Charles Schwab Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Charles Schwab President and Chief Executive Officer Walt Bettinger II
Walt Bettinger II
1,420 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A little tense to work at the call center(in 126 reviews)

  • "leadership and upper management for great Schwab (not immediate managers) weren't transparent(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Director"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, excellent departmental colleagues, good attitude to training and personal development and allowance for time to do so. Good people managers - managers are allowed the time to manage their team. Good salary package.

    Cons

    Tendency to put a gloss on things that is not a true representation of the facts.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2015-04-16
  2. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sabbatical program, transparent strategic direction of the company

    Cons

    very few that I experienced

    Charles Schwab2020-05-26
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Director in Denver, CO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time

    Pros

    Corporate culture is very collaborative

    Cons

    Company profits impacted by interest rates

    Charles Schwab2020-05-24
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Specialist in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Culture In the service Dept, you generally aren't taking work home Top notch training Company is conservative in the sense that they don't take the financial risks other firms do (job security)

    Cons

    Constant grind Not enough time given for personal development which makes it hard to move out of service Performance metrics have become more stringent Responsibilities are constantly growing with no additional compensation.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-05-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, lead sucked"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Developer in Lonetree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and company cision

    Cons

    The team I was on had a micro managing lead that would take you credit and not give it.the person went on to be a manager.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-05-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, executive leadership is strategically focused

    Cons

    100% political, little to no opportunity for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-05-15
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's the people that make Schwab great!

    Cons

    Health Benefits could be stronger

    Charles Schwab2020-05-18
  8. "Advisor Services"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Specialist in Orlando, FL

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, helpful coworkers,ok health care benefits

    Cons

    Call Center, 30 min lunch breaks, no flex time at all. You feel like you're in elementary school at times.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-05-18
  9. "Financial Consultant, VP"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Consultant, Vice President in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Schwab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work all around

    Cons

    nothing some systems need inproving

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-05-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun people but a lot of micromanaging"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Financial Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Schwab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are what made the job, and the great facilities and campus. There was a walking trail that people can access during lunch to get outside which was a big treat for me each day.

    Cons

    There is a ton of data monitoring and metrics you have to meet. The management really harps on performance based on what someone’s call data looks like and you start to feel more like a robot to the company than a human.

    Continue reading
    Charles Schwab2020-05-20
Found 2443 reviews