeps pushing a message to their employees that if we all just work a LITTLE HARDER we’ll be profitable. No mention of the fact that the company’s vision and leadership is all over the place. Trust me, people are working plenty hard ... with fewer resources, no bonuses, no raises, etc. Where is the motivation to stay? Nobody wins here except for execs, who have been here so long. Some of them have NO experience in the departments/teams they’re running, are completely clueless, and push work off to already overworked staff. I assume they’re still here because they’re waiting to be bought out. $$$ Some of the female executives could stand to take a sexism 101 course. Career growth is 100% lip service. In fact, there’s company acknowledgement that people leave due to lack of career growth - so what’s the company’s solution to the problem? Push out more messaging about how it’s so great to grow your career here, with no actual evidence of that being a fact for employees and no actual plan of attack to make that happen for employees. It’s verbal dust.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees’ anger and unhappiness and frustration is real. To ignore it, or simply wish it away, or to pretend like you’re only getting bad reviews because of a few bad apples only serves to widen the chasm of misunderstanding that exists. Leadership thinks these bad reviews are happening because “people are more likely to leave bad reviews than good.” Oh really? How does that argument hold up against the earlier years of this company and the great reviews on Glassdoor? Learn from these reviews. Find some COMMON THEMES (of which there are plenty) and work to address them. The lack of self awareness at the management and executive level is simply astonishing right now.

    Show More
    Centro2018-03-27
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place To Learn About Programmatic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome people; there's definitely a "family" vibe here - A great hands-on learning experience for all things programmatic (if you would've asked me what a "pixel" was 3 years ago, I would have thought you were asking me about the quality of my phone's camera...) - Flexible time off - Great work/life balance - Snacks and bevvies (yay!) - Above average salary - Open-door policy with management (speaking for the Toronto office; I've never worked in the other offices) - We're encouraged to give feedback on product updates, and share feature requests from clients The people I have worked with both in the Toronto office, and [virtually] within the offices in the US, are friendly and knowledgeable in what they do. There are people here who I will miss, and I wish I could pack them up into my laptop bag and take them with me to my next adventure.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Snacks and bevvies (I've gained 10 lbs since being here... thanks a lot...) - Bonuses are not consistent. We're paid well, and a lot of companies don't have bonus structures anyway, but this is still worth acknowledging. - Changes in "structure/management/product focus/etc." is exciting in my opinion, but can understandably be confusing at times. This seems to be the norm at a lot of tech companies. Not quite a "con", but it's something to be aware of if change makes you uncomfortable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not just to management, but to everyone: - Always be transparent; bad news is better than being kept in the dark. - Be open to change, and be willing to accept that companies face challenges when they grow. No matter where you are - things won't be perfect 100% of the time; understanding of this will help you appreciate the highs, and brace for the lows. - Rather than speaking poorly of a company, be thankful for the learning experience. - If you feel as though your voice isn't heard when you have a problem, speak louder.

    Show More
    Centro2018-03-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    The people are the best part of Centro. You are actually looked at as a person and are cared about, very strong family vibe. Media folks are extremely knowledgeable and hardworking. Great benefits package, but the biggest benefits are the work life balance (which every company promises, but Centro actually keeps that promise) and the friendships made here. CEO and upper management actually make an effort to know the people they work with, never had a senior level exec care know more about me than just my name, or care about workload, ask if I need help, etc. It's refreshing and uncommon in this industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    Centro does reorganize frequently, and there are definitely growing pains, but the people who work here are strong enough to weather the changes.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be good to your people.

    Centro2018-03-02
  10. Helpful (4)

    "I like it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    I don't take work stress home with me. The work/life balance is excellent. The office is beautiful and there are a ton of great perks. Unlimited time off. Generous benefits. There is a vibrant start-up feel even though the company is large. They have an extensive 2-day new hire orientation and plenty of resources to help you succeed. My manager checks in with me regularly and I appreciate the goal setting and focus on improving department structure and processes. I am not micromanaged and I feel supported by senior leadership and the HR department.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some processes in non-revenue generating departments are still embarrassingly manual because there has been a lack of investment in systems improvement. I wonder about some employees that have been here for a while and if Centro invested enough in them to ensure they've progressed professionally at the same pace in which they've received promotions. Some departments are still reeling from prior mismanagement. Change happens so slowly and there are always multiple levels of approval and buy-ins before even minor changes can be made. Some departments are very cliquey and there can be gossip.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing growth and development - it helps. Continue the management training especially for new managers. Invest in technology company-wide, not just on the product side. It will improve efficiency in all departments.

    Centro2017-08-02
Found 28 reviews