Chemtura Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Chemtura Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Chemtura Chairman, President, and CEO Craig A. Rogerson
Craig A. Rogerson
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best practices, mid-range salaries, efficient operations, good benefits, fantastic people(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, very professional and dedicated(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "The Upper Management is terrible(in 5 reviews)

  • "Elimination of positions has resulted in very limited career growth opportunities(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Production manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chemtura

    Pros

    Plenty of good people work there, your opinions are valued. Prospects are a little unclear

    Cons

    Poor order book. Aging plant, little investment. Getting taken over by a German chemical company. A little worrying going forward

    Chemtura2016-11-04
  2. "Working at Chemtura"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chemtura

    Pros

    Constantly changing.. roles evolve continually.. lots of opportunity to make your mark

    Cons

    Constantly changing... being asked to take on more responsibility without additional increase in pay

    Chemtura2015-06-06
  3. "It was nice working at Chemtura"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Lab Technician in Edison, NJ

    I worked at Chemtura

    Pros

    Great team and management. You get to learn lot of things

    Cons

    No cons for this place

    Chemtura2019-08-26
  4. "Great Place to set your foot into the chemical industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Chemist in Fords, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chemtura full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, great people to work with.

    Cons

    Intense work at times, multi-tasking highly needed.

    Chemtura2019-07-15
  5. "Family atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Fords, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chemtura full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Great people to work with! Everyone from HR to my direct manager was amazing. Coworkers were some of the best I’d ever worked with. I truly miss the Lanxess team!

    Cons

    My time here was short, but I learned so much while I was there . I honestly don’t have any cons. I wish I still worked at Lanxess.

    Advice to Management

    HR and upper management are doing a wonderful job! Employees are happy for the most part. Keep up the good work Fords Plant!

    Chemtura2018-04-15
  6. "Middle Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Middle Management in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chemtura for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best place I ever worked by far.

    Cons

    No longer in existence due to acquisition. Very sad.

    Advice to Management

    Too late.

    Chemtura2018-03-25
  7. "Very cut-throat atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterbury, CT
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chemtura full-time

    Pros

    Nice Campus - Gym in the building

    Cons

    Yearly lay offs People afraid for their jobs

    Advice to Management

    Be more communicative on what is going on

    Chemtura2017-12-19
  8. "Great People, Tough Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Middlebury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chemtura full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, very professional and dedicated. We were able to have fun, joke around when appropriate, but we always got the job done well.

    Cons

    Leadership expected to have computer systems to do everything they wanted without having to pay for it. They would complain about things that didn't work correctly but refuse to pay for necessary updates to resolve the issues.

    Advice to Management

    Thankfully this company has been sold. Hopefully they got rid of the Chemtura C level management.

    Chemtura2017-08-18
  9. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Dorado, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chemtura full-time

    Pros

    -Nice people, good to learn

    Cons

    -No structure, not following best practices, most employees haven't been to any other plant, don't know how to do run a plant, Very low salary, salary package is horrible

    Advice to Management

    Make compensation competitive or you will lose people

    Chemtura2017-09-14
  10. "No more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chemtura full-time

    Pros

    Are there any pros, except that salary is paid regularly?

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance Poor guidance Feeling like a squezed fruit

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Chemtura2017-05-31
Found 94 reviews