Charley's Angels Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 18 reviews

2.4
26%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Charley's Angels Owner Charles Amsbary (no image)
Charles Amsbary
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    great experience!

    20 Jun 2019 - Newborn Photographer in Norman, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it was a fun job, I got to pose babies all day and talk to happy parents. With the sales commission I usually made $20 hour. You leave work when you are done with your sessions.

    Cons

    can be stressful, managing the timing with the babies testing, hearing screener, and doctor.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Total waste of time!

    9 Jun 2019 - Sales Associate/Photographer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to celebrate arrivals of newborns and experiment with creativity in photography.

    Cons

    You LITERALLY run the business, remotely, and are constantly subject to sarcastic comments about what you didn’t do. Families are not always prepared to spend $170 on photos. You can not take the money out of customers pockets but management expects you to hustle them into distress. This business model needs to be revamped and with the accessibility of cameras will soon fold. This is just a high pressure sales job with little satisfaction.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Keeps me shooting, regular paycheck

    25 Feb 2016 - Photographer/Sales in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don't think of this job as something that's going to bring me a career. It's something I can go to every day, do my work, and then go home and not worry about it anymore. I don't expect the bonuses to be a regular part of my paycheck, nor do I expect the images to be my absolutely best work that I spend hours on. Just go in, shoot, edit, do your work to the best of your ability and go home. Nothing more than that. The hours work for what I need.

    Cons

    After training, you're by yourself a lot, which gets lonely, and it would be nice to have two photographers working together, or at least an assistant. But I understand it's not easy or financially smart to pay two people when one will do. Sometimes other photographers don't do everything they're supposed to, or make mistakes for you to clear up the next day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A young company with heart, but a lot of business growth to do.

    21 Sep 2014 - Newborn Baby Photographer in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job itself is fun, heartwarming, and very personal. Photographing brand new babies in the hospital and creating memories with each family is very fulfilling work. Commission on sales is always a bonus.

    Cons

    While leadership meant well, business wise the company seems very unorganized and scattered. Not having local management is a detriment to some areas and an absolute necessity. In addition, the commission was not very satisfying. Plus, no commission from online sales.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Company does not value talent, all about large sales and profits for the owners

    7 Oct 2014 - Photographer/Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compared to other, boring retail jobs or the stress of waiting tables--this seemed like a dream: who wouldn't love talking to brand new parents and seeing newborn babies? For someone with a creative flair, it also seemed like a great opportunity to get paid for being an artist because (so my reasoning went) these packages would not require a hard sell because parents are vulnerable and think their babies are beautiful and want to share that with the world, no matter how much it costs.

    Cons

    Reality check: baby photography is struggling in the modern age right along with journalism the music business and a host of other industries. Every one of us has a high quality camera on us at all times. We have photo apps wherein we can add captions, change the tint and do all manner of special effects, cropping etc. in 5 minutes and for no more than $5. So what kind of market is there, really, for hundred of dollars worth of hard copy baby photos? And because of the low standard pay, you MUST sell hundreds and hundreds of dollars worth of photos before you can even dream of touching a living wage doing this. The percentage of profit given to the person on the ground handling both the creative aspect AND the sales...is sickening.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    In no way can you sustain a living.

    12 Jul 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are moving toward natural light in one of their hospitals, which makes the photography fun and creative Pretty high commission, when you get it. Pay is base or commission, so you do get paid either way, unlike other jobs of this type

    Cons

    Job is in no way sustainable as a living. Hours are not guaranteed, pay is not guaranteed (you could get paid for 6 hours or 11 minutes). Only way this works is as a side income to a stellar main job, or if you're a bomb sales person Uses outdated equipment, mainly editing software. Deliberately misled me on what my would pay would be in the interview. Also posted a misleading ad. Communication between departments is poor, and customer service is constantly referring clients to photographers because they can't explain products properly. I've been working at one of their hospitals for a straight month now, and I still haven't gotten a decent explanation on some of our packages. Company still needs work on organization

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Part Time Job

    3 Apr 2018 - Photographer in Arlington, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you gain experience in photography. you work alone during shifts. you plan out your own day. if its busy you can work short hours for good pay. good job for a young person who doesnt rely on pay but wants experience

    Cons

    unreliable if its slow you can very easily only be there for 1 hour or less and not make any money. day to day is very unpredictable as far as length of shift and pay. they have weird rules and micromanage, sometimes leave really harsh, negative and unnecessary feed back with out first speaking to you or asking for explanation of certain situations.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Great job for a very specific person

    5 Sep 2014 - Professional Newborn Photographer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job Satisfaction and enjoyment Autonomy in day to day procedures Ability to use creativity

    Cons

    No training manual Low pay Inconsistatnt hours Less support than you would expect of a fairly large company

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Thought it would be better

    18 Jun 2017 - Newborn Photographer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love working with new families and tiny babies.

    Cons

    Highly recommend skipping over this job. They make you pay for the start up drug screening and TB test, plus if you need any vaccines, you have to pay for them too. They say they'll reimburse you for these tests after 90 days, but it took them, get this, 6 MONTHS to pay me back! My coworker had to spend over $300 on the tests. Hope they pay her back sooner. New management is inexperienced and absent. Unless you're ready to spend a big chunk of cash and wait two months to be hired, only to find you are highly underpaid and watched, and constantly threatened with "infractions", I suggest you look elsewhere for a position.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Greatest Place at Birth

    10 May 2014 - Newborn Baby Photographer in Richland, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A daily invitation into the most priceless day of any parents life. You quietly enter, compose, capture, leave feeling blessed for the opportunity.

    Cons

    Consistency...Babies seem to come as they please...Some months parents play more than others.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Work at Charley's Angels? Share Your Experiences

Charley's Angels logo
or