Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Kavanagh
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Client Services Administrator Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Administrator in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My time at Chase de Vere has been a positive experience overall. I have enjoyed working with a variety of different people in an open plan office, which lends itself to a more interactive and social environment. The role of Client Services Administrator is a diverse role with various different avenues that helps you learn and explore other departments, which in turns gives you a greater understanding of the daily running...

    Show More

    Cons

    One downside of working as part of Client Services Team is that for the majority of the time is that there was no one direct to answer to. Although this proved to be a strength as I was able to go and find the answers to any questions I had but to not have a direct point of contact was slightly concerning. I feel that CST could really benefit from having one person as the senior point of contact to overlook the daily...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that all roles of CST are not neglected and there is on-going training to ensure that ad-hoc queries are dealt with to the benefit of the client and also the company and there is a point of contact for employees to be able to have their questions answered when dealing with said enquiries.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2017-12-15
  2. "Very good foundation for compliance role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment which encourages decision making at my level

    Cons

    Lack of progression opportunities in Policy department

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2019-07-10
  3. "Just say no"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    There is Parking but not on site it's a mission to get too

    Cons

    Not what It was cracked up to be. Told what you need to hear to get thorugh the door the high staff turnover rings alarm bells. The company do not show interest in its clients most are ignored or shelved. Poor management throughout most heads are not heads at all they simply know how to pass the buck. Workload is ridiculous but the pay does not match the expected effort and the support is none existent

    Advice to Management

    Honestly you are a sham company with a fancy name

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2019-06-18

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers Response

    July 4, 2019Marketing Executive

    Hi - really sorry to hear that your experience with Chase de Vere did not live up to your expectations. We would really welcome an opportunity to speak to you and get a better understanding of your experience. Please contact human.resources@chasedevere.co.uk and will be ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Only if you want to be an adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    85% of the staff are really good to work with. Its a good place to cut your teeth in the industry

    Cons

    Prefer people who say yes rather than having an opinion. Salary is below average.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2018-11-15

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers Response

    July 4, 2019Marketing Executive

    We are a great place to not only to cut your teeth, but to forge a successful career within financial services. We also want people to challenge us and have an opinion as it's the only way we will get even better at what we do.

  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    Feels family run and a close knit community despite its size

    Cons

    If you don’t get the culture, you won’t last two minutes

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting staff first and it will continue to grow at pace

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2018-08-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management + hostile environment = high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Support Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - flexible working hours - some great advisers who understand the pressures and barriers that admin face day to day

    Cons

    - too much office politics and bad mouthing amongst teams/staff - no support from line manager; new staff thrown in at the deep end in a team of relatively inexperienced staff - you brought in Intelligent Office and none of the admin staff properly knew what they were doing; it took weeks of nagging for any sort of procedures to be released and when they finally were they kept being changed without any communication from...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider the needs and requirements of all your staff and how you can better working practises rather than focusing on profits.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2018-03-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of clear leadership from the top down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paraplanner in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People I worked with were great as well as the location of the office in Bath city centre. The clients were lovely too. The general advice processes are good/straightforward.

    Cons

    Senior Management is poor, salary was below market rate. The Swiss parent doesn’t seem to understand the UK business as the management keep on telling us, but at local level we didn’t bother about this issue as we were so client focussed. There was a severe lack of training, support or clear line management and the Regional Sales Management and Exec support is non-existent. Systems are poor including the new Intelligent...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and understand them. It is about clients and staff and not about the relentless pursuit of profit.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2018-03-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Private Client Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the advisers were really supportive and really understood the pressures of admin staff. Easy location and parking. Flexible with working hours as long as management were aware in advance.

    Cons

    Lack of support from line manager. Very patchy “on the job” training. A lot of people had a “you touched it last so you deal with it” mentality. No teamwork. High admin turnover and 4 people left the office while I worked there. No sociability within the work setting. Lots of office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on quality rather than quantity. Churning out so much scrappy business just to hit figures leaves too much room for mistakes, stressed staff not ever taking a lunch break and advisers sitting on a pass stool watching everyone else sinking in work.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2018-01-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Paraplanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers full-time

    Pros

    They have lots of branches so there is opportunity to work with people across the country and share ideas. They are really keen in progressing their staff internally.

    Cons

    Major office politics/cliquishness. High turnover of administrative staff.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2017-12-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Chase de Vere - IFA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers

    Pros

    Good advice proposition, freedom to manage your own diary ect.

    Cons

    Due to lack of controls, fragmented support teams and business assurance being completely removed from the sales process until 6 months after sales are completed - the compliance risk is huge.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on churning client portfolios, invest in some technology and figure out how to compete with HL and SJP.

    Chase de Vere Independent Financial Advisers2017-03-08
Found 20 reviews