Charles Tyrwhitt Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Charles Tyrwhitt Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Charles Tyrwhitt CEO Luke Kingsnorth (no image)
Luke Kingsnorth
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No training given in order to develop(in 6 reviews)

  • "Hard to get better pay, long hours and late shifts(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed Environment Good work benefits on The Link Good work culture

    Cons

    No cleaner in current store

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-12-31

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    January 2, 2020Employee Engagement and Communications Manager

    Hello Happy Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, what a great way to start the New Year! We're so proud to have you aboard the good ship Tyrwhitt. Here's to an exciting and prosperous 2020 together. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  2. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thirsty Thursdays - briefing once a month for 1 hour. Free alcohol and snacks Free fruit every Wednesday Free coffee

    Cons

    Management don’t take changes aboard Work load is not distributed fairly Don’t care about long term employees - just a number that’s why everyone is leaving No change to progress career wise - no promotions to senior, team leader etc just forget it

    Charles Tyrwhitt2020-02-10
  3. "Shocking communication, pretend to care, no change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pushed to learn a lot Pushed to do a lot Friendly colleagues Flexible hours (management discretion)

    Cons

    The top of the food chain has absolutely no clue what they're doing and will fill your time with late changes, no explanations, vague briefs and call it empowerment/your responsibility to move the dial. They don't care to find out what it is you actually do and will stretch you out as far as they can until you are off with stress, looking to leave, or do leave. I've been here for a while now and watched so many good people go because no matter how much you raise the point, it never ever changes - I'm trying my best to get out too. This place is going further and further down hill.

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2020-01-31

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    February 6, 2020Employee Engagement and Communications Manager

    Dear Tyrwhitteer, Ouch! We must admit, this review is painful to read. You clearly have a very low opinion about CT, which is very sad to hear. Naturally, we want our employees to enjoy their time with us and work very hard to realise this – and we are pretty confident that the great majority of Tyrwhitteers are, as almost 80% agreed that they love working here in or last engagement survey. There is not much we can write in response which might be helpful for you, and having felt compelled to write such a critical Glassdoor review maybe you've already decided that your career at CT is coming to an end..? However if you do want to continue working with us then please let us help and come and talk to us! We truly are keen to understand what is causing your upset. If you don't wish to speak to your line manager, then you can speak, in confidence, to your HR business partner, a member of the SLT or our Chief People Officer. Equally you can anonymously use our Post Box to provide more detail. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  4. "Fun place to work - great team spirit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and caring. You will laugh everyday here

    Cons

    Progression doesn't come very quickly here

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-11-23

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    December 9, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Hello there Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we’re so pleased to hear that you’re enjoying your time with us and we couldn’t agree more; CT is a brilliantly fun place to work! We take on-board the comment about development in your role. The recent introduction of a competency framework for our Merchandising team will certainly go some way in helping aid future progression. If you’re still unsure of what the future holds for you, then please do have a conversation with your line manager and I’m sure they will be happy to talk you through it. Your advice to management does concern us a little, but we’re a little unsure as to which management this refers. As such and if you’re comfortable doing so, please get in touch with your HR people partner for a confidential conversation, so that we can investigate this further. All the best Team CT

    Continue reading
  5. "9 month employment with CT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly, positive and motivated working enviroment

    Cons

    can't think of anything wrong

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-11-14

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    November 26, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for your kind review, we're sorry to see you go! Wishing you all the best for the future :) Team CT

    Continue reading
  6. "Nice teamwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely close-knit teams, Tailoring Floor Good mix of shift work - no real favouritism

    Cons

    Salary is mediocre Incentives aren't monetary

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-11-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "M K C C review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - C S R in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Made some great friends and had some great times.

    Cons

    Far too much politics in MKCC. Best way to progress is mingle with the CC management. L & E team should be managed and run by the main and longest standing in MK only.

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-09-18

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Dear Former Colleague, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. CT takes pride in a strong history of encouraging progression and promotions from within the business. The contact centre’s Progression Programme is a detailed and transparent framework which puts the ownership for progression in the hands of Customer Service representatives. It defines the skills and behaviours that colleagues need to demonstrate to be promoted and everyone is able to apply. We are confident that the process is fair and ensures that all successful applicants are delivering excellence within their roles. On a final note, our Learning and Engagement team in Milton Keynes is managed by a colleague who has worked at CT for over 14 years. They are a true Tyrwhitteer and an excellent leader for a team that is integral to our continued success. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  8. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great teams, loved working for them

    Cons

    not great on the environment

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-09-04

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    September 4, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Hello Long Lost Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for your 5* review, we're so pleased you enjoyed working at CT! We take on board your comment about the environment and finding proper solutions to the sustainability challenges we face, has never been more important. We assure you that we are fully committed to further developing our green agenda with plenty of exciting, new initiatives in the pipeline. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Representative in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most people are really helpful and supportive Relaxed and fun environment Casual dress Great benefits, discounts, incentives etc Great work-life balance Work events are really fun Inclusive workplace Flexitime

    Cons

    Limited progression The role can become a bit repetitive Pay isn't great considering the money you make for the company

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-08-27

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    October 21, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Hello Tyrwhitteer! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to see that for the most part you are enjoying your role and it's helpful to learn the areas in which we could improve. Of course, an important role like yours is always going to be busy and have an element of repetitiveness (what role doesn't...?). Our suggestion is to let your line manager know you are keen for more development and we will share this review with them too. Thank you for all your hard work! Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  10. "Pretty Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked in Jermyn Street, really nice team although some of the middle management people weren't the friendliest. Interesting interacting with different people each day. You quickly build up a good idea of the inventory and become OCD with the presentation of the store. Never really any problems in all honesty.

    Cons

    Worst things were working bank holidays and being one of if not the earliest store open down the entire street. As said one or two individuals weren't too friendly and a few changes of management may have caused the odd disruption.

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-07-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 70 reviews