Charles & Keith Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Charles & Keith Reviews

Updated 9 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Charles & Keith CEO Charles Wong
Charles Wong
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "And why do part timers even have sales targets when they don’t get commission(in 5 reviews)

  • "Top management in marketing can be demanding and vulgar(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles & Keith full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, casual outfit

    Cons

    Pay pay pay, way below market. Political environment. Family business, limited opportunity for advancement. Exaggerated title, peanut pay. Job scope is rather grey.

    Advice to Management

    International company, local mindset. Need to refocus on the employee rather than in endless pursuit of expansion.

    Charles & Keith2019-09-09
  2. "All the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles & Keith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible working hours because of the OT

    Cons

    - Micro-management, redo exact same work over again and again - Politics every where - High turn over - Salary below market rate but expect you to work like a slave - Communication between teams/departments are a big mess

    Advice to Management

    - There is a reason for the consistent high turnover rate. Look into it.

    Charles & Keith2019-08-29
  3. "Place to learn basics on your own"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles & Keith full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Depends on departments. Leadership is weak; e.g. don't know how to make use of individual strengths and weaknesses Judge capabilities based on education background

    Advice to Management

    Reflect reflect

    Charles & Keith2019-07-05
  4. "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Charles & Keith full-time

    Pros

    good learning opportunity friendly manager and staff

    Cons

    Company is good to give trainings for staff but one fashion trainer have no patience and look down on store people just because they have lower education. Trainer asked us questions and there is no wrong answer. Instead at one training the trainer shouted and scold a manager when she answer wrongly. All managers there don’t dare to speak up afterwards and every time we have this training we will check if she is... the one doing the training. Hope the company will review this type of employee and ask her to treat managers like human also

    Show More
    Charles & Keith2019-05-29
  5. "Customer Service Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles & Keith part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staffs, enjoyable working environment

    Cons

    Stressful, tiring as have to keep up with daily target

    Charles & Keith2019-05-03
  6. "goood"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles & Keith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment with good colleagues

    Cons

    stressful environment and pressure from top management

    Advice to Management

    continue to improve the working environment

    Charles & Keith2019-04-14
  7. "Good environment, productivity forward, good payment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Retail Manager in Jakarta
    Recommends

    I have been working at Charles & Keith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, productivity forward, good payment

    Cons

    No work life balance, no yearly bonus

    Charles & Keith2019-03-29
  8. "Good working condition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles & Keith part-time

    Pros

    The staffs are friendly and you can gain different experience by job rotation such as being the cashier or retailer.

    Cons

    Must socialise w others else may be a bit boring especially during non-peak hours.

    Charles & Keith2019-03-13
  9. "BAD experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles & Keith part-time

    Pros

    None. Can’t think of any.

    Cons

    First of all, the HR sucks. Totally inflexible and unproductive. Also I don’t know how they choose store managers but mine were UNREASONABLE and IMPOSSIBLE to communicate with. One couldn’t even understand simple things i told him in English. The part timer pay is way too low yet we were required to do the same or more work than the full timers. Another manager didn’t let part timer choose non-closing shifts... just so that they could exploit them to clean the whole freaking shop by ourselves while the full timers just slack around. And why do part timers even have sales targets when they don’t get commission? It’s ridiculous. The way the break times are scheduled (by the manager) is also really dumb. For an 11am-8pm shift, they might assign you a break at 1pm-2pm and then you just have to deal with being hungry all the way till 8pm. (6 hours) The working environment is unsafe as well. We were required to climb the shelves to retrieve stocks for customers, and the shelves were pretty unstable with some almost falling apart. Extremely dangerous and the goods might fall on you and you might get injured. Overall, don’t recommend working here. Please think twice before you sign the contract.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your part timers better or you’re gonna get none.

    Charles & Keith2019-04-15
  10. "Part Time as a student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles & Keith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some colleagues are friendly if you're lucky. Some customers are genuinely nice. Flexible working days

    Cons

    Very low hourly rate, even though the job scope is the similar to full timers. They get the commissions from the customers we serve. Some full timers are rude and boss the part timers around to do their job for them. This happens usually when we get transferred to another outlet on short notice. Unsafe, very tiring job. We are told to climb onto shelves even though there are ladders, to get products in a... hurry. These shelves are around 2 meters tall and it can be really terrifying because THEY ARE NOT STEADY. It's worse when you have to juggle multiple products at once while balancing on the shelves. Pretty sure accidents in the back rooms are common...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have some humanity and care more about your staff. They are not robots!

    Charles & Keith2019-02-09
Found 51 reviews