ChannelAdvisor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ChannelAdvisor Reviews

Updated 31 October 2018
25 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All Cities

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ChannelAdvisor CEO David Spitz
David Spitz
12 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great benefits, awesome team play, great boss" (in 21 reviews)

  • "Great people that are not only smart, but care about the work" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "the structure, you cant even work from home on occasional days, can be ruthless" (in 6 reviews)

  • "They pretend to care about work/life balance but all that matters is perception" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Holborn, England
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Holborn, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChannelAdvisor full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great Culture
    - Lovely People
    - Supportive Manager
    - Good MD very hands on with all departments
    - Have varies options of progressing to other departments
    - Great opportunity to net out what your looking for
    - Very supportive team

    Cons

    - Previous management but has been fixed now
    - Not much of a home and work life balance
    - Long Hours 9-6
    - There is not a lot of communication between departments

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    25 Jun 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We like to hear that you are enjoying your time and feel supported at ChannelAdvisor. We want employees to grow their career and see opportunity with the company. It’s awesome to hear you feel you... More


  2. Helpful (11)

    "High turnover and poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good product
    Good office location in central London

    Cons

    Poor management
    Management spend more money on travelling, than on head count .
    Flexitime is abused.
    Management talk to employees like school children.
    Turnover is ridiculously high.
    Raise points to HR, but they end up defending the company.
    HR means human resource, so try looking after your good employees.

    Advice to Management

    People have tried in the past, so there’s no point in really filling this section in.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    2 Nov 2018 – Chief Executive Officer

    Ouch. Thank you for sharing your feelings and I’m sorry we weren’t a good fit for you. We are really pleased with our performance in the U.K. and Europe overall as well as our EMEA leadership team... More

  3. Helpful (11)

    "One of the worst companies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Had a good product although now outdated as hasnt really been enhanced for a while
    Some good people in the business mainly at ground level

    Cons

    Bad leadership
    Tunnel Visioned
    Large click/favortism culture

    Advice to Management

    Stop papering over the cracks and deal with the real problems in the business. Salaries are below par with the rest of the market and what with the poor reputation in the market place the best people dont want to join the business.
    Stop telling lies to get people to join the business - promises of trips to other offices that never materlise, promises of all the tools you need to do the job that you never receive - unless you are based in the U.S then you get want you want and get away with under performing in the process.
    Commission structure is a joke and not designed to really reward over performance

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    20 Sep 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We are sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your time with us and hope you have found an opportunity where you feel you are able to thrive. We wish you the best.


  4. Helpful (10)

    "Terrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time

    Pros

    The people and location are both good.

    Cons

    The role was advertised and sold as a senior sales position but I made more cold calls than I did when I was a BDR, we were all office based with no working from home and it’s a really micromanaged environment.
    The territories are terrible and overworked and there is no investment in new sales data.
    There is no innovation on the product roadmap.
    Targets are very rarely hit because the product is too expensive and mostly sold to small retailers.

    Advice to Management

    All the above have been known issues for years and there has been no attempt to change or improve the ability for people to sell.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    25 Jul 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We will share it with our current leadership team. We wish you the best in your next opportunity!


  5. Helpful (12)

    "Many different failings from the top down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good culture between the employees.
    One team leader, in particular, will help you earn, however, you can't choose your team lead.

    Cons

    Confused management as a whole.
    UK office as like most international companies is outperformed across the board by all other countries.
    There is a lot of 'sitting on' accounts by the sales team.

    Advice to Management

    Main advice to the management is ‘time to jump ship’, ChannelAdvisor is now far from the leader in this space that they used to be.

    For more constructive items I would suggest:

    Educate your UK head about the product, he still doesn’t know what ChannelAdvisor actually sell, I’m 99% certain of that.

    Promote who you have before externally hiring. You’ve got lots of talent at your feet and the only thing bringing in new hires (that won’t keep up) will do is continue to feed the cycle of ‘hiring to have headcount’ and ‘firing them because they couldn’t meet unrealistic targets’.

    Actually train staff rather than have them sit through 48 hours of videos, that aren’t actually training videos, they’re just snippets of your event catalyst form the year before.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    25 Jun 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your employment with us. As we continue to hire some of the most talented UK sales employees,we agree it is extremely important to create an effective sales... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "Tough, but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ChannelAdvisor full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Office location
    - People
    - Compensation is about the best in the market

    For a salesperson ChannelAdvisor is, as you may read below, either a great place or a terrible place to be. I'm personally very proud to work here and I am tired of people who are turning up, not putting in the effort and then venting on glassdoor because they haven't hit their targets. I've not seen a single person leave this company and thought "wow, that's a huge loss to the sales team".

    The truth of it is, working in sales at ChannelAdvisor isn't an easy gig. You need to be prepared to put the work in to be able to get the rewards here. You have to master your craft, treat sales as a profession and work tirelessly to succeed.

    In my opinion, the majority of reviews below have been written by people who just aren't prepared to do that. I'm not saying there aren't drawbacks here, but those who grind out an honest days work here and put in the effort to educate themselves around the industry and product will have a much better chance of success. And you'll earn very good money along the way too.

    Cons

    - Lots of red tape internally to get a contract signed
    - Software could do with a UI/UX overhaul
    - Account allocation between teams is still not where it needs to be.
    - Too many salespeople for the UK market. The company would be more successful overall if it had just fewer reps.

    Advice to Management

    Do we really need 4 UK managers? Do we really need so many salespeople?
    We'd have more of a winning culture, lower costs and better continuity in our messaging if we trimmed down a little and perhaps used some saved budget on headcount to improve customer experience.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    30 Mar 2018 – Senior Corporate Recruiter

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. There are many people at ChannelAdvisor who are proud to work here and we're glad you're one of them. As the e-commerce industry evolves... More


  7. Helpful (12)

    "Papering over the cracks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Commission structure is one of the best, if not the best in the industry

    Nice enough offices in London and good central location

    Cons

    On paper, ChannelAdvisor appears to be a good company to work for.

    They lure you in with promises of guaranteed commission for the first three months and a lengthy ramp period, however, what they fail to tell you during the interview process is the level of prospects you will generally be dealing with.

    Promises of being able to work any accounts fail to materialise and you are left working accounts that can barely afford the software.

    The reputation on the market is horrendous, made worse by the fact that 90% of the sales team are performing well below target so they push through deals that a company the size of ChannelAdvisor have no real Business working with.

    The Management team in the UK office leave a lot to be desired and are all dancing to the tune of the new MD.

    I believe in years to come the UK office will cease to exist and for good reason.

    A tired product, below par sales staff and no strategy or structure to internal processes.

    Advice to Management

    I wish you all the very best of luck but it really is time to look at how the UK office could become more functional and better performing by getting rid of all the sales staff who aren’t performing and let the top reps work the rest of the accounts.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    30 Mar 2018 – Senior Corporate Recruiter

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed to hear you didn't have a positive experience working at ChannelAdvisor. The UK has undergone significant leadership... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "E-commerce Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E-commerce in London, England
    Current Employee - E-commerce in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChannelAdvisor full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great management team
    Work with hard working people
    Good incentives
    Happy environment
    Great training scheme
    Good encouragement
    Healthy competition

    Cons

    I can't think of any, I am quite new so the novelty hasn't worn off yet!!!!

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    21 Feb 2018 – Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at ChannelAdvisor! We strive to hire passionate, hard-working employees who will help take our teams to the next level. We love that... More


  9. Helpful (11)

    "Ok.. but frustrating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - European Campaign Manager in London, England
    Former Employee - European Campaign Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great location of office in Holborn, London
    Good salary (if you negotiate it well upon joining the company)
    Good team spirit
    Industry leaders, and therefore great on the CV
    Good networking events
    Powerful software platform, good to learn and get training in

    Cons

    Bad salary if you join at a starter level and try to work your way up! They don't pay well for promotions, or on performance reviews (*if you've been doing well) and seem to pay over the odds for new hires with less experience!
    Bad management of teams in UK, inefficient processes, bad hires, lack of leadership
    Strange interference from US HQ office on UK operations

    Advice to Management

    Need to nurture their existing staff more, and be more cautious on new hires. UK needs more autonomy.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    15 Jan 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our global locations and wish you the best in your next career endeavor.


  10. Helpful (10)

    "Worked in the London Office for two years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ECommerce Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - ECommerce Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ChannelAdvisor full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team and I really liked the people.
    Software is second to none.
    Bonuses were decent even though the basic wasn't amazing.
    You could generally get the support needed to land your deal.

    Cons

    Management made poor decisions like ramping up the sales team but not the (aftersales) implementation team at the same time. Then culling the sales team in 2015.
    The sales managers are young, including the ones from the US.
    The software is a tough sale and overwhelming for most e-commerce clients needs.

    Advice to Management

    I hope now the leadership is clearer and everything is not just focussed on the value of the stock price.

    ChannelAdvisor Response

    21 Feb 2018 – Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry you didn’t have a positive experience, but we’re happy to hear that you felt you received the support you needed to close deals... More